If I attack with the Fathomless’ tentacles on a creature that is unaware of where I am, will it become aware of my warlock?

Have been playing a Fathomless Warlock recently, and have found the way the tentacles function outside of attacking and moving it is somewhat vague. If I use the tentacle to attack someone who doesn’t know I’m there, will they become aware of my warlock? I assume this is up to the DM but my DM wanted to try and reach out first.

Can the Fathomless’ tentacle be attacked?

I started playing a Lurker in the Deep Warlock, and have now updated it to a Fathomless Warlock due to the recent update. We came up to a situation where the tentacle was the only thing in attack range of someone, and our DM decided to have them attack the tentacle, at which point they asked me how that works. As far as I can tell there’s nothing describing what happens when it’s attacked/if it can be attacked. I assume a lot of this is up to the DM, but a lot of how the tentacle works is very vague in terms of it occupying physical space.

Can a Fathomless Warlock move their Tentacle of the Deeps without attacking?

In Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything, a warlock with the Fathomless patron can summon a Tentacle of the Deeps, whose description includes the line

As a bonus action on your turn, you can move the tentacle up to 30 feet and repeat the attack.

"Can…and" seems to suggest that you must do both: move and attack. "Up to 30 feet" means you could move it 0 feet and repeat the attack, but can you move the tentacle without attacking?