Can I choose to provoke an opportunity attack with the Mobile feat?

If I take the mobile feat, can I choose to allow an opportunity attack on my character even if the feat would normally allow me to avoid it?

Mobile: …When you make a melee attack against a creature, you don’t provoke opportunity attacks from that creature for the rest of the turn, whether you hit or not.

Regarding the rational, mechanically my character sometimes tries to draw OAs that might otherwise hit others and it often reinforces the role play of the character’s personality.

Does the multiplier for wielding a weapon two-handed apply to my Dex mod if I have the Weapon Finesse feat?

I have a rogue with the Weapon Finesse feat:

When making a melee attack with a light weapon or rapier, you may use your DEX Mod instead of your strength Mod on the attack roll.

Since a rapier’s hands datum is 1, I can wield it two-handed:

If you wield it two-handed, add 1-1/2 times your STR Mod to melee damage instead.

If the character’s Str mod is +1 and Dex mod is +3, and they have the Weapon Finesse feat, is a two-handed attack always +1.5, or can it be +4.5?

How does the second bullet point of the War Caster feat change the ability to cast spells while holding weapons?

The second bullet point of the War Caster feat reads as follows (PHB, p. 170):

  • You can perform the somatic components of spells even when you have a weapons or a shield in one or both hands.

Are you allowed to cast spells in the following situations without the feat:

  • when wielding a sword and shield?
  • wielding a two-handed weapon, such as a greatsword?

How does this change when you have this feat? For the two-handed weapon scenario, can you not simply hold the two-handed weapon in one hand and cast the spell in the other? Or is there a rule specifying you must hold a two-handed weapon with two hands even when you are not attacking with it?

Is my interpretation of somatic components, object interactions, and the second benefit of the War Caster feat correct?

The War Caster feat (PHB, p. 170) allows a player to avoid the somatic requirement of spells when casting. However, since you can drop a weapon for free and then pick it up as a free interaction, you can completely avoid the somatic requirement while still keeping a weapon equipped at the end of your turn.

Action economy used as follows:

  1. Drop weapon (free)
  2. Cast somatic spell (1 Action)
  3. Pick up weapon (Movement/free one-object interaction)

War Caster does have some additional perks, but considering other Feats (like Resilient) exist, War Caster seems almost useless.

I’ve discussed this with fellow players, and the consensus is that doing this works within the RAW, but it’s also silly to abuse the action economy in this way.

Is there a consensus on whether this sort of abuse of the action economy is allowed (i.e. not simply up to the DM) when using RAW?

Can a multiclass spellcaster use spell slots of a level higher than the spells he could learn through a class to cast a spell learned through a feat?

The question “Can I use spell slots to cast the spell granted from the Fey Teleportation feat additional times?” asked whether a character can use a spell slot to cast a spell “learned” through a feat such as Magic Initiate or Fey Teleportation. The answer, in a nutshell, was: Yes, but only if the spell is on the spell list of the class providing the slot. So, for example, an elven wizard who learns misty step by taking the Fey Teleportation feat could use wizard spell slots to cast misty step, because misty step is on the wizard spell list.

A piece of the answer’s rationale was the following guidance from Sage Advice Compendium v2.2, p. 8 (emphasis mine):

If you have spell slots, can you use them to cast the 1st-level spell you learn with the Magic Initiate feat?

Yes, but only if the class you pick for the feat is one of your classes…. In short, you must follow your character’s normal spellcasting rules, which determine whether you can expend spell slots on the 1st-level spell you learn from Magic Initiate.

Let’s imagine a multiclassed Rogue 3 (Arcane Trickster)/Wizard 2. According to the spellcasting rules for multiclassed characters, see PHB p. 164-165, this character would have two 2nd-level spell slots but would not — at least not through his class levels — be able to learn any 2nd-level spells.

Now imagine that this character gains a level, becomes a Rogue 4/Wizard 2, and takes the Fey Teleportation feat. He “learns” misty step, which is on both the the wizard spell list and the Arcane Trickster spell list (because the latter is really the former). He still has no access to 2nd-level spells through his levels in either class.

Can this character use spell slots to cast misty step even though he couldn’t otherwise cast, or even learn, any 2nd-level spells?

Is it possible for a sorcerer to write all the ritual spells they know in the ritual book of Ritual Caster Feat when they acquire this feat?

I was reading the D&D beyond about wild magic sorcerer and I was thinking about something when I readed the recommended feats, in particular the Ritual Caster Feat:

Is it possible for a sorcerer to write all the ritual spells they know in the ritual book of Ritual Caster Feat when they acquire this feat? Or do they have to found the written version somewhere?

In the feat description, it look like no, but I feel like it doesn’t make sense, since the sorcerer know the spells.

What is the best option between “half-plate armor+dexterity+Medium Armor Master feat” and “plate armor”

I want to make a melee fighter, and I’m strugling on the choise of my armor for the build. I put my stats on my character when I’ll define all I want to do for my build, so let’s suppose that I can have the stat and race you want to define which armor is better.

I hesitate between taking an half plate and a plate armor whenever I can (which will be replace with their magic version whenever I can, my DM allowing us to buy magic items with gold).

On one hand, Plate give the best base AC, 18, and have a strength and stealth restriction that force me to play only in one way, but have the advantage that the only cost on the character sheet to have some point in strength.

On the other hand, half-plate give 15+dex mod (max 2) AC, which is less and with the same stealth restriction, but with the Medium Armor Master feat I can have the same amount of armor, and I can play stealthy if I need to. Plus investing in dexterity seams to me a better choice regarding that dexterity have a far more usefull saving throw, far more skills affected, and give bonus on damage and attack rolls with some weapons.

On my point of view half-plate look far better, but on most of the online build that I found, they use Plate armor and not half-plate, so I think I miss something crucial.

Balancing a Portent feat based on the Lucky feat

I am looking to make a homebrew feat based on the Lucky feat but using the Portent mechanic, and am trying to find the balance point on the amount of dice.

Disclaimer: I don’t think Lucky is overpowered, neither does anyone at my table, but as it is the closest feat to what I am looking for I am trying to use it as the balancing point for the new feat. This is not an attempt to homebrew a powerful feat.

For completeness:

Portent

When you finish a long rest, roll two d20s and record the numbers rolled. You can replace any attack roll, saving throw, or ability check made by you or a creature that you can see with one of these foretelling rolls. You must choose to do so before the roll, and you can replace a roll in this way only once per turn. Each foretelling roll can be used only once. When you finish a long rest, you lose any unused foretelling rolls.

Lucky

You have 3 luck points. Whenever you make an attack roll , an ability check, or a saving throw, you can spend one luck point to roll an additional d20. You can choose to spend one of your luck points after you roll the die, but before the outcome is determined. You choose which of the d20s is used for the attack roll , ability check, or saving throw. You can also spend one luck point when an attack roll is made against you. Roll a d20, and then choose whether the attack uses the attacker’s roll or yours. If more than one creature spends a luck point to influence the outcome of a roll, the points cancel each other out; no additional dice are rolled. You regain your expended luck points when you finish a long rest.

Lucky is widely applicable to pretty much any roll, and powerful because it can be used after the result.

Portent is powerful because it can force an auto-failure or auto-success, but less applicable because if the rolls are middling they are less powerful.

How many Portent dice would be balanced against the 3 points (dice) from the Lucky feat?

I am currently leaning towards 2, but that is more based on gut feeling than anything as I have neither used, nor seen in use either of these abilities yet.

Addendum: If it matters, and it might, this is intended to be used by a Divination Wizard, so if adding extra Portent dice is simply too powerful, that would be an acceptable answer, although one I would have to be convinced by.