Healer’s Feat : Does the patient need to be immobile during the tending action

Can someone with the Healer feat use a healing kit to provide healing even on a patient currently engaged in battle with an opponent ? To me it does not make sense, but nothing in the feat descriptions mentions that the target creature receiving the healing (aka the patient) needs to be immobile.

Is anything written to tha teffect anywhere in the rules on tending that I missed ?

Arcane Adept: is this proposed Warlock feat balanced as compared to PHB feats?

While discussing Warlocks and the new Uneartherd Arcana at GiTP forums, we were kicking around the idea of a class only feat (versus the Xanather’s race based feats) and I arrived at the following homebrew Arcane Adept feat.

Purpose – support the Warlock design goal of customizability.

I quite frankly find that as I go through the invocation allocation from levels 1-20 that there are too few to support the “no two Warlocks are alike” design theme that choosing invocations offers. Yes, it is important to have to make choices.

What I want to know is if this proposed feat is balanced with respect to PHB feats. (Balance with Xanathar’s feats is not of any interest to me).

Secondary Objective: offer one more incentive to play a full-up Warlock, and not “take a dip” in the class for Multiclassing.

Feat: Arcane Adept
Prerequisite: Warlock level 4
1. Increase your Charisma score by 1, to a maximum of 20.
2. Gain one invocation of choice from those available to the Warlock and for which you qualify. {eg, Pact of the Blade can’t take invocations restricted to Pact of the Chain with this feat}
3. Gain one additional cantrip from the Warlock spell list.

Notes:

  1. Why level 4? That’s the first time one is eligible, and it prevents the vHuman feat-at-level 1 (which also would not make sense since pact boon is a level 3 featue anyway).

  2. Why add a Cantrip? Because only two features in the feat seemed underpowered. If that is what tips the balance scales, it can be pulled.

Is this balanced vis-a-vis PHB feats?
Repeated for emphasis: feats in any UA, in the recently published Eberron campaign setting, and in Xanathar’s Guide to Everything are not considered relevant for this question. (But if after answering the question you want to add a comment, as a coda, in re a Xanathar’s feat, then that’s fine).

Would I have neither advantage nor disadvantage when attacking a grappled creature when opting to restrain via the Grappler feat?

The Grappler Feat states:

You’ve developed the Skills necessary to hold your own in close-quarters Grappling. You gain the following benefits:

You have advantage on Attack rolls against a creature you are Grappling.

You can use your action to try to pin a creature Grappled by you. To do so, make another grapple check. If you succeed, you and the creature are both Restrained until the grapple ends.

The Restrained Condition states:

A restrained creature’s speed becomes 0, and it can’t benefit from any bonus to its speed.

Attack rolls against the creature have advantage, and the creature’s Attack rolls have disadvantage.

The creature has disadvantage on Dexterity Saving Throws.

If on the first turn I grapple a creature, I have advantage on attacks to the creature. On the second turn, I use my action to pin the creature and now we are both restrained.

On subsequent rounds, would I now have neither advantage nor disadvantage when attacking the creature?

If i have the Diverse Obedience feat, can i take lower level boons?

If I have the Diverse Obedience feat I can obtain the deity’s boons of any list assumed I have the Deific Obedience feat and no levels in the evangelist, exalted, or sentinel prestige classes. But can I obtain lower level boons in one of such lists? For example as a Sarenrae worshipping PC with 16 HD I can obtain the “Fiery Spirit” boon, the “Healing Sunburst” boon or the “Channel Efficiency” boon. But let’s suppose I’m not a paladin or a cleric and I already have fire resistance: can I obtain a lower level boon like “Healing Spirit” instead?

How do the War Caster feat and the Enemies Abound spell interact when an opportunity attack is provoked?

The enemies abound spell states:

[…] If an enemy provokes an opportunity attack from the affected creature, the creature must make that attack if it is able to […]

Xanathar’s Guide to Everything (page 155)

And the War Caster feat states:

[…] When a hostile creature’s movement provokes an opportunity attack from you, you can use your reaction to cast a spell at the creature, rather than making an opportunity attack […]

Player’s Handbook (page 170)

Note that a spell cast using War Caster is not considered an opportunity attack

I’m now unsure what happens when somebody is under the enemies abound spell but also has the War Caster feat and an opportunity attack is provoked. Does War Caster allow them to cast a spell or does the phrasing of enemies abound (especially “that attack”) require them to make the opportunity attack?

The charger feat as it pertains to combat actions

I am currently playing a Swashbuckler Rogue 5th level. The DM is allowing to pick feats as a variant instead of stats when we level up.

I’m thinking about choosing the Charger feat. My question is: When I use that feat to make an attack with my bonus action, does that count as taking the attack action?

Example: I wish to dash 10 feet and use my bonus action to make one melee attack. Could I then make my attack for the turn or would that count as my attack action?

Is this runecaster feat balanced? (Second Iteration)

This is the second iteration of this question about the first iteration of this feat (I have now made a third iteration)

I have now added in some of the suggestions given by linksassin such as simplifying it to just one type of rune and adding a material cost. I have not added in limited duration or limited number because it is intended to allow the player to make a consumable similar to spell-scrolls or potions. if they intend to make them during extended downtime then thats fine, its the same as making spell scrolls or buying potions during downtime.

Rune Caster

Prerequisites: ability to cast at least one spell of 1st level or higher

When you take this feat you can imbue your spells into a rune by casting the spell as a rune, this means that you must have the object you want to put the rune on within reach for the whole duration of the casting as well as any tools required to make the rune. The casting time is also affected.

Casting

When casting a rune you add 1 hour to the casting time and 20gp per spell level stored on top of the normal components of the spell.

Triggers

When making a rune you may customise the trigger conditions from the following

list:

  1. Touch

  2. Command word spoken

  3. … by [specify creature(s)]

  4. … with [specify body part]

When defining creatures that can activate the rune you may be as specific or general as you want. The DM interpretes the designated creatures as your character would have interpreted them when you made the rune.

Ranges

When you store a spell in a rune the following rules change the range:

  1. A range of touch becomes a range of self

  2. When a range is listed and a target the person who activates the rune designates the target

  3. When a range is used with an aoe the origin is automatically wherever the rune is.

Activating a rune

When a rune is activated the spell is released acting as if it had just been cast without requiring any components. The rune then disappears leaving no trace of its presence. To activate a rune you must complete the trigger, this means speaking any command words and physically touching the rune each if applicable.

I want to know specifically is it to powerful/ not powerful enough and if so what would be a reasonable way of correcting the issue.

Is this runecaster feat balanced? (Third Iteration)

Quite simply (and similarly to my other questions about previous versions of this feat 1 and 2) I want to know if this feat is balanced and if not then what should be done to improve it? Since the last iteration I have changed the wording as per David Coffron’s answer, increased the time and monetary cost as well as added in the action requirement to activate the rune as per Ruse’s answer and increased the costs as per linksassin’s answer

Rune Caster

Prerequisites: ability to cast at least one spell of 1st level or higher

When you take this feat you can imbue your spells of 1st level or higher into a rune by casting the spell as a rune, this means that you must have the object you want to put the rune on within reach for the entire duration of the casting as well as any tools required to make the rune.

When casting a rune you add the time listed in the cost time table to the casting time and the cost listed in the cost time table to the components of the spell in accordance with the stored spell.

\begin{array}{|l|l|l|} \hline \text{Spell level} & \text{Time (hrs)} & \text{Cost (GP)}\ \hline 1 & 1 & 50 \ \hline 2 & 2 & 100\ \hline 3 & 4 & 500\ \hline 4 & 6 & 1,000\ \hline 5 & 8 & 5,000\ \hline 6 & 12 & 10,000\ \hline 7 & 16 & 50,000\ \hline 8 & 18 & 100,000\ \hline 9 & 24 & 500,000\ \hline \end{array}

When making a rune you choose a trigger which is touch and/or command word and can be specified to only a group of people/creatures or a body part. When defining creatures that can activate the rune you may be as specific or general as you want. The DM interprets the designated creatures as your character would have interpreted them when you made the rune.

When you store a spell in a rune some of the ranges are altered, a range of touch becomes a range of self, a range and target keeps the same range and the person who activates the rune designates the target and range with an aoe sets the origin to the center of the rune, lastly a range of self stays the same.

When a rune is activated the spell is released acting as if it had just been cast without requiring any components or concentration. The rune then disappears leaving no trace of its presence. To activate a rune you must complete the trigger, this means speaking any command words and physically touching the rune each if applicable, this requires the activator to use the object interaction action while within reach for touch runes and while within 60 ft for command words. If both triggers are used then they must both be fulfilled within the same turn.

Is this homebrew feat allowing casters to convert hp to spell slots balanced?

Is this feat balanced?


Prerequisite: The ability to cast at least one spell.

You can sacrifice hit points to regain spell slots.

When you cast a spell slot created by this, roll 1d20. On a 13 or lower, the spell does nothing.

You may expend:

  • 10 hp for a level 1 slot.
  • 25 hp for a level 2 slot.
  • 45 hp for a level 3 slot.
  • 70 hp for a level 4 slot.
  • 100 hp for a level 5 slot.

You can spend additional hp when regaining a slot to add a modifier to your roll to see if the spell is cast.

  • You gain +1 to the roll for every 2 additional hit points you spend to cast a level 1 or 2 spell.
  • You gain a +1 to the roll for every 4 additional hit points you spend to cast a level 3 or 4 spell.
  • You gain a +1 to the roll for every 6 additional hit points you spend to cast a level 5 spell.