How does Maximize Spell Like ability feat affect items that boost your damage?

Assume a level 9 warlock has following damage dice:

-5d6 from base EB

-2d6 from Mortalbane (Feat, does not require CL)

-2d6 from Greater Chasuble of Fell Power (Item – Caster level 9th)

-2d6 from gloves of eldritch admixture (Item – Caster Level: 3rd)

Maximize spell like ability feat mentions:

The spell-like ability you wish to maximize can be chosen only from those abilities that duplicate a spell of a level less than or equal to 1/2 your caster level (round down), minus 2.

If this warlock wanted to maximize their attack using all of the dice above, would he have to re-calculate the Maximize Spell Level according to formula [(CL/2) – 2]? If that is the case, would you take the item that requires the highest CL or add up all the spells that requires CL (1 for EB + 9 for Chasuble + 3 for the gloves)

Does the Svirfneblin Magic feat use spell slots

Does the Svirfneblin Magic feat use spell slots?

Feat is stated as follows:

You have inherited the innate spellcasting ability of your ancestors. This ability allows you to cast nondetection on yourself at will, without needing a material component. You can also cast each of the following spells once with this ability: blindness/deafness, blur, and disguise self. You regain the ability to cast these spells when you finish a long rest.

I think I understand ‘innate’ as meaning it doesn’t need to be in the spellbook/prepared because it’s a racial trait feat for Deep Gnomes, but not sure if that also means whether or they use a slot when cast.

Does the bonus action shove from Unearthed Arcana’s Telekinetic feat move the target through the air, or only on the ground?

Imagine a party of PCs exploring a dungeon inside a volcano. After a climactic confrontation with the Big Bad, the volcano begins to erupt, and the PCs must flee for their lives. Unfortunately, one of the PCs — Tarly Target — is badly injured and can barely walk. Working together to carry Target, the PCs race toward the volcano’s mouth. Just as freedom nears, a sudden quake tears open the path before them, creating a 15-foot chasm that begins filling with molten lava. There’s no way Target can make the jump.

Psimon Psion, a PC with the Telekinetic feat from Unearthed Arcana’s "Psionic Options Revisited", proposes to use the feat to try to hurl Target across the chasm. The feat’s third bullet says:

As a bonus action, you can try to telekinetically shove one creature you can see within 30 feet of you. When you do so, roll your Psionic Talent die, and the target must succeed on a Strength saving throw (DC 8 + your proficiency bonus + the ability modifier of the score increased by this feat) or be moved toward you or away from you a number of feet equal to 5 times the number you rolled. A creature can willingly fail this save.

Assuming Psion could roll a 3 or greater on his Psionic Talent Die, sufficient to move Target the full 15 feet required to clear the chasm, is this a viable use of the feat? Must Target remain in contact with the ground the entire time he’s being moved by the shove, such that he’d immediately plunge to his doom once moved over the chasm? Or can the shove actually propel him through the air to the other side?

For completeness’s sake, I note the following:

  • The normal shove action (PHB p. 195-196) only moves a creature a maximum of 5 feet, so it does not offer much guidance here.
  • The telekinesis spell (PHB p. 280-281) can move a creature, but the move is not characterized as a shove and explicitly can hold the target in mid-air, so it is not helpful here either.

What happens when the feat Born of the Three Thunders modifies thunderhead?

The feat Born of the Three Thunders (CAr 76) reads, in part,

When you cast a spell with either the electricity descriptor or the sonic descriptor that deals hit point damage, you can declare that spell to be a spell of the three thunders, with half its damage dealt as electricity damage and half dealt as sonic damage. In addition, the spell concludes with a mighty thunderclap that stuns all creatures that take damage from the spell for 1 round unless they succeed on a Fortitude save, then knocks stunned creatures prone unless they succeed on a Reflex save (both saves at the same DC as the base spell).

It’s clear the feat is intended to work on instantaneous spells, but a few electricity spells and sonic spells that inflict damage have durations other than instantaneous. The one I’m interested in is the 1st-level Sor/Wiz spell thunderhead [evoc] (SpC 219), which has the electricity descriptor, has a 1-round-per-level duration, and says that it

creates a small thundercloud over the subject’s head. The cloud moves with the subject, following it unerringly even if he becomes invisible or leaves the region. In every round of the spell’s duration, a miniature bolt of lightning leaps from the thundercloud to strike the subject. Each bolt deals 1 point of electricity damage that is negated by a successful Reflex save.

Here’re the questions:

  1. Which of the following is true: When the miniature lightning bolts from spell thunderhead, when modified by the feat Born of the Three Thunders, strike a foe…
    • only the first miniature lightning bolt will trigger the effects of the feat Born of the Three Thunders.
    • each miniature lightning bolt will trigger the effects of the feat Born of the Three Thunders.
  2. Which of the following is true: At least one miniature lightning bolt from spell thunderhead, when modified by the feat Born of the Three Thunders, will…
    • have an equal chance (a coin toss) of inflicting either 1 point of electricity damage or point of sonic damage.
    • inflict 1 point of electricity damage and 1 point of sonic damage (because even if halved minimum damage is 1).
    • inflict 0 points of damage (because half of 1 rounded down is 0).

Note: There’s probably an argument that says the spell thunderhead, when modified by the feat Born of the Three Thunders, doesn’t do anything as the miniature lightning bolts inflict the damage and those come from the thundercloud which is created by the spell, and the thundercloud does no damage. I’d rather not entertain that possibility as it gets into the differences between the conjuration and evocation schools of magic. To avoid such arguments, assume that the feat Born of the Three Thunders actually has an effect when applied to the spell thunderhead. Thanks.

“Who Cares?”
A buddy wants to play an electricity-chucking dude. And while dragonfire adept and warlock are interesting, a wizard with the feat Storm Bolt (CM 47) serves this purpose, too, and is… um… a wizard. So, yeah. In looking for ways to make electricity better, the feat Born of the Three Thunders makes electricity attacks more versatile, which is awesome. The feat Mark of the Dauntless (Dra 142) later, and the Wiz6 can do pretty well, shocking folks all day long if he keeps at least 1 Born of the Three Thunders lightning bolt prepared. The thunderhead thing arose because I wanted an interesting 1st-level electricity spell that could be Born of the Three Thunders. (By the way, I know the Storm Bolt feat and the Born of the Three Thunders feat don’t interact. It’s just a theme thing.)

Can I get Combat Casting as a bonus feat in one level or less?

I need Combat Casting as a prerequisite for another feat.

I really do not want to waste a precious feat slot on this terrible feat, particularly since I should have enormous Constitution.

Therefore, I want to get it as a bonus feat. The best I can find for this is becoming a 2nd-level duskblade, but two levels is a lot to pay—even more than a feat slot. The other benefits of the duskblade class simply don’t do enough for me to justify that investment.

So I want an alternative. Some possible answers:

  • A base class that gets Combat Casting at 1st.

  • An alternate class feature, substitution level, variant, or other option for a 3rd-level barbarian or druid, or 2nd-level cleric or wu jen (I’m planning on two levels of barbarian or druidic avenger, and a level each of cleric and wu jen, so one more level of any of these is better than fine for me).

  • A prestige class that gets Combat Casting at 1st (though the prerequisites are likely to ruin this as an efficient answer, and my character per se is only 6th level and thus has very limited access to prestige classes, I’d be interested in knowing).

  • A magic item that grants Combat Casting (this need not be limited to something affordable for a 6th-level character, though obviously my immediate problem is best solved by something that is).

  • Since this is for a feat and I’ll always need Combat Casting to use it, spells, powers, etc. etc. probably will not work—but if there are such options that can legitimately offer 100% uptime, I’d be interested (my character is going to be permanently enraged and probably unable to use these, but I’d still be interested).

  • I might be convinced by two levels in something else that’s a stronger dip than duskblade. Not my preferred solution, but certainly better than nothing.

  • Any of the above that explicitly counts as Combat Casting for the purpose of meeting a feat’s prerequisites.

Non-epic Wizards of the Coast-published 3.5e material, as well as Dragon or Dungeon magazine is acceptable. I want something that just says “you get the Combat Casting feat,” or “you count as having the Combat Casting feat for prerequisites.” Shenanigans to get extra feat slots (Elder Evils, DCFS, whatever) are not acceptable. Likewise, various suggestions that maybe with DM approval you could get a custom feature that might include Combat Casting—for example, the suggestion about feat-granting magic items from Arms & Eqiupment Guide—aren’t in-bounds for this question. And similar bonuses or whatever are of zero interest unless they explicitly count as Combat Casting for prerequisites.

Can an Arcane Trickster or Eldritch Knight who takes the Magic Initiate (Wizard) feat cast the first level spell they pick with their spell slots? [duplicate]

Can an Arcane Trickster or Eldritch Knight who takes the Magic Initiate (Wizard) feat cast the first level spell they pick with their spell slots, like a Bard who took Magic Initiate (Bard) can? Or the Wizard for that matter?

Both AT and EK uses the wizard spell list, so one could assume so, but can they?

ASI or War Caster for first feat? (Divination Wizard 4/Knowledge Cleric 1)

My rock gnome divination wizard recently leveled up to level 5 and I can choose between taking a feat and an ASI (I have a 1-level dip into knowledge cleric). I’m mostly looking to play a controller/debuffer in battle, so I’m a bit stuck since my spells require concentration (which War Caster helps with) but my save DC depends on intelligence.

Due to multiclassing requirements, my stats are a bit weird: 8 Str, 14 Dex, 14 Con, 17 Int, 13 Wis, and 9 Cha

So, should I go for an ASI or for War Caster (or maybe another feat like Resilient (Con) or Lucky)?

Thanks!

Distraction Feat

I’m looking for a feat or trait or something that a PC (not a rogue) can take that would allow them to use a bluff check on a creature during combat to get them to look away from the party, making them flat-footed. I think Bluff vs Sense Motive could work, but then I couldn’t have a mechanical means of making the enemy flat-footed.

I know the rogue has a couple of talents that are meant to distract the targeted creature (Demand Attention and Distracting Attack), but these are more combat-centric, bring the attention back to the rogue, and only work for the rogue. Feint is a bit weird, it’s either completely useless or the ruling isn’t clear.

I’m looking for a feat that’s along the lines of:

Madja Look!

You convince a target to look another way with a lie that made it more concerned than you and your party

Each day for a number of times equal to your charisma modifier, you can make a bluff check against an enemy or a group of enemies that you or an ally or allies are in combat with. The DC for the bluff check on one creature is 15 + 1/2 the target’s level + Wisdom modifier, while the DC on a group of creatures is 20 + 1/2 the highest-level target’s level + the highest Wisdom modifier within the group. A successful roll renders the enemy flat-footed to you and your allies for one round.

You can only attempt this talent/skill/feat/thing on intelligent creatures. You cannot attempt this feat again on the same creature or group of creatures for 1 week.

Is there such a feat/talent/thing? Or would a Bluff vs. Sense Motive be sufficient?

Is there a feat or a class feature in 3.5e that is similar to Step Up (Combat) from Pathfinder?

I am looking for a feat that in some way resembles Step Up from Pathfinder:

Step Up (Combat)

You can close the distance when a foe tries to move away.

Prerequisite: Base attack bonus +1.

Benefit: Whenever an adjacent foe attempts to take a 5-foot step away from you, you may also make a 5-foot step as an immediate action so long as you end up adjacent to the foe that triggered this ability. If you take this step, you cannot take a 5-foot step during your next turn. If you take an action to move during your next turn, subtract 5 feet from your total movement.

My goal is to prevent a caster to take a 5-foot step away from me while we are engaged in melee, in this way he/she is forced to cast defensively.

I understand that a weapon with reach could easily do the trick, but I can not consider this options.

So, is there any Feat or Class Feature that could help?