How does readying a spell interact with the Sorcerer’s Metamagic feature?

The Ready action states (emphasis mine):

[…] When you ready a spell, you cast it as normal but hold its energy, which you release with your reaction when the trigger occurs. […]

Thus, when you ready a spell you cast it before you release it; for further evidence of this there are the following questions:

  • Can a readied spell be Counterspelled after it is cast, but before the trigger occurs?
  • Can I deny a counterspell by readying my spell behind full cover?

To quote a few sections of the Sorcerer’s Metamagic feature (emphasis mine):

[…]

Careful Spell

When you cast a spell that forces other creatures to make a saving throw, you can protect some of those creatures from the spell’s full force. To do so, you spend 1 sorcery point and choose a number of those creatures up to your Charisma modifier (minimum of one creature). A chosen creature automatically succeeds on its saving throw against the spell.

[…]

Heightened Spell

When you cast a spell that forces a creature to make a saving throw to resist its effects, you can spend 3 sorcery points to give one target of the spell disadvantage on its first saving throw made against the spell.

[…]

Twinned Spell

When you cast a spell that targets only one creature and doesn’t have a range of self, you can spend a number of sorcery points equal to the spell’s level to target a second creature in range with the same spell (1 sorcery point if the spell is a cantrip). […]

Thus, you do not wait until the spell forces a saving throw to use these features, instead you use them when you cast the spell; for further evidence of this there are the following questions:

  • When must the wizard choose to overchannel?
  • When do I have to declare that I want to twin my spell?
  • Can a Sorcerer protect their friend from Web by using Careful Spell?

This all leaves me with some related questions (if they should each be separate questions then I can certainly split them up):

What happens when you try to use Careful Spell on a readied spell? If you can do this, when do you choose the affected targets?

What happens when you try to use Heightened Spell on a readied spell? If you can do this, when do you choose the affected targets?

What happens when you try to use Twinned Spell on a readied spell? If you can do this, when do you choose the affected targets?

Note that the question about the web spell above is rather similar to Careful Spell and Heightened Spell, though there is a different gap in time between the spell being cast and the saving throw being made; I’m unsure if that changes anything

Can the School of Necromancy feature Command Undead be used on very powerful undead?

The Command Undead feature says

As an action, you can choose one undead that you can see within 60 feet of you.

Unlike the spell Animate Dead it does not specify that it has to be a small/medium humanoid. So am I able to attempt to Command powerful undead such as liches, drago-liches, death tyrants, death knights, etc.? I know that they would be hard to keep under control because of the saving throws and their intelligence, but can I try, or does Command Undead not work on them at all?

Using Extra Attack feature with two-handed weapon and additional thrown weapon

As the title states, I have a question about how the rules handle using the Extra Attack class feature to make two separate attacks with a two-handed weapon and a thrown weapon.


PHB Errata. Two-Handed (p. 147). This property is relevant only when you attack with the weapon, not when you simply hold it.


PHB Page 190. You can also interact with one object or feature of the environment for free, during either your move or your action. For example, you could open a door during your move as you stride toward a foe, or you could draw your weapon as part of the same action you use to attack.


Not official rule, but this developer Tweet says:

@DnDMontreal [Apr 4, 2015]:

@JeremyECrawford what are the rules on dropping weapons? People are dropping weapons to circumvent only having one ‘Interaction with Object’

@JeremyECrawford [3:20 PM · Apr 4, 2015]:

@DnDMontreal The intent is that letting go of something requires no appreciable effort. But picking it up does.


So, my question is, can I perform this sequence of events during my turn?

  • Start turn with Halberd in both hands
  • Let go of Halberd with one hand (either letting the pole arm hang mid-air in one hand, or propping it up with the butt-end on the ground) using “free action”
  • Draw Javelin from storage, throw said Javelin at one target out of melee range
  • Replace second hand onto halberd to attack second target that IS within melee range
  • Use Bonus Action to do whatever I want (including possibly butt-end attack with Halberd from Polearm Master feat)

This comes up as a result of looking at a handful of other questions, and finding them all not quite capturing my own question:

  • Holding a longbow (or other 2H weapon) and attacking with a shortsword (or other 1H weapon)?
    • This question is only concerned about using one weapon while holding the other and has nothing to do with multiple attacks as main action. It also served as a good baseline for formatting my question 🙂
  • Can you draw and or throw a javelin on one or more successive turns while still using a 2-handed weapon for opportunity attacks?
    • This question focuses on the reactions you can make with a polearm, which are also relevant options my character would want to have available. It has the parts of shifting weapon to one hand and back to two hands, but nothing of multiple attacks.
  • Can you drop one hand from a two-handed weapon to draw and use a single-handed weapon next turn?
    • This is only one small part of my question. It is also how I found the Sage Advice.
  • Can you attack with more than one weapon when using Extra Attack?
    • This answered part of my question as well. I especially love the example given in Dale M’s answer
  • Can you attack with different weapons using Extra Attack?
    • Finally this question also answered part of my question as well.

I apologize for the wall of text, but based on this research, my reading is that the above scenario is allowed per RAW (and a little RAI doesn’t hurt my case). I just want confirmation from the larger community to make sure that I got it right for when I present it to my DM and fellow players.

Can a Hunter ranger, can the Horde Breaker feature target a creature within 5 feet of any target attacked that turn, or only the most recent target?

I play a Hunter ranger using longbow attacks in a D&D 5e game. I’m trying to understand how the Horde Breaker feature works.

Say there are two targets within 5 feet of each other in one area (Target A&B). Then there are another two targets within 5 feet of each other in another area (Target C&D). I have both the Extra Attack and Horde Breaker features. I attack Target A, then with my Extra Attack I attack Target C.

Now I want to use Horde Breaker. Can I select Target B from the first duo? Or must I select Target D from the second duo because that was my last attack?


In another scenario, there are two targets within 5 feet of each other in one area (Target A&B), then there is another target about 20 feet away by itself (Target C). I attack Target A, then with my Extra Attack, I attack Target C. Do I then forfeit using Horde Breaker because I didn’t use it to attack Target B?

How do the damage from the Hexblade’s Curse feature and the Hex and Bestow Curse spells interact/stack with one another?

Hex requires concentration, while bestow curse at a high level and Hexblade’s Curse do not. This allows all three things to stack.

  1. Hex deals damage whenever an attack hits
  2. Bestow curse deals damage whenever an attack or spell inflicts damage
  3. Hexblade’s Curse adds damage to all damage rolls

If all three were applied to a target, for every time I hit it, would it unfold as follows:

Hit, hex damage, bestow curse damage triggered by hit, bestow curse damage triggered by hex, and all 4 damage rolls get boosted by Hexblade’s Curse?

How does a Circle of the Shepherd’s Mighty Summoner feature interact with the UA spell Summon Bestial Spirit?

Our DM has allowed us to play-test the summoning spells which appear in Unearthed Arcana 2020: Spells and Magic Tattoos and I have added the 2nd-level Druid spell Summon Bestial Spirit (pp. 3-4) to my spell list.

I chose the Circle of the Shepherd which has a feature at L6 called Mighty Summoner, which is meant to enhance a druid’s summoning/conjuring spells by adding +2 HPs per Hit Die and causing the damage to be classed as magical (XGE, p.240).

For example, with the 3rd-level spell Conjure Animals (PHB, p.225), if I conjured a Giant Boar (MM, p.323), it would have an additional +10 HPs because it has 5 Hit Dice (5d10 + 15). So the conjured/summoned creature would have 5d10 + 15 +10 HPs in total.

Here are the relevant parts from the UA spell:

Summon Bestial Spirit

You call forth the spirit of a beast. […]

At Higher Levels. When you cast this spell using a spell slot of 3rd level or higher, the creature assumes the higher level for that casting wherever it uses the spell’s level in its stat block. […]

Hit Points equal the beast’s Constitution modifier + your spellcasting ability modifier + ten times the spell’s level

In the case of the Summon Bestial Spirit the creature’s HPs are linked to the spell level, so how does it interact with druid’s Mighty Summoner feature? Does the spell level determine the Hit Dice?

I would appreciate an answer with an example and/or experience of having play-tested this spell.

Does the Thief rogue’s Use Magic Device feature let them ignore class, race, and level requirements on attuning to magic items?

The Artificer’s Magic Item Savant feature states (E:RftLW p. 58, WGtE p. 180; emphasis mine):

[…] You ignore all class, race, spell, and level requirements on attuning to or using magic items.

In contrast, the Thief rogue’s Use Magic Device feature merely states:

[…] You ignore all class, race, and level requirements on the use of magic items.

The Use Magic Device feature doesn’t mention ignoring requirements on attuning to magic items, only on using them. It seems like that would mean a Thief rogue can not attune to a magic item if it has a specific requirement on who can attune to it (e.g. the holy avenger).

Does the Use Magic Device feature let a Thief rogue ignore class, race, and level requirements on attuning to magic items?

Can I apply great weapon master’s -5 atk, +10dmg feature to a bonus attack?

Say I trigger the bonus attack granted by GWM’s first feature, (bonus attack upon crit or killing blow). Can I then apply GWM’s second feature (-5 atk, +10 dmg) to that bonus attack?

As a barbarian at level 5 (extra attack) , this would mean that I could use this feature a total of 3 times — that’s some heavy damage.

Does the Sacred Kin barbarian’s Supernatural Fury feature replace the Rage feature entirely?

This question is about the Supernatural Fury feature of the Path of the Sacred Kin barbarian subclass from Xanathar’s Lost Notes to Everything Else (a third-party product by the DMs Guild Adepts).

The Supernatural Fury feature states:

At 3rd level, you can focus on the magic in your blood, allowing you to concentrate your rage into the ancient magic of your bloodline and enter a Supernatural Fury. You gain the ability to cast and concentrate on spells, even while raging, at the expense of your physical resistances.

When you enter your Supernatural Fury and you aren’t wearing heavy armor, the following benefits replace the benefits of the Rage feature:

  • You gain a bonus to your AC equal to your Strength modifier (minimum of +1).
  • You have advantage on Constitution checks and saving throws made to maintain concentration on a spell.
  • You have resistance to magical damage and are immune to the damage type you chose from your Ancestral Origin.

Your Supernatural Fury lasts for 1 minute. It ends early if you’re knocked unconscious or if your turn ends and you haven’t attacked a hostile creature, cast a spell, or taken damage since your last turn. You can end your Supernatural Fury on your turn as a bonus action.

Does this mean the Sacred Kin barbarian can choose between entering a “regular” rage and a Supernatural Fury? Or can he (from Level 3 on) only gain the benefits from Supernatural Fury, because it completely replaces the “old” rage he used on Level 1 and 2?