What happens when you heal someone who is under the effects of Feign Death in response to Harm?

Here is a hypothetical scenario:

  1. Have Harm Cast on a player (reducing the maximum hit points)
  2. Cast Feign Death on the player, suppressing (not removing) the effects of the disease (not healing, but restoring the maximum hit points they have)
  3. Heal them (now that their maximum hit points are no longer reduced)
  4. Wake them up…

Does their hitpoint stay as they are (at maximum), or are they reduced back down (effectively taking damage again)?

Feign Death:

If the target is diseased or poisoned when you cast the spell, or becomes diseased or poisoned while under the spell’s effect, the disease and poison have no effect until the spell ends.

Harm:

If the target fails the saving throw, its hit point maximum is reduced for 1 hour by an amount equal to the necrotic damage it took. Any effect that removes a disease allows a creature’s hit point maximum to return to normal before that time passes.

Is a caster of Gentle Repose aware that a creature under the effects of Feign Death is an invalid target?

Alice (a wizard) & Bob (class unspecified), are planning an elaborate prank on Carol (a cleric). Alice casts Feign Death on Bob, and then wails about how he has been slain by a horrible monster/curse/whatever. Carol, who is, for some reason, friends with these jerks, comes running. Carol does not routinely prepare resurrection spells; instead, she casts Gentle Repose on Bob to preserve him for tomorrow, when she will prepare an appropriate spell to bring him back to life.

Is Carol aware that Bob is not a valid target for the Gentle Repose spell (since he isn’t actually dead), either before or after attempting to cast the spell?

From the PHB, p140:

Feign Death

You touch a willing creature and put it into a cataleptic state that is indistinguishable from death. For the spell’s duration… the target appears dead to all outward inspection and to spells used to determine the target’s status. ….

From the PHB, p215:

Gentle Repose

You touch a corpse or other remains. For the duration, the target is protected from decay and can’t become undead. …

Can Feign Death remove attunement from a cursed item?

When a creature dies, the attunement to their cursed items ends. So my question is, will Feign Death (p240 PHB) trick the curse into ending early?

You touch a willing creature and put it into a cataleptic state that is indistinguishable from death…

It is the same Level spell as Remove Curse (p271 PHB) So it’s not an abuse of power.

Cursed items (p193 DMG) Says (emphasis added):

Attunement to a cursed item can’t be ended voluntarily unless the curse is broken first, such as with the Remove Curse spell.

Implying that there are other methods. I am wondering if Feign Death qualifies?

This came up because a character with a cursed item was put under the effects of a Feign Death, and were wondering if the cursed item is still attuned.

Can a wizard under the effects of Feign Death issue telepathic commands to their familiar?

A wizard has a summoned familiar within 100 feet that is currently idle and has Feign Death cast on them by another PC. Would the wizard still be able to issue telepathic commands to their familiar?

Specifically, while Feign Death states that they appear dead and are incapacitated and blind, they aren’t listed as being unconscious.

Find Familiar doesn’t state that issuing telepathic commands requires an action (which you can’t do while incapacitated), whereas it does state that seeing through your familiar’s eyes requires an action as does dismissing it.

I was DMing a game where this occurred and I hastily ruled that the wizard was unable to issue commands, but I am second guessing myself after the fact. And knowing my PCs this situation is likely to happen again.

Can you cast Animate Dead on someone under effect of Feign Death?

The Feign Death spell (PHB, p. 240) says:

For the spell’s duration, or until you use an action to touch the target and dismiss the spell, the target appears dead to all outward inspection and to spells used to determine the target’s status.

The Animate Dead spell, on the other hand, says:

This spell creates an undead servant. Choose a pile of bones or a corpse of a Medium or Small humanoid within range. Your spell imbues the target with a foul mimicry of life, raising it as an undead creature. The target becomes a skeleton if you chose bones or a zombie if you chose a corpse (the DM has the creature’s game statistics).

Feign Death has this strange clause that all spells used to detect the target status register it as being dead. Animate Dead takes a corpse of a dead creature and create a zombie out of it.

On one hand, a Feigned creature isn’t a corpse, so it isn’t a valid target for Animate Dead. On the other hand, if Animate Dead fails, then the creature isn’t a corpse, but that would violate the clause from Feign Death that says the target appears dead to spells used to determine the target status and now my head is hurting and I don’t understand anything anymore.

What happens if you cast Animate Dead on a creature currently under effect of Feign Death to determine if it is dead?

Would you end up with some weird living zombie that is undead but not really?

Does a Feign death recipient registers as Magical if detect magic is cast to inspect it?

The Feign Death spells indicates

For the spell’s duration, or until you use an action to touch the target and dism iss the spell, the target appears dead to all outward inspection and to spells used to determine the target’s status.

To me, using detect magic on a corpse to see if it is still under spell is actually using a spell to determine the target’s status since when a creature dies, all spell effects on it are ended. To me using detect magic to determine if the creature is still alive (under a magic spell effect) or not (an inanimate object, a corpse). So the feign death spell would effectively prevent the magical aura from being detected by the detect magic spell.

Am I right in that determination ?

RAW please, no opinions or interpretations.

Can the target of Feign Death speak, move, and dodge a fireball

The Feign Death spell begins with this line:

You touch a willing creature and put it into a cataleptic state that is indistinguishable from death.

I read this as flavor, since ‘cataleptic state’ isn’t defined by the game. It is still a very evocative description of the spell effects. Here’s a definition of a catalepsy pulled from Merriam-Webster:

Medical Definition of catalepsy. : a trancelike state of consciousness (as that occurring in catatonic schizophrenia) that is marked by a loss of voluntary motion and a fixed posture in which the limbs remain in whatever position they are place

Feign Death goes on to explicitly describe the effects of the spell in DND terms.

The target is blinded and incapacitated, and its speed drops to 0.

Emphasis is mine

Importantly, none of these conditions or effects prevents a creature from talking, moving their limbs, thinking, hearing, smelling, making saving throws as normal, or making ability checks as normal.

As Jeremy Crawford has said, being incapacitated doesn’t immobilize you. Typically, ‘incapacitated’ is wrapped up inside more specific conditions or effects that describe movement. For example, the paralyzed condition incapacitates a creature and also prevent’s movement/speech:

A paralyzed creature is incapacitated (see the condition) and can’t move or speak.

It seems to me that the RAW version of Feign Death and it’s “cataleptic state” would allow a creature to spend an hour flailing it’s arms around, singing 99 bottles of beer on the wall, and making DEX saves against the odd fireball. Maybe this is RAI, too, since the spell only works on a willing creature, who would presumably lay still and play dead. Unless they’re in it to delay a disease, or rolling around to shield themselves from a fireball.

Is this absurd? Am I understanding the spell correctly?