Magic stone and thrown weapon fighting dd 5e tashas

I am a ranger with multiattack and thrown weapon fighting. I have a sack (homebrew) that lets me draw and throw a magic stone (flavoured as a turnip). I think i have established that i would have three attacks (multiattack and bonus) . thrown weapon fighting lets me draw as part of the attack. my question is . do i add the usual 1d6+wisdom modifier damage on the offhand throw? or is it just 1d6? the cantrip is cast on the stone. im unsure. essentially , if someone throws the stone with the offhand does it still hit with the modifier damage?

How to deal with pit fighting? [closed]

A player in a game I run tries to do pit fighting in every city they visit. The pit fighting rules from XGtE require a week, so at first I considered a version of that with less gold at the end. But it seems quite easy to win at those, and that player quickly got much more gold than everyone else. Also, rolling three times seems quite a bit ing way to run a fight.
Mh question is this: how can I make pit fighting more interesting and challenging, shorts of doing an entire combat?

WHY is Soulknife’s second attack NOT Two-Weapon Fighting?

Ask about Soulknife rogue, D&D 5E

Hello, I know there is a question "Do you add your ability modifier to damage for the Soulknife’s second attack?" with reply being "Yes you do because it is not two weapons fighting". This is not IF, but WHY.

Recently I encountered this problem while playing Soulknife and pretty much my entire group was like "it’s in off-hand, it’s two weapons fighting because you are literlly using two blades, it should not apply".

Why wouldn’t Soulknife’s second blade be considered Two-Weapon Fighting while using bonus action to use second blade?

Is it because both are not held at the same time or something like it? Some wordplay on second and two not being the same word? I honestly do not understand why two weapons are not two weapons fighting. I am not english native so maybe there is something crucial and obvious escaping me.

Also, am I correct to assume that if second blade is not considered two weapons fighting, then it goes like this:

First blade: Attack roll 1d20 + prof + mod; Damage roll 1d6 + mod

Second blade: Attack roll 1d20 + prof + mod; Damage roll 1d4 + mod

When attacking with Two-Weapon Fighting, can you break up your movement and attack a different target?

When you get the Extra Attack action, you can break up your movement and attack different targets at varying distances from your starting point.

Does the same apply with TWF? As in, can I approach my first target, use my attack action, then move, and use my bonus action to attack a different target?

From PHB 195:

“When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you’re holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you’re holding in the other hand.”

The key seems to be how to interpret “when:” either “immediately after” or “whenever (during your turn).”

How do I model the fighter’s Great Weapon Fighting fighting style in Anydice?

I was trying to create an AnyDice function to model the Great Weapon Fighting fighting style (which lets you reroll 1s and 2s), but I couldn’t get it to work on any arbitrary dice.

I’ve found this one:

function: reroll R:n under N:n {    if R < N { result: d12 } else {result: R} } output [reroll 1d12 under 3] named "greataxe weapon fighting" 

And it works fine. But I don’t know how to make the function generic so i don’t need to change the d12 every time i want a different dice to reroll.

I’ve tried

function: reroll R:n under N:n {    if R < N { result: d{1..R} } else {result: R} } output [reroll 1d12 under 3] named "greataxe weapon fighting" 

but it is not giving the right probabilities. Maybe if I could fetch the die size inside the function…

Are monks only allowed to use non-unarmed weapons as off-hand when two-weapon fighting?

Do the special rules regarding monks’ unarmed strikes prevent monks from using unarmed strikes as off-hand weapons when using two-weapon fighting?

The monk class’ unarmed strike section states:

There is no such thing as an off-hand attack for a monk striking unarmed.

The context of this is dealing with 1x vs. 1/2x strength, but as a side effect, does it mean a monk must use a weapon rather than an unarmed strike when using two weapon fighting to generate more attacks per round?

Two-weapon fighting states:

If you wield a second weapon in your off hand, you can get one extra attack per round with that weapon.

It then states later on, confirming that unarmed strikes may normally be used:

(An unarmed strike is always considered light.)

Do the Tunnel Fighter UA fighting style and the Polearm Master feat combine to grant indefinite opportunity attacks?


Here’s the scenario:

The character in question has both the Tunnel Fighter fighting style from Unearthed Arcana: Light, Dark, Underdark!, which says:

You excel at defending narrow passages, doorways, and other tight spaces. As a bonus action, you can enter a defensive stance that lasts until the start of your next turn. While in your defensive stance, you can make opportunity attacks without using your reaction, and you can use your reaction to make a melee attack against a creature that moves more than 5ft while within your reach.

As well as the Polearm Master feat (PHB, p. 168), the second bullet point of which says:

While you are wielding a glaive, halberd, pike, or quarterstaff, other creatures provoke an opportunity attack from you when they enter your reach.

Assuming you hit every target that enters your reach (10 feet, unless you’re using a quarterstaff), could you essentially take out a stampede of kobolds who have no ranged weapons? (Or some other instance of lots of easy-to-hit targets rushing at the player.)

Am I correct in assuming this means all approaching targets are attacked once as they enter my reach? Am I missing something that says otherwise in this scenario?

This combination seems really good to protect the rest of the group from a swarm of enemies and to abuse choke points. It’s almost too good against weaker enemies.

Wielding two weapons without “Two-Weapon Fighting” or “Dual Wielder”?

We have a Barbarian on our team that very much likes to switch up his weapons; he goes from a Dwarven Hammer, to a pair of Hand-Axes, to occasionally just going bare-fisted. No issues there, he’s fairly adept with all 3.

However, I have only just recently picked up on the way that he rolls his attacks for the two Hand-Axes: He rolls the first attack, adds his modifiers etc. Then he rolls the second attack, this time without modifiers, which is all well and good. But I’m not sure if this action uses his bonus action or not, or is considered a separate action (though, being a level 4 Barbarian, he only has one action per turn), or is merely part of the same action.

If we have a look at the Two-Weapon Fighting feature from the Fighter’s fighting styles:

Two-Weapon Fighting
When you engage in two-weapon fighting, you can add your ability modifier to the damage of the second attack. (PHB5e p.72)

Similarly, the Dual Wielder feat also uses the Two-Weapon Fighting feat:

Dual Wielder
You master fighting with two weapons, gaining the following benefits:

  • You can use two-weapon fighting even when the one-handed melee weapons you are wielding aren’t light. (PHB5e p.164, emphasis mine)

So; yes, this gives a bonus to the second weapon attack, but having asked a separate question to clarify which action this secondary weapon attack belongs to, it was determined that this uses your bonus action;

[…] the second attack requires a bonus action

So after that long winded explanation, here is the question: Without any additional feats, can you wield and use two weapons at once, and if so, how many actions does it require to make a full attack with both weapons in a turn?