I recently made a level 8 Storm Herald Barbarian (from XgtE) with the Desert aura. The level 6 feature allows me to set flammable objects that are not being carried or worn by anyone else on fire. So my question is this. If I set a quarterstaff completely on fire, how much extra fire damage would it deal to my opponent, how much to me, and how long would it last before burning?
What is a Flaming Fists officer’s wage?
Do they count as skilled mercenaries who are paid 2gp per day?
The description of the flaming sphere in the PHB reads:
Any creature that ends its turn within 5 feet of the sphere must […]
Does this mean flaming sphere affects a sphere with a diameter of 15 feet (5 feet from itself, 10 feet towards either direction)?
Also, does ramming the sphere require placing the sphere at the location of the enemy directly, or will it still do damage as long as the creature is in the affected range of the spell?
I was wondering if the 60ft range on flaming sphere is the max range it can ever be from you or only the max range you can cast it at. Then on subsequent turns you can move it even farther away. Same for Moonbeam and other similar spells. I could not find a clear answer googling it, and asking my friends geoups returned a split decision.
While I’m mostly interested in answering this for D&D 5e, I’d also be curious for Pathfinder 2e if for some reason the rules were different.
The item’s description reads
While you wear both of these steel gauntlets, any non- magical weapon you grasp with either gauntlet is treated as a magic weapon. As a bonus action, you can use the gauntlets to cause magical flames to envelop one or two melee weapons in your grasp. Each flaming weapon deals an extra 1d6 fire damage on a hit. The flames last until you sheath or let go of either weapon. Once used, this property can’t be used again until the next dawn. Source: BGDIA, page 223
Now the first part is clear that it makes non-magic weapons magic, but does the second part using a bonus action to add 1d6 fire damage apply only if the weapons are non-magic to start? I.E. If I wield a +1 short sword would I roll 1d6 slashing +1d6 fire +1 for damage or just 1d6 slashing +1?
This question already has an answer here:
- Spells with movable areas of effect: moving them out of sight or behind obstacles 1 answer
Example: Cast the sphere then duck around a corner away from the fight and move it on each of your turns as a bonus action while staying safe and keeping concentration.
Flaming Sphere (PHB 242-243)
A 5-foot-diameter Sphere of fire appears in an unoccupied space of your choice within range and lasts for the Duration. Any creature that ends its turn within 5 feet of the Sphere must make a Dexterity saving throw. The creature takes 2d6 fire damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one.
As a Bonus Action, you can move the Sphere up to 30 feet. If you ram the Sphere into a creature, that creature must make the saving throw against the sphere’s damage, and the Sphere stops moving this turn.
When you move the Sphere, you can direct it over barriers up to 5 feet tall and jump it across pits up to 10 feet wide. The Sphere ignites flammable Objects not being worn or carried, and it sheds bright light in a 20-foot radius and dim light for an additional 20 feet.
At Higher Levels: When you cast this spell using a spell slot of 3rd Level or higher, the damage increases by 1d6 for each slot level above 2nd.
Do you need to be able to see where you want to move a flaming sphere to?
What if a torch is providing bright light in a 20-foot radius and dim light for an additional 20 feet she would have only dim light 20 feet while in heavily obscured? Or would it also have bright light in a 20-foot radius on heavily obscured? Considering heavily obscured as moonless night. And would the Flaming Tongue work as in this same condition?
The last sentence of the Darkness spell has the following text:
If any of this spell’s area overlaps with an area of light created by a spell of 2nd level or lower, the spell that created the light is dispelled.
The Color Spray spell creates “flashing, colored light”, and the flaming sphere sheds bright & dim light.
Are both of these spells dispelled if they overlap with the Darkness spell?
Can I ram a Flaming Sphere into multiple tiny creatures, if they occupy the same 5′ by 5′ square?
This question already has an answer here:
- Does an ability or spell grant me the bonus action with which to use it? 3 answers
Reading PHB p. 242 about Flaming Sphere (second paragraph) it begins “As a bonus action, you can…”. Does this mean that when it is cast that a wizard gets to use a bonus action and move the sphere? And if so, does this mean that on each of this wizard’s turns (within 1 minute duration), he gets to use a bonus action to move the sphere?
Does a wizard have to have a bonus action (in his back pocket so to speak) to make use of this feature of the spell (being able to move it).