Kineticist’s searing flesh damage vs weapons

A Kineticist’s searing flesh ability states the following

Weapons that strike you also take this damage, though the damage is unlikely to penetrate the weapon’s hardness. By accepting 1 point of burn, you can increase this damage by 1 point per 4 kineticist levels you possess until the next time your burn is removed. You can increase the damage in this way up to seven times.

This means that, say by level 12, and by having 7 points of burn you will do 24 damage to a weapon when it hits you. However, this seems to be pointless, as that means that against a measly +1, it will do 0 damage. Is this really the intended effect? Why is this included as part of the ability if it cannot actually damage weapons even less than appropriately leveled at max power?

Or does this imply that the damage is just straight applied vs the weapon without reducing the elemental damage and just must bypass hardness? This seems more inline with balance. a +5 weapon, which is appropriate for martials at that level has 15-20 hardness, and ~60 hp. meaning that damaging it with this ability would do 4-9 damage, and it would have to hit you 4-8 times to gain the broken condition. Which still seems a little fast. but considering your spending 84 hp to sustain, seems relativly balanced as your not likely to survive 4-8 hits from a level appropriate weapon without some other form of defence.

How does this ability actually work against weapons? Is that entire clause pointless or is it actually possible to have it be semi-relevant?

Can a Flesh Golem benefit from the 7th level ‘regenerate’ (spell)?

Traditionally, the flesh golem is Alive… its ALIVE!!. Not so with 5e D&D of course, it is just another automaton but made with soggy RAW parts. Too bad of course (some amazing clips and reels of lore just… left on the cutting room floor as it were) – but RAW is RAW.

For reasons i cannot find in the monster description golems cannot accept most healing spells. It must be under ‘general golem characteristics’ or something. I cannot find it. I also searched Stack Exchange a few times to see if this was already answered a few times. Forgive me if i missed it?

Sometimes there are exceptions to general rules. In this case, the 7th level spell Regenerate seems to be pretty darn powerful. New limbs in just two minutes! That’s the stuff.

Now i get that this should NOT work with golems of any other material (such as stone, iron or clay). If it did RAW, i still would not allow it as a DM. But this would be a great way of rebuilding a fleshy-robot-person-thing when lightning can ‘heal’ but not rebuild.

My thanks.

Does Flesh to Stone count the first saving throw?

Flesh to Stone states:

You attempt to turn one creature that you can see within range into stone. If the target’s body is made of flesh, the creature must make a Constitution saving throw. On a failed save, it is restrained as its flesh begins to harden. On a successful save, the creature isn’t affected.

A creature restrained by this spell must make another Constitution saving throw at the end of each of its turns. If it successfully saves against this spell three times, the spell ends. If it fails its saves three times, it is turned to stone and subjected to the petrified condition for the duration.

My reading of this is that the initial save against the spell counts as one of the failed saves so if the target failed an additional two saves it would be petrified. Is this correct or is the correct interpretation that the target must fail three of the subsequent saves to be petrified?

Can multiple casters combine Flesh to Stone to petrify a target faster?

The flesh to stone spell states:

A creature restrained by this spell must make another Constitution saving throw at the end of each of its turns. If it successfully saves against this spell three times, the spell ends. If it fails its saves three times, it is turned to stone and subjected to the petrified condition for the duration. The successes and failures don’t need to be consecutive; keep track of both until the target collects three of a kind.

Say a wizard casts flesh to stone on an enemy, an orc to make it simple, and the orc fails the first saving throw.

Then the wizards friend, in the same round, casts a second flesh to stone spell on the poor orc, to which he also fails his saving throw. Then the wizards other friend casts a third flesh to stone in that same round on the poor orc and he fails that saving throw as well.

Does the orc fully petrify in that round? In other words, do the effects of the spells starting to petrify the orc stack with each other? He did fail 3 saving throws but it was against 3 separate spells instead of one spell.

Can you fix flesh golems?

I’m running Descent into Avernus and two players died at one point.
They wanted to stay in the game with their characters, and its hell. I had their characters morphed together as a flesh golem by an NPC. We had our laughs about it and everyone thought it was funny when they had a giant weird flesh golem thing on our team.

But after about a week, which brings us to now, they want their characters back to normal and I said sure. Then I stopped dead in my tracks as I realized that I don’t think separating a flesh golem is an actual thing.

Main question: Can you separate parts of a flesh golem to make two separate people? If so, how?

Its not an issue if this isn’t a thing, I’ll figure out a way around it, I was just curious because I couldn’t find this on the internet.

Can Flesh to Stone spell &/or magic turn a dead body to stone?

Any creature failing two DC 13 Con-saves vs. gorgon breath (or other such magic such as Flesh to Stone spell) is stone-petrified. Also, a dead yet animated creature (ANY corporeal undead) suffers similar stony fate once properly exposed to these magics.

Does Gorgon breath &/or petrification-spell work on ‘dead’ bodies not yet animated / undead? For that matter, is such a ‘dead’ body even targetable via the spell version of this magic?

Concern: it would be odd that a zombie (‘dead’) can turn to stone but a flesh body (also ‘dead’) be immune to petrification or possibly not even targetable.

Reason for asking: non-rotting / stone / preserved-dead bodies are useful: can be dismantled for Flesh Golem parts, vital parts for magic item manufacture, original creature Raised / Resurrected / Reincarnated at any later date – i.e. myriad-plethora-abundant uses.

In advance: this may be much ado about nothing or otherwise an unnecessarily complicated way of seeing 5e rulings. If so, corrections on such RAW, RAI &/or RAF nuances herein would be invaluable.

What are the advantages of taking “Sculptor of Flesh” eldritch invocation over taking Polymorph as a spell?

I think I misunderstand how the eldritch invocations that grant spells “using a warlock spell slot”.

Sculptor of Flesh Prerequisite: 7th level

You can cast Polymorph once using a Warlock spell slot. You can’t do so again until you finish a Long Rest.

Looking at the Warlock spell list, you are also able to take Polymorph as a spell at 7th level. If I took Polymorph as a spell, couldn’t I cast it using pact slots every short rest? What is the point of using this as one of my eldritch invocations?

Is there a scenario where a gnoll flesh gnawer can move at least 45 feet during its Rampage bonus action?

The base movement speed of a gnoll flesh gnawer is 30 feet, and if it activates rampage by bringing a creature to 0 hit points, it can move an additional 15 feet for a total of 45 feet during “normal” combat.

But is there a way that rampage could be triggered for the flesh gnawer after it gains a movement speed of 90 feet from its Sudden Rush action? This should allow the flesh gnawer to traverse 135 feet in one turn.

Ideally this would require only actions/abilities possessed by the various gnoll types, but I am open to other first-party/non-homebrew solutions for Dungeons and Dragons 5e that may make this possible.

Potentially relevant text from some of the gnoll actions are listed below:

Sudden Rush

Until the end of the turn, the gnoll’s speed increases by 60 feet and doesn’t provoke opportunity attacks.

Incite Rampage (Possessed by the Gnoll Pack Lord)

One creature the gnoll can see within 30 feet of it can use its reaction to make a melee attack if it can hear the gnoll and has the Rampage trait.

Rampage

When the gnoll reduces a creature to 0 hit points with a melee attack on its turn, the gnoll can take a bonus action to move up to half its speed and make a bite attack.