Calculating Damage for the Fling Action

DND 5e. Among my group there seem to be multiple ways of interpreting the damage from the action “Fling”.

From the Kraken:

Fling. One Large or smaller object held or creature grappled by the kraken is thrown up to 60 feet in a random direction and knocked prone. If a thrown target strikes a solid surface, the target takes 3 (1d6) bludgeoning damage for every 10 feet it was thrown. If the target is thrown at another creature, that creature must succeed on a DC 18 Dexterity saving throw or take the same damage and be knocked prone.

The distance for the damage calculated is in question:

If the creature is thrown an intended 60ft but interrupted say 30ft in by a solid surface, is the distance then considered to only be 30ft for the damage calculation? This would seem to be supported by the “up to 60ft” phrasing, but also would then imply that the creature thrown had less momentum from an interpretation of physics simply due to a wall existing in the way.

Or would the damage be considered from the full 60ft of the initial throw? The “up to 60ft” would assert an individual could be thrown less distance by the kraken’s intent, randomly, DM, etc. Then, the damage in question could be based on this.

The interpretation of the “up to” is up to DM discretion. For damage which of these is correct?

Can a kraken fling a creature grappled in its mouth, or swallow something grappled in its tentacles?

The kraken has the following three actions (bold emphsis mine):

Bite. Melee Weapon Attack: +17 to hit, reach 5 ft., one target. Hit: 23 (3d8 + 10) piercing damage. If the target is a Large or smaller creature grappled by the kraken, that creature is swallowed, and the grapple ends. While swallowed, the creature is blinded and restrained, it has total cover against attacks and other effects outside the kraken, and it takes 42 (12d6) acid damage at the start of each of the kraken’s turns.

If the kraken takes 50 damage or more on a single turn from a creature inside it, the kraken must succeed on a DC 25 Constitution saving throw at the end of that turn or regurgitate all swallowed creatures, which fall prone in a space within 10 feet of the kraken. If the kraken dies, a swallowed creature is no longer restrained by it and can escape from the corpse using 15 feet of movement, exiting prone.

Tentacle. Melee Weapon Attack: +17 to hit, reach 30 ft., one target. Hit: 20 (3d6 + 10) bludgeoning damage, and the target is grappled (escape DC 18). Until this grapple ends, the target is restrained. The kraken has ten tentacles, each of which can grapple one target.

Fling. One Large or smaller object held or creature grappled by the kraken is thrown up to 60 feet in a random direction and knocked prone. If a thrown target strikes a solid surface, the target takes 3 (1d6) bludgeoning damage for every 10 feet it was thrown. If the target is thrown at another creature, that creature must succeed on a DC 18 Dexterity saving throw or take the same damage and be knocked prone.

I believe the intention here is that any creature grappled by the Bite attack can be swallowed, and any creature grappled by a Tentacle can be thrown via Fling.

However, by RAW, it seems as though a creature can be grappled by a Tentacle and then immediately swallowed by the next Bite attack, or they can be grappled by the Bite attack and then throw via Fling.

Am I reading this correctly, or am I missing some subtle wording that makes it work RAW like how I assume it’s supposed to work RAI?