Where does a creature – flying low over a large body of water – descend when subject to the Earthbind spell?

In looking at the question Can the Erupting Earth spell be cast somewhere that isn’t on “ground”? other examples of spells involving the "ground" could be useful. Or not. Which lead to the question, where does a creature – flying low over a large body of water – descend when subject to the Earthbind spell?


According to the description of Earthbind:

An airborne creature affected by this spell safely descends at 60 feet per round until it reaches the ground or the spell ends. (XGtE pg 155)


Assuming the creature began its turn 60 feet above the water and failed its Strength saving throw, would the spell end:

a) when the creature reaches the water’s surface after 1 round (in other words, is the surface of the water "ground"?), or

b) would the creature continue to descend for the remaining 9 rounds for as much as 540 feet to the earthen bottom of the body of water (see note below), or

c) would the spell fail altogether, or

d) would the creature be forced essentially sideways for the duration of the spell, towards the nearest point of land, or

e) other?


Note re being forced towards bottom of large body of water:

Given a creature with 10 Constitution, 30 ft movement, and no innate swimming speed, its movement in the ocean would be 30 ft using both its Movement and Action to "Dash" (or 20 ft in difficult terrain).

540 ft of total movement would take 18 rounds (27 rounds in difficult terrain) and the creature – assuming it can’t breathe underwater or teleport in some fashion – would be unable to hold its breath after 10 rounds and would drop to 0 hit points after the next round.


’cause if the surface of the ocean is ground, guess what might . . . erupt?

What about a DnD’s Broom of Flying used as magical quaterstaff and longbow?

In DnD some people talk about "spear bows". To exaggerate this I came up with a Broom of Flying, which can be used as a quaterstaff and a longbow—both dealing magical damage as weapons made of a magic item.

Please help to find counter arguments, even to ban spear bows from game. There must be a reason, why medieval people aquired longbows only in a case of emergency as melee weapons (esp. when carried with the string relaxed), and never put a metal sting on its ends.

Does flying while polymorphed into a flying creature count as flying by magical means for the purposes of blizzards?

Icewind Dale is a nasty place, where blizzards frequently turn the frozen wastes into an untraversable nightmare. One of the rules for blizzards included in Icewind Dale: Rime of the Frostmaiden makes flying nearly impossible:

The wind extinguishes open flames, disperses fog, erases tracks in the snow, and makes flying by nonmagical means nearly impossible. A creature falls at the end of its turn if it is flying by nonmagical means and can’t hover.

Suppose I use polymorph to change into a giant eagle. Does flying as this giant eagle count as flying by magical means?

How much weight can an Aarakocra carry when flying?

(related to Prison break with an Aarakocra)

The title pretty much says it all. Are the rules for flying creatures the same as for anyone else, using the Strength * 15 = weight in pounds formula ?


Some additional information about the Aarakocra’s own weight (from the PotA Player’s Companion):

Size. Aarakocra are about 5 feet tall. They have thin, lightweight bodies that weigh between 80 and 100 pounds. Your size is Medium.

With a Strength of 10, the Aarakocra should be able to carry 150 pounds, which is already a lot, even without flying.

Is it possible in d&d 5e to create what is essentially a floating disk powered flying machine?

Would it be possible to create a spoke like (think old cart wheels) structure with a 21 foot diameter with a small chamber in the middle for a floating disk, that will hold itself together and is light enough for the disk to hold along with a passenger? Wondering because in a campaign I play a wizard and if it is possible could use my spell slots of all levels to essentially fly, or at least hover.

What happens when you use the Telekinetic shove from Tasha’s when flying directly above your target?

The feat says that "the target must succeed on a Strength saving throw (DC 8 + your proficiency bonus + the ability modifier of the score increased by this feat) or be moved 5 feet toward or away from you."

Case 1: The Push

"But they can’t move 5 feet downward from you if they are standing on the ground," you say.

"Ah," I say. "But they can move 5 feet downward from you if they become Prone."

I would contend that this actually fits the RAW as a satisfaction of the requirement "the target must…be moved 5 feet…away from you" as going Prone is a valid form of 5 feet of movement (albeit one that doesn’t usually consume any of your Speed). But I can see someone arguing against this reading. Either way, it’s a niche enough usage that I think many DMs might choose to allow it.

Extra benefit: If you have the movement available, you could fly down and attack with advantage.

Case 2: The Pull

This is just funny. Let’s say you’re flying 15 feet off the ground (10 feet above your target). You pull the target 5 feet up with your bonus action, then hit them with an attack. I can’t think of a RAW reason this would confer advantage, unless maybe through flanking (if you have an ally who is in one of the 9 squares below your target). But I might rule it granted advantage regardless, because the target would have a hard time defending in midair.

Extra benefit: When the target falls back down, they might re-trigger certain persistent AoE spells or environmental hazards.

Thoughts? Particularly on the application of RAW to force going Prone in Case 1, or to create flanking conditions (or some other form of advantage, if you can think of one) in Case 2?

Can you send an enemy flying by dealing damage?

I seem to remember a "build" for D&D 3 or 3.5 that if you damaged an opponent, they would have to make a Strength check vs the amount of damage done or be sent flying in 5 or 10 foot increments, and if their travel was hindered by someone or an object, the character and the object would take 1d6 damage for each range increment impeded, and if the object broke due to damage, the enemy would continue flying until the increments…

I’m trying to remember this was primarily for "large" or larger creatures… But my google fu is has failed me…

It might be from a 3pp that I’m remembering, but I don’t think so… Any leads and help would be greatly appreciated!

Is it possible to escape from a wall of stone spell on the turn it is cast by flying?

The spell wall of stone allows those that might be trapped by it a chance to escape during the action in which it is ‘springing into existence’.

If a creature would be surrounded on all sides by the wall (or the wall and another solid surface), that creature can make a Dexterity saving throw. On a success, it can use its reaction to move up to its speed so that it is no longer enclosed by the wall.

Consider a caster making a wall with a roof to enclose a creature with flying movement capability.

Suppose the horizontal distance from the creature to any point outside the wall is greater than its speed so that even a successful Dex save will not allow it to escape enclosure.

Further suppose that because the wall is wider and longer than it is high, the creature is capable of moving outside the wall vertically, if it is allowed to use its flying speed.

Does "its speed" in the spell description include flying speed?

It seems common sense that if a flying creature could walk out of the area enclosed by the wall as a reaction, it could also fly out of the area, but does RAW allow this? If I understand correctly, using "speed" does not subsume all forms of speed, but means walking speed only, sensu stricto.

"Speed" (PHB) (emphasis mine)

Every character and monster has a speed, which is the distance in feet that the character or monster can walk in 1 round.

"Speed" (MM 8) (emphasis mine)

SPEED A monster’s speed tells you how far it can move on its turn. For more information on speed, see the Player’s Handbook.
All creatures have a walking speed, simply called the monster’s speed. Creatures that have no form of ground-based locomotion have a walking speed of 0 feet.
Some creatures have one or more of the following additional movement modes
FLY
A monster that has a flying speed can use all or part of its movement to fly.

If the description of the wall of stone spell allows only a creature’s speed to be used in its reaction, does "speed" mean only its walking speed since it is not otherwise specified? Although the creature has a flying speed, this is an ‘additional movement mode’ that is not designated by the spell’s permitted use of speed?

Suppose that flying speed may be used to escape the wall. The trigger for permitting the creature’s reactive movement is it being "surrounded on all sides" [sic]. If not surrounded, then, it appears that no reaction is permitted. Thus, if flying movement is permitted, does making the wall of stone appear without a roof mean that the creature is not surrounded by the wall, and thus is not permitted its reaction to attempt to escape?

Of course, without a roof the creature could then fly out on its next turn, but a lot could happen between the caster’s turn and the creature’s turn. Interestingly, if flying movement was a permitted form of reaction, the caster could then make a much smaller wall to still enclose the creature. The horizontal distance to the walls could now be made within the distance the creature could walk, and it would still not be allowed a reaction, since leaving off the roof would mean that it was not surrounded.

Is it possible to escape a roofed wall of stone on the turn it is cast by flying?
If so, can this escape be prevented by casting the wall without a roof?

Does hideous laughter make a flying foe prone and cause the foe to fall?

A witch that’s using the flight hex to fly 20 ft. up in the air fails her saving throw against my halfling bard’s hideous laughter spell. The spell says that an affected creature

collapses into gales of manic laughter, falling prone. The subject can take no actions while laughing, but is not considered helpless.

Does the witch become prone in the air? Does the phrase take no action mean the witch falls to her death, grappled and subsequently slain by her own foolishly placed black tentacles?