How can a BBEG deal with a Wall of Force and Sickening Radiance spell combo without trivializing it?

This question has already been asked in general form here, but was closed as too broad: "How to deal with broken combos?". I’m going to make an effort to make the scenario I’m asking about more specific to keep my question open.

The spell sickening radiance (XGtE, p. 164), cast just before a wall of force (through a readied action or something similar) can trap and kill many solo Big Bad Evil Guys (BBEGs), with just two casters. This combo is particularly lethal because of the levels of exhaustion the spell gives, but could work even with other persistent damage spells. Sickening radiance is a spell that creates a persistent area of effect for 10 minutes that deals radiant damage and gives exhaustion on failed saves.

The combo works like this: wall of force (WoF) caster readies their action, with the trigger "cast WoF on the BBEG when my friend casts sickening radiance (SR)". SR caster’s turn comes, and they cast SR, centered on the BBEG. WoF gets cast on the BBEG as a sphere, trapping the BBEG within the wall of force for 10 minutes while they get exhausted to death.

What actions can I, as a DM, take to make a fight with a BBEG not as trivial, while still rewarding the two spellcasters’ ingenuity?

I classify "rewarding the two spellcasters’ ingenuity" as at least forcing the BBEG to spend a limited resource to deal with the problem. So a BBEG having disintegrate is one option for what I can do, but giving the BBEG a teleport as an action (or legendary action) is not.

Am I correct to assume, that an Echo Knight can’t use Manifest Echo, to create an echo on the inside of a spherical Wall of Force?

Here once more a classical Wall of Force blender question. I understand that spells can’t go through a spherical wall of force because of full cover, but does the same actually apply to class features like the echo knights: Manifest Echo?

You can use a bonus action to magically manifest an echo of yourself in an unoccupied space you can see within 15 feet of you.

If this is by RAW possible, I see that a DM would probably rule it differently I just want to know if there is an actual rule preventing this, also for the purposes of an Echo Knight potentially escapeing a Wall of Force or simmilar prison effects.

Can you force Arcane Armor off of someone?

I’m a DM and one of my party members wants to use it to be able to walk without legs so it’s just armor carrying a body (were starting at 5th level if your wondering). I want a way to make this a disadvantage and basically render him useless for a battle or two for fun. I know it says that The armor attaches to you and can’t be removed against your will but i was wondering if there was a spell or some condition that would get rid of the magic on it or something.

Does a force field absorb hit point damage from an attack that would only deplete stamina points?

In Starfinder, personal force fields grant temporary hit points to the user and fast heal those temporary hit points every round for a finite number of rounds. My question is whether the force field provides any protection at all from an attack that would only deplete the target’s stamina points?

If the force field itself had a number of hit points that it would absorb before damage was applied to the user (like a ship’s shields), this would be a simple question–damage would be applied first to the force field and extra over that round’s allotment would be applied to the user’s stamina points and then hit points. But the description of the force field states that it grants temporary hit points to the user and if the user is a player character then they do not lose hit points (temporary or otherwise) until their stamina points are depleted. It seems to me that, rules as written, force fields do not protect stamina points, but since attacks that reduce stamina points do in fact hit the character, a force field should protect them. Am I reading the rules right or am I missing something? Has Paizo clarified this at all?

Can the Command spell force someone to answer a question in a Zone of Truth?

If you have an enemy in a Zone of Truth who failed their save, they can still choose to not answer. If a player casts Command on them with the word being "answer" would that force the creature to answer the question posed? Similarly, what if you cast the command "lie" on a creature in a Zone of Truth?

House rules for Force Fields

We are thinking about changing the rules for Force Fields in our Rogue Trader RPG as we see some problems:

  • The percentage is rather cumbersome and adds a lot of rolling dices during the combat.
  • The "complete or no" negation is an issue. With that kind of rules, a Force Field can completely negate the shots of tanks or even titans for several rounds, specially the stronger fields like the Eldar Force Field with a shield rating of 75.
  • It doesn’t really match with the fluff. Goge Vandire had himself shot and was protected only by a force field, a risk he’d probably not have taken if the Rosarius only had a 50% chance of stopping the shot.

Has anybody created house rules for those shield in order to address these issues? I’ve found a discussion in the FFG forum and there are some interesting suggestions but in the end, they all lack of the problems mentioned above.

We’ve thought about a fixed number of hit points for each shield but a member of the party is not happy about that. I therefore thought somebody here might have an idea on how to solve the issue. Suggestions from other systems using force fields are also very welcome.

How much force can the Shape Water cantrip exert?

The Shape Water cantrip never mentions the force it can produce. The only limit I can see is the line:

[…] doesn’t have enough force to cause damage.

Otherwise there is no limit to the force. Hence, I would assume that it can exert an amount of force not more than to cause damage to the object it will be interacting with.

So, by RAW as I see it, one can move water up to 5ft per casting with unlimited force as long as it isn’t causing damage. Technically this cantrip may move a massive boulder at the incredible speed of 0.254km/h (5ft/6s) with no regard to the boulder’s weight, as long as the boulder doesn’t take damage.

I understand that this is a pretty specific thing, but it would seem that this spell can be pretty useful in certain cases if it indeed works this way. Am I assuming the rules correctly?

How to force mathematica to take derivatives in a specific way?

I am attempting to take some derivatives of some Lagrange planetary equations. In this I have two types of anomaly which have derivatives that are found geometrically. I’m trying to force mathematica to use the results of these derivatives. I realize that to do this I have defined the derivatives. To get Mathematica to be happy I unprotect D before doing so. Heres my code for that:

Unprotect[D];  D[f, e] := (a/r + (\[Mu]*a)/((\[Mu]*a)^(1/2)*(1 - e^2)^(1/2))^2)*Sin[f]  Unprotect[D];  D[f, M] := (1 + e*Cos[f])^2/(1 - e^2)^(3/2) 

Okay so this is all well. When I evaluate D[f,M] or D[f,e] it seems to work correctly; however when I take the derivatives of other functions derivatives don’t follow those rules I set above. For example, I made up a simple function to check this:

In[58]:= abc [a, e, i, f, c] := e*f*Sin[f]  In[59]:= D[abc[a, e, i, f, c], e]  Out[59]= f Sin[f] 

Uh oh. So my question is how do I get mathematica to match the derivatives I want?

Thanks for all your help