I find fortitude confusing, do not know whether or not it is good, bad whatever. I did look up what fortitude is and the explanation is more than confusing. I did also look up What happens if Fortitude sinks to 0? as well as https://rpg.stackexchange.com/search?q=fortitude . The game itself seems to be dnd-inspired, at least according to the developers and the people who are talking about it. Low Magic home page.
According to some it is more preferable that I talk or ask about fortitude in D&D. I haven’t ever played a paper-and-pen rpg so don’t really know.
From what I gathered from other people is that the game uses D&D 3.5e and uses ‘evolved OGL rules’ made by wizards of coast.
The "Way of the Long Death" monk has a feature called "Undead Fortitude":
Touch of Death
Starting when you choose this tradition at 3rd level, your study of death allows you to extract vitality from another creature as it nears its demise. When you reduce a creature within 5 feet of you to 0 hit points, you gain temporary hit points equal to your Wisdom modifier + your monk level (minimum of 1 temporary hit point).
(Bold added for emphasis). How does this work when a WotLD Monk reduces a zombie to 0 hit points and the blow is shrugged off by undead fortitude?
If damage reduces the zombie to 0 hit points, it must make a Constitution saving throw with a DC of 5+the damage taken, unless the damage is radiant or from a critical hit. On a success, the zombie drops to 1 hit point instead.
I could see this working one of two ways:
A zombie takes a hit, and drops to 0 hit points. Then Undead Fortitude kicks in and on a success, the zombie comes back to 1 HP. The zombie had been reduced to 0 hp, so ToD activates.
A zombie takes a hit, and makes a roll to see whether it drops to 0 or 1 HP. On a success, it drops to 1 HP and had never dropped to 0, therefore ToD does not activate.
Is there any official ruling on this case? If not, what is a reasonable interpretation of these rules?
Undead Fortitude. If damage reduces the zombie to 0 hit points, it must make a Constitution saving throw with a DC of 5+the damage taken, unless the damage is radiant or from a critical hit. On a success, the zombie drops to 1 hit point instead.
If a zombie has 1 HP (usually from activating Undead Fortitude), can it use Undead Fortitude again?
The description states ‘drop to 1 hit point instead’, which arguably 1 HP cannot drop to 1 HP. You must have more than 1 HP to drop to 1 HP. In other video games I’ve played, a feature like this usually also requires more than 1 HP to activate (to prevent unkillable player or enemy) – to give insight on usual game design perspective.
I’m trying to understand if this is an error or is there something I’m missing?
According to the System reference document a megaraptor Fort save is +10. https://www.d20srd.org/srd/monsters/dinosaur.htm#megaraptor
As an 8 hit dice animal its base save is +6 because Fort is a Good save for it and it gains a +5 bonus on its Fort save due to its Con of 21, therefore its total Fort save bonus should be +11.
Edit: I also checked the D&D 3.5 Monster Manual errata and I notice the megaraptor is amended however nothing I can find resolves this particular issue.
The description of Drow in the SRD states:
An opponent hit by a drow’s poisoned weapon must succeed on a DC 13 Fortitude save or fall unconscious. After 1 minute, the subject must succeed on another DC 13 Fortitude save or remain unconscious for 2d4 hours.
Does the character have to make the second saving throw if they succeeded in the first save? The inclusion of the word “remains” suggests that the character was already unconscious, which suggests that this second saving throw is only required if the first one was failed.
However the rules for poisons suggest that the second saving throw is “usually” required even if the first succeeded. But it talks about additional “damage” which unconsciousness isn’t, exactly:
When a character takes damage from an attack with a poisoned weapon, touches an item smeared with contact poison, consumes poisoned food or drink, or is otherwise poisoned, he must make a Fortitude saving throw. If he fails, he takes the poison’s initial damage (usually ability damage). Even if he succeeds, he typically faces more damage 1 minute later, which he can also avoid with a successful Fortitude saving throw
If a character succeeds in their initial saving throw against Drow poison, are they still required to make another save a minute later?
I’ve created a custom undead for a campaign I’m running called a dread zombie. The idea is for it to have a bit of a “you’ve got to be kidding me” factor with how resilient the seemingly weak enemy is. In addition to giving it way more health than a typical zombie, (and a slightly less pathetic AC), I’ve added the regeneration feat to the monster similar to the one on a troll, but with 1d12+1 hit points instead of a flat ten.
Looking over it, most of what I made seems fine, but I’m not sure how having both undead resiliance and regeneration will work.
- Should the Dread Zombie immediately make the undead resiliance constitution save once its health goes to zero, or should it make the save only if it starts a round when it can’t regenerate, since regeneration says that the creature only dies if that condition is met?
- Should I tweak the regeneration ability to make it weak to radiant damage instead of fire, in order to create more synergy between the two traits?
According to Mutants & Masterminds 3e RAW would a flat Immunity to Fortitude Checks include immunity to: suffocation, thirst and starvation and sleep?
The Player insists that it does, and hopes to use it for his “Heroic Zombie Hero.”
His character is essentially the construct, but the undead revenant variant.
Player just ate some poisoned food. They passed their fortitude save. Does the character know that they just ate poison? Would they reach for a second bite?
I believe this is completely outside the realms of RAW as I don’t know of any way for a PC to gain Undead Fortitude beside homebrew,
Undead Fortitude reads:
If damage reduces the creature to 0 hit points, it must make a Constitution saving throw with a DC of 5 + the damage taken, unless the damage is radiant or from a critical hit. On a success, the creature drops to 1 hit point instead.
and Wild Shape reads
You automatically revert if you fall unconscious, drop to 0 hit points, or die.
So with these two wordings, if you drop to 0 hit points while wildshaped, and since you retain any features from your race, while wildshaped, does that mean that Undead Fortitude could prevent a wildshaped druid from turning back into its non-beast form?
It is as the title states. While the Durable feat states that you gain a minimum of double your Constitution modifier from using your Hit Dice to heal, the Dwarven Fortitude has you regain Hit Points equal to what you roll, plus your Constitution Modifier, whenever you take the Dodge Action. Since the Dwarven Fortitude feat has a more specific rule in regards to healing with Hit Dice, I was curious whether the two actually worked together properly?