What happens if a dragon gets older but doesn’t gain experience?

Chapter 3 of the Draconomicon details how, every couple years, a true dragon must take its next level in its dragon “class”. But what if the dragon just sits around, not gaining any XP, and therefore never actually gains a “next level”?

It’s said that many dragons let their natural abilities grow rather than adventuring to get experience. Do they somehow get dragon “class” levels for free via aging (like, they instantly get enough XP to advance a level but are required to put it towards being more dragony?), or will they eventually be an ancient dragon with all the statistics of a wyrmling?

Can you use Magic Initiate to gain an extra “free” cast of a level 1 spell you already know? [duplicate]

This question already has an answer here:

  • Can you use Magic Initiate to cast a spell you already know, and still learn another spell? 2 answers

If a class that already knows a level 1 spell takes the Magic Initiate feat and learns two cantrips and the same spell from a different class, does that give them a “free” 1/long rest cast of that spell in addition to the casts they could choose to use their spell slots on?

As an example, a level 4 paladin could take Magic Initiate instead of their ASI and choose Bard as the feat’s target. They learn Light (cantrip), Blade Ward (cantrip), and Cure Wounds (level 1 bard spell). They already know Cure Wounds from their own class. In theory, they should have three spell slots they can expend to cast Cure Wounds three times, and then one additional cast of Cure Wounds from the feat.

Is this correct?

Do Monsters gain Maximum HP when they gain Hit Dice?

Player Characters gain hit points each time that they level up in addition to a corresponding increase in maximum health points.

What about monsters though? If a monster gains hit-dice, does it also gain maximum hit points?

To put it differently, are hit-dice the source of maximum HP or are they simply gained alongside an increase in max-HP?

As an example, the Nabassu (as described in this question), gains hit dice when it uses its Devour Soul feature, however it’s unclear to me whether it would also gain max-HP.

Are NPCs who want to gain class levels considered multi-classed?

Consider an Apprentice Wizard from Volo’s Guide to Monsters: its spellcasting is the same as a 1st-level wizard, its skills are from the wizard list, and it’s proficient in a weapon from the wizard list. Its stat block doesn’t have arcane recovery, but that could just be because it’s not relevant to combat. Other than obviously having 2d8 instead of the full value from 1d6 for its hit points, and the lack of saving throws, it’s basically like a 1st-level wizard.

So if you had one join your party, and had it gain a level, would it gain a spell slot and an arcane tradition as a 2nd-level wizard, or would it gain two more skills and two saving throws as a 1st-level wizard?

By the same token, if you wanted to give it some martial ability by giving it a level in fighter, would it be looking at getting proficiency in all weapons/armor, two skills, and two saving throws, or would it only be looking at weapons and light/medium armor and shields (but in actuality not be able to gain fighter levels because it doesn’t meet the strength/dexterity requirement)?

What if you wanted to do both of the above, giving it a level in wizard and one in fighter? (or possibly the other way around: fighter first then wizard after, if ability score requirements only let you do that order)

When attacking with Spiritual Weapon, what can’t be seen by the attacker for me to gain advantage?

Spiritual weapon claims that you make a melee spell attack against a target adjacent to your spiritual weapon. The rules for attacking while being unseen state that if the target cannot see you, you gain advantage on your attack against them.

Does this mean that if the enemy can’t see you (such as if you were in complete darkness), but they can see your spiritual weapon, you gain advantage to attack them with the spiritual weapon bonus-action attack?

How do I gain extra feats outside of normal levelling?

I’m new to D&D and new to version 3.5 particularly.

I’m creating a character using the PHB and need to know if there are any means for getting extra feats – perhaps some items or possibly quests?

This knowledge is very crucial for building characters, as two sets (for 7 feats and for 9 feats) differ dramatically.

We are adventuring through Faerun.

The DM says that for a novice, using PHB1, PHB2, Complete Arcana, Complete Divine, Complete Warrior, Complete Adventurer and DMG1 (prestige class section only) are sufficient, but he may for his own needs draw events, rewards and so on from additional sources.

I’m planing to breed Cleric lvl1, Wizard Lvl4, Dweomerkeeper lvl 10 (we agreed with DM to override experience cheat of this class) , Archmage lvl 5.

Three of my feats go towards archmage prereqs, eschew materials, and some metamagic. For others I may get more metamagic or get SLA from Archmage and use maximize SLA on it, or get extremely useful precise shot for not hitting my own companions that are all melee.

Could a significantly powerful caster use create demiplane, permanency and astral projection to gain nigh-immortality?

A scenario for a villain I came up with at one point was an insanely powerful mage who keeps her real body in a demiplane with the timeless trait. In order to beat the heroes she only sends astral projections of herself and since she’s so strong no amount of killing astral projections will stop her. The only way to beat her would be to find the coordinates to her demiplane and kill her there on her own terms. Ignoring whether or not this would be fun, since making an op nigh immortal caster as the BBEG would be difficult to pull off without becoming extremely obnoxious, would it even be remotely possible in Pathfinder lore? I mean could an NPC be even powerful enough to negate the repercussions of having an astral projection destroyed multiple times? Assuming they are not a god or similar being. I can figure out the exact details after I’ve confirmed it’s even possible.

Does a familiar gain the added damage of hex when delivering an attack on the owner’s behalf?

Per the rules of Find Familiar:

Finally, when you cast a spell with a range of touch, your familiar can deliver the spell as if it had cast the spell. Your familiar must be within 100 feet of you, and it must use its reaction to deliver the spell when you cast it. If the spell requires an attack roll, you use your attack modifier for the roll.

But what if the familiar’s owner also cast Hex on the target?

The description for Hex states:

Until the spell ends, you deal an extra 1d6 necrotic damage to the target whenever you hit it with an attack.

Would the attack from the familiar’s touch also include Hex damage?

While Hex state it happens with “you hit it with an attack”, the “hit it” is the familiar’s touch. But by the same token, Find Familiar says that “If the spell requires an attack roll, you use your attack modifier for the roll.” So the “hit it” is based on the caster’s abilities, not the familiars.

So when a familiar does the dirty work, who exactly is “hitting it” and can it include Hex damage?