Does a ghost gain a familiar if it uses a Ring of Spell Storing + Find Familiar?

A ghost takes possession of a humanoid. Humanoid possesses a Ring of Spell Storing. The ghost uses the Ring of Spell Storing that contains at least one Find Familiar spell. The ghost-humanoid combination now has a familiar (congratulations)!

Ghost leaves / ends possession / then goes to the Border Etherial, as per RAW

Who does the familiar follow? Does it stay with the physical humanoid / ring combo-duo or does it go with the ghost that first leaves the body and then goes off to another plane of existence?

Does the host or guest own a Familiar cast via a possessing ghost?

Grundy the Grumpy Ghost a (formerly) chaotic evil 1st level wizard makes use of the nearby ritual spell Find Familiar carved in a stone wall. As a ghost he cannot cast such spells, so he takes control of three (3) different lawful and good hosts at different times. Through them he summons three ‘celestial’ familiars for: Anna the Adamant (‘A’), Barnie the Brave (‘B’), and, Cynthia the Cleric (‘C’). There are plenty of material components nearby and somehow they all suck at saving throws.

He casts this spell from each host. After the first three casts, ‘A’ dies and is brought back via miraculous magicks (revivification, raised, resurrected &/or reincarnated probably cast by C, who is a cleric) – so G re-possesses and recasts Find Familiar on ‘A’ again. B’s familiar is slain, so G re-possesses and re-casts with that host, ‘B’, as well. C, not trusting G in the least, has her familiar magically Banished – so G re-possesses and re-casts Find Familiar with ‘C’ as well.


Question: Who Gets A Familiar Through A Host-Ghost?


  1. The caster gets it, and the caster is obviously the spirit or ghost. As such ALL of the summoned familiars are just the same poor celestial familiar returning-respawning each and every time. Each casting simply re-summons the same tired spirit over and over again.

  2. A ghost leaving the body no longer has claim to any familiar. As each ‘host’ comes complete with a body and soul – the celestial familiar must bond with the original body-soul combo, the one that did the physical ritual (with the physical material components). The physical aspects and components of the spell determine which physically living body the familiar binds to.

  3. When any ghost or spirit leaves a body, it is similar to a ‘death’ of sorts. The fact that there is still a spirit in there (the spirit of the original host-body) doesn’t matter – any claim or bond is LOST in the process of the ghost’s leaving the host-home. The familiar WAS bound to the ghost (with a living body) upon casting, sure – but when the ghost leaves the celestial-familiar is as FREE to do whatever it wants.

  4. Assume the familiar bonds with Target A. When ‘A’ dies, the familiar is just fine and a FREE agent. Resurrecting ‘A’ does NOT restore the familiar bond (‘not in spell description’)! On recasting the spell must find a brand-new familiar for A. A and the original A-familiar will recognize one another but never be bound ever again (short of a ‘Wish’ spell). Contrast this with ‘B’ when the B-familiar dies (or is slain) – the returning ghost-spirit is effectively an entirely new casting. A ‘new’, original and entirely different celestial familiar may show up, pending where the old one is now bound.

  5. Banishing a familiar logically breaks bonds! C may get an entirely new celestial familiar – or perhaps the original (now bitter & upset) C-familiar.

  6. Familiars are sentient spirits and independent creatures and therefore have choice and freewill. When effectively summoned by a combo ghost-host team, the familiar gets to CHOOSE who they want to serve. A celestial would therefore pick the hosts (‘lawful good’) and not the ghost (‘who is bad’). Or they may simply choose to be free. Or perhaps choose to ‘die’ and return to their plane of existence.

  7. The caster gets to choose the alignment of the familiar. As such, these familiars are all ‘celestial’ yet chaotic evil. Thus they would try to bond with or choose the ghost-caster. But since the caster has cast this through three different hosts, there are three different familiars all bound to the same ghost.


The above ‘rulings’ painfully contradict one another and do not qualify as ‘answers’. I must be wrong on many levels and would like to know what is really going on with the Find Familiar spell and G’s ritual casting six times on three hosts (A, B & C respectively).


Repeat of Question: A ghost possesses a number of persons and casts the ritual spell Find Familiar through them. To whom do the newly minted familiar(s?) ‘bond’ to &/or stay with – or not?

Thank you in advance.

Can a ghost possess someone in the material plane while in the ethereal plane?

The possession ability of a ghost (DnD 5e) states that it can possess one humaniod it can see within 5ft.

I interpreted that a ghost could use its possession ability from the etherial plane itself, since the ghost is visible on the material when in the etherial plane and as such can see the creature. Like this it is possible for the ghost to come up to a humanoid without being able to be hit and possess the creature unhindered.

If the ghost gets shunted out I rule that it ends up in the material plane as the ghost has to enter the body of the creature (who is in the material) while possessing.

However, one of my players mentioned that it is an action for a ghost to change from the material to the etherial and vice versa. He then argued that the ghost should enter the material plane first as an action first before having to spend another action on the next turn to attempt to possess a humanoid.

I can’t really find anything specific that tells that one or the other is true. Obviously the former method is more powerful and while I don’t want to be unfair to my players, I think it is also a whole lot more interesting.

In Ghost Ops what happens when Armour Level equals Penetration Level exactly?

I have the original version of Ghost Ops (which uses Fudge dice), not the Savage Worlds version or the OSR version. This question is about that original version, but if you think the rules in one of the other versions can throw some light on this, please chip in. I’m hoping there is clarification for this question in one of the expansions, or in an updated version of the pdf (I only have a print copy). I’ve failed to find any errata on the internet.

On page 108 of the core rulebook, it says this about Armour:

If the Armour Level is less than the Penetration Level of the bullet then no armour is rolled as the bullet has ignored it. If the Penetration Level is less than the armour level then that amount of armour is ignored.

So…

  • If a Penetration Level 3 bullet hits Armour 2, then no armour roll and the bullet does full damage.

  • If a Penetration Level 1 bullet hits Armour 2, then the armour becomes 2 -1 = 1. And then an armour roll is made to see how much the armour reduces the damage.

What happens when a Penetration Level 2 bullet hits Armour 2?

In Ghost Ops do NPCs get free attacks only on total Bullet Time failure or also on partial failure?

I have the original version of Ghost Ops (which uses Fudge dice), not the Savage Worlds version or the OSR version. This question is about that original version, but if you think the rules in one of the other versions can throw some light on this, please chip in.

On page 132 of the core rulebook there is an example of a failed Bullet Time action. The PC was attempting to shoot 3 NPCs in the head, and needed an 8 but only got a 6.

The book then has some more rules:

The Handler can decide that the Operator succeeded in some of the attempt. Maybe they barged the door and managed to get 2 of the attempted headshots off but missed the third. Failing a Bullet Time event places the Operator as prone for 1 round, allowing any Tangos free attacks. Deciding to attempt Bullet Time is risky but can be ultimately rewarding.

So, if the GM has said the failed roll can be partial success (hit 2 of the NPCs) and partial failure (miss the 3rd NPC), which of these applies?

  1. It still counts as a normal fail – the PC is prone and subject to a free attack by all three NPCs (assuming the two he shot aren’t dead or disabled).
  2. It still counts as a ‘reduced’ fail – the PC is prone but only the third NPC, who was not hit, gets a free attack.
  3. It counts as a success – the PC is not prone and the NPC/s don’t get free attacks.
  4. The GM decides on a case by case basis.

I’m hoping there is clarification for this question in one of the expansions, or in an updated version of the pdf (I only have a print copy). I’ve failed to find any errata on the internet.

Can a ghost enter a Resilient Sphere?

The spell Otiluke’s Resilient Sphere says that nothing can pass through it. The spell Wall of Force says that too, but it also says that the spell extends into the Ethereal Plane, preventing ethereal travel. From this, my understanding is that a ghost could move through the sphere but wouldn’t be able to damage the creature inside by using it’s Etherealness action to move to the Ethereal Plane, then moving to overlap the creature, then using Etherealness to return. Is this correct? Or does something stop the ghost from returning to the Material Plane?

Can a Ghost use feats that have a strength score as a prerequisite?

A Ghost has a strength score, but it can only use physical force as long as it is on the ethereal plane. When a Ghost uses its manifestation ability, “it partly enters the Material Plane and becomes visible but incorporeal on the Material Plane.”

As an incorporeal creature it uses its dex modifier on attack rolls instead of its strength modifier, because, like other incorporeal creatures (Spectres, Wraiths, etc), a manifested Ghost has no strength score (or cannot make use of it) when dealing with corporeal creatures.

What does this mean regarding feats that have a strength score as a prerequisite like power attack or cleave? Can a manifested Ghost still use them?

– And (by the way): is there any way (by feats ore magic items), a manifested Ghost can make use of its strength on attack and damage?


Background: I am currently preparing a little scenario with a knight who turned into a ghost long ago but still dutifully defends his castle. I do not want to him to moan, make touch attacks or gaze but rather fight like the old style chevalier he used to be (and still thinks, he is). I equipped him with a ghost touch weapon, so that his attacks vs corporeal creatures do not have a chance to fail. But, seemingly, becoming a Ghost has some disadvantages for someone who used to rely on strength a lot …

Can a ghost (undead creature) take over a clone body (resultant component from spell)?

Lore wise, ghosts (and demons) have nifty powers of ownership & possession – and this is often a nifty game mechanic. In fiction-fantasy they take over the most ridiculous things from cars, to people or even entire houses – going out and about wherever they like. Its just fun.

This tradition is continued in 5e. The ghost continues to have this mechanic, at least on humanoids (no mention if dragons, giants or other sentient beings have ghosts, but i digress). Demons also have mention of this in their description (monster manual) and they can take over objects – though the actual mechanic for how a DM should run this, or how & / or who they can then take over, is not mechanically developed (please correct me if i am wrong on this – such rules or rulings would TOTALLY ROCK).

This brings us to the question (above): when clone spell is cast / matures / 120 days, they get a perfect (albeit scar-free and possibly much younger) humanoid-version of the cubic-inch of flesh humanoid target-component. Groovy! When this OriginalOwner of that said cubic-inch-flesh-person ‘DIES’ (zero h.p.? chooses to leave? not turned to undead?), their soul (&/or spirit?) leaves their body and just goes over (astral? as a ghost? etherial? teleports? warp factor ten? speed force?) to their BodyPrime / Clone location. Wakes up (full hit points? all spells? remembers their death? PTSD?) and is ready to take on the world. Easy!

Assuming that this 120 day+ Clone body is Primed & Ready For Action, why can’t a passing ghost (or demon actually) just, you know, take over for a bit? Or why not forever? Why leave if / when knocked out (‘zero hit points’) – as there is no ‘imprint’ from the original host-flesh-bit’s spirit-soul-essence? Why can’t a wizard (or bard or Nagpa or powerful dragon caster… or whatever) just go into full-on business pumping out bodies of Brad Pitt when he was so sexy… or any actress named ‘Jennifer’ for that matter… or virtually anyone it can get a cube of flesh from whilst adding Gentle Repose style magic?

SO MANY CAMPAIGN IDEAS!!!

But wait a moment! How much of this is actually RAW? Luckily we have the Good Lads (and Ladies) from StackExchange to tell me what’s what. Here the good folks tell me that i have had way too many magical mushrooms.

In Short How do ghosts (&/or any alien spirit such as a demon) interface with a mature 120 day+ clone body? Can they take it over temporarily? To what extent could / would this function as a Home Body for that creature?

Honestly, this would be fun. One can imagine an entire D&D version of Altered Carbon… but we must respect the 5e RAW. Just what is that exactly?

Also: i get that this question is poorly written (‘entertaining but not concise’). I will gladly modify this in order to meet the stoic (dour? terse?) restraints required by the StackExchange Mod-Editorial community! = )

What can protect a character from being possessed by a Ghost in the first place?

What can protect a character from being possessed by a Ghost?

What spells, class abilities, feats or magical items could stop a Ghost from possessing a character? i.e. before the Ghost can attempt to possess a character and force a Cha DC 13 saving throw.

Possession (Recharge 6). One humanoid that the ghost can see within 5 feet of it must succeed on a DC 13 Charisma saving throw or be possessed by the ghost; the ghost then disappears, and the target is incapacitated and loses control of its body. The ghost now controls the body but doesn’t deprive the target of awareness. The ghost can’t be targeted by any attack, spell, or other effect, except ones that turn undead, and it retains its alignment, Intelligence, Wisdom, Charisma, and immunity to being charmed and frightened. It otherwise uses the possessed target’s statistics, but doesn’t gain access to the target’s knowledge, class features, or proficiencies.

The possession lasts until the body drops to 0 hit points, the ghost ends it as a bonus action, or the ghost is turned or forced out by an effect like the dispel evil and good spell. When the possession ends, the ghost reappears in an unoccupied space within 5 feet of the body. The target is immune to this ghost’s Possession for 24 hours after succeeding on the saving throw or after the possession ends.

(MM p.147)

The obvious I can think of is a Cleric’s Turn Undead ability. Or using a spell like Magic Circle or waiting it out in Leomund’s Tiny Hut.

[ Movies ] Open Question : Looking for the name of a movie, it was a ghost movie of some kind.?

I think it had like Nicole Kidman, Gwyneth Paltrow or someone like that in it. The main woman went to a an old house or orphange somewhere that is haunted. The last few minutes of the movie have her running around the house playing with the ghost children It came out probably about 10 years ago, I keep thinking it is “The Orphanage” but it is not that movie although it was a very similar plot.