How should rests be handled inside the Tomb of of the Nine Gods?

I’m running Tomb of Annihilation and my players have finally arrived at the Tomb of the Nine Gods. As they have been deciding when it is safe to take short rests, I’ve been rolling for random encounters, only to realize that there don’t seem to be random encounters inside the tomb.

This appears to give a lot of leeway to the DM regarding how often to allow short and long rests. A generous DM could allow a short rest after nearly every major encounter, while a sadistic DM could interrupt the party’s long rests, not let them recover spells and other long rest refreshing abilities, and maybe add levels of exhaustion to boot (for lack of sleep).

The only guidance I can find in the adventure is the following:

Arguably, it is always up to the DM how to manage rests, but many published modules use randomization as a way to balance between cakewalk and death trap. How should the be handled inside the Tomb of the Nine Gods?

What is your spell attack modifier when casting a spell from the Helm of the Gods?

The Helm of the Gods is a magic item that, among other benefits, lets you select a spell from a list and cast it a few times a day. Unlike other items that do similar things, the Helm does not specify a spell attack modifier, and does not require attunement by a spellcaster (meaning you can’t just default to your normal spell attack). Is there anything stating what, if anything, you’re meant to add to the roll when casting spells from the Helm?

Whenever you finish a long rest while wearing the helm, you can pray to one of the gods listed on the Helm of the Gods table and store the listed spell in the helm, replacing any spell that is already stored there. The save DC for the spell is 13. (Mythic Odysseys of Theros, page 196).

Which Good Forgotten Realms gods accept the use of necromancy?

I just started learning D&D and my Dwarven Healer (Cleric of the Revered mother) has to pick from among a list of spells. These include necromantic spells, such as Inflict Wounds, which I don’t intend to pick.

However, I noticed D&D does not have any kind of “evil” tag for spells. Furthermore the Player’s Handbook states necromancy is not evil, though taboo in many societies.

So I ask myself, which Lawful Good gods would allow their servants to use necromancy for a noble end? Such as raising noble comrades with their prior consent, to crush an ork army. Which (neutral or chaotic) Good gods would?

The Question gains further urgency by the fact, that I will automatically learn the spell “Raise Dead” at level 9 as a Life Domain Spell!

In Forgotten Realms lore, can gods use spells above 9th level?

After Karsus’s folly, Mystra imposed a ban on use of magic above 9th level (I believe there are specific conditions for 10th level spells, but that’s not the main issue here). However, I believe the specific mentions of Mystra’s Ban have unclear wording:

In the aftermath of Netheril’s fall, however, Mystra banned certain high-level spells that she deemed too powerful for mortals to wield responsibly. Thus, current-day spellcasters no longer have access to true spells of 10th level and higher. Instead, access to epic magic comes via two feats—Improved Spellcasting Capacity and Epic Spellcasting—that function in very different ways.

(p43, Lost Empires of Faerun)

When Mystryl reincarnated herself—this time as Mystra—she used the form of a beautiful peasant girl learning the basics of cantra magic but with the capacities for archwizardry. Her first priority was to recreate the weave of magic. This time, she made magic follow a few more rules, and no spell above 10th level would function.

(p12, Netheril: Empire of Magic)

The second text seems to imply that the weave doesn’t allow for spells above 10th level. Which means that the gods, if they use the weave, couldn’t either. The first one, however, says that this ban is due to mortals not being responsible enough to use those spells. So perhaps the gods, who haven’t shown such irresponsibility, can use them?

I fear that other source material isn’t particularly optimistic. The Deities & Demigods book for 3e doesn’t mention the use of spells above 9th level.

Does an entity speaking the god’s language understand every language?

I can’t remember exactly the name, but I heard of a language used by gods, wich is understandable by every sentient being. It directly form the concept in the auditor’s mind (thus, you can adress everybody at the same time, even if they’re from different origins/species/etc).

It can not be learned and is reserved to superior entity to communicate with mortals (so it’s probably not the Celestial)


Now, let’s say for story’s sake, that a mortal does know it (for GM-ing reasons). Does the ability to speak God’s language grant him the ability to understand other sentients beings, speaking differents language?

First, I would say no, as the mortal doesn’t know other languages. But how do gods understand their followers in that case? Heavy use of “Comprehend Languages” spell?

Do the War Domain cleric’s Channel Divinity options Guided Strike and War God’s Blessing stack?

The War Domain cleric has the Channel Divinity option Guided Strike (PHB, p. 63):

Starting at 2nd level, you can use your Channel Divinity to strike with supernatural accuracy. When you make an attack roll, you can use your Channel Divinity to gain a +10 bonus to the roll. You make this choice after you see the roll, but before the DM says whether the attack hits or misses.

The Channel Divinity option War God’s Blessing allows an identical benefit to extend to another creatures:

At 6th level, when a creature within 30 feet of you makes an attack roll, you can use your reaction to grant that creature a +10 bonus to the roll, using your Channel Divinity. You make this choice after you see the roll, but before the DM says whether the attack hits or misses.

If two War Domain clerics were in the same party, and one uses Guided Strike to add +10 to their attack roll, could the other War Domain cleric use War God’s Blessing to add a further +10 to that attack roll?

Or would they not stack, as they are the same source (i.e. a War Domain cleric’s Channel Divinity)?

Does Word of Recall work with Temple of the Gods?

The word of recall spell (PHB, p. 289) says:

You must designate a sanctuary by casting this spell within a location, such as a temple, dedicated to or strongly linked to your deity. If you attempt to cast the spell in this manner in an area that isn’t dedicated to your deity, the spell has no effect.

The temple of the gods spell (XGtE, p. 167) says:

You cause a temple to shimmer into existence on ground you can see within range. […] The temple remains until the spell ends [which is 24 hours]. It is dedicated to whatever god, pantheon or philosophy is represented by the holy symbol used in the casting.

[…]

Casting this spell on the same spot every day for a year makes this effect permanent.

My plan is, cast temple of the gods (it takes one hour to cast, but it’s 24 hour countdown won’t come into effect until after I’ve finished casting the spell), then cast word of recall (takes only one action) within the temple. That’s my 6th and 7th level spell slots gone (I’m currently 14th level, so that’s all I’ve got above 5th).

Then long rest, probably within the temple (so that’s 8 hours of the 24 hours that the temple will exist for), then go on a dangerous mission. So long as the mission doesn’t take more than ~16 hours (or it becomes clear after 16 hours that it’s no longer dangerous), then I should be able to cast word of recall (assuming I reserve either my 6th or 7th level slot for it) to get my and my party out of there if anything goes horribly wrong.

Is there a flaw in my plan? Is there something about temple of the gods that means it wouldn’t be a valid target for word of recall?

I included the part of the temples of the gods quote about casting it every day for a year to make the temple permanent, since I wondered if the temporary nature of a temple I just conjured into existence that will only remain there for 24 hours would somehow interfere with word of recall, but I’m hoping that a temple, no matter how temporary or how it came into being, is still a temple as far as word of recall is concerned…