Eldritch Smite: Can you decide whether the enemy goes prone or do they always go prone?


Once per turn when you hit a creature with your pact weapon, you can expend a warlock spell slot to deal an extra 1d8 force damage to the target, plus another 1d8 per level of the spell slot, and you can knock the target prone if it is Huge or smaller.

Since it says "can knock the target prone." I assumed it was optional, (though you wouldn’t have much reason not to if in melee, within 5 ft.)

If an NPC and a PC roll identical initiative who goes first?

Normally, when 2 players roll identical initiative in combat, they decide between themselves the order they do things in and then stick to that on subsequent rounds.

How should the DM handle it if the NPC rolls the same initiative, especially if they are in combat directly with the player who rolled the identical initiative?

If rolling bulk initiative for a group of NPCs, how should identical rolls with players be handled here? It feels like a lot can swing on whether the GM chooses for the group of NPCs to attack the player before he can decide his action.

Prime Domain Name Registered in 2000 Goes on Sale! Extensive Aged Backlinks and Search Rankings

Why are you selling this site? busy with other projects

How is it monetized? Google Adsense ads and affiliate marketing links

Does this site come with any social media accounts? yes, Facebook, Twitter and Instagram accounts available – contact for details

How much time does this site take to run? varies, depending on frequency of new content being added

What challenges are there with running this site? none

– Very valuable 8 character dot-com

-…

Prime Domain Name Registered in 2000 Goes on Sale! Extensive Aged Backlinks and Search Rankings

Create a list of plots of sin(xt), where x goes from 0 to 10 and t goes from 1 to 6

I would like to create a table like the one shown below in mathematica: enter image description here

Here is the code i wrote:

enter image description here

I was wondering if there is more efficient way to writing the code where i don’t have to type out individual sin(xt) for each value of x and t.

This is a modified version of the question that is in the book "Hands-on Start to Wolfram Mathematica and Programming with the Wolfram Language, Second Edition". If anyone has the pdf solutions to the all exercises in the book, would you be able to send it to me?

Thanking you in advance

Award-Winning Literary Portal Running Since 1999 Goes on Sale!

Why are you selling this site? Focus on other activities, so allow someone else to benefit from it.

How is it monetized? Google Adsense and affiliate program links.

Does this site come with any social media accounts? Yes.

How much time does this site take to run? 10 hours a week.

What challenges are there with running this site? Updating it.

Age of site: Founded in 1999 with the name/brand LitLinks. Switched to…

Award-Winning Literary Portal Running Since 1999 Goes on Sale!

Who goes to the Nine Hells?

The Nine Hells (or Baator) is the Lawful Evil outer plane, and the home plane of devils. It is a plane of eternal punishment for the wicked.

Which souls go there in the afterlife?

I can think that the answer may or may not include some/all of the following:

  • Mortals who have made devilish deals to give up their soul
  • Lawful Evil mortals who have made no devilish deal
  • Evil (but not Lawful) mortals who have made no devilish deal

I’m looking for what the answer is in 5e – but if there isn’t sufficient detail in that edition materials from earlier editions which are not directly contradicted in 5e would provide good basis for an answer.

If you cast a spell with a focus component and a long duration, does it end if the focus component goes missing?

I can’t seem to find a good example outside of 3rd party materials right now and pending GM or Dev input I figured I’d ask here. The example I’m specifically looking at is a spell with a 24 hour duration that uses a focus component that is an armlet worth at least 25g. If that armlet were removed for some reason (stolen, confiscated, handed to someone else, etc) would the spell duration end at that point or is the focus component only needed for the initial casting? If it were a Concentration spell I could see it needing to stick around, but IDK otherwise. Anyone have any official rulings on this?

Confusion with “every path from a given node to any of the leaves goes through the same number of black nodes” property of RB trees

One of the properties of Red Black trees is: “every path from a given node/vertex to any of the leaves goes through the same number of black nodes”

Two related questions about this property:

1) is the vertex we start at counted in this black vertex count?

2) is the leaf we end at counted in the black vertex count?

I have a secret theory about both of these questions, but am hoping for confirmation and so shalt not yet reveal it.