Should a Bugbear PC take damage when holding an enemy on the other side of a Wall of Fire with Grapple?

Bugbears have long arms, allowing them to grapple enemies 10 ft. away.

The Bugbear’s square is not in the effect range of the Wall of Fire. However, about 5 ft. worth of one of the Bugbear’s hands is supposedly in a square that is.

Mechanically, should the Bugbear take damage? If so, simulationally, how do we reconcile that such a small fraction of the player being in the square and taking just as much damage as a character residing fully in the area of effect?

What happens if DM wouldn’t count Grapple and Shove as “an attack”?

This is how Player’s Handbook (p. 194) describes what counts as an attack:

If there’s ever any question whether something you’re doing counts as an attack, the rule is simple: if you’re making an attack roll, you’re making an attack

There are ambiguous exceptions from this rule though — so-called "special attacks", Grapple and Shove in particular.

This raises additional questions, like Does grappling count as a hit? As a DM, for the sake of clarity and consistency I want to call Grapple just "an action" or "a contest", not "special melee attack". So instead of

you can use the Attack action to make a special melee attack, a grapple

the text of the house rule will be

you can use the Attack action to make an action in combat, a grapple

So does for Shove. This is also consistent with the PHB "Contests in Combat" (emphasis mine):

Battle often involves pitting your prowess against that of your foe. Such a challenge is represented by a contest. This section includes the most common contests that require an action in combat: grappling and shoving a creature. The DM can use these contests as models for improvising others.

So the lowercase "attack" is changed to "action" or "contest". For instance, the next passage in the Grappling description will be "If you’re able to make multiple attacks with the Attack action, this contest replaces one of them". The rest of the rules remains unchanged.

In terms of game mechanics, what consequenses/repercussions this change will have?

Does the Hunter Ranger’s Giant Killer allow you to grapple or shove with the reaction?

The Hunter Ranger’s Giant Killer feature says:

When a Large or larger creature within 5 feet of you hits or misses you with an attack, you can use your reaction to attack that creature immediately after its attack, provided that you can see the creature.

Since it says "you can use your reaction to attack that creature" without specifying that it has to be a melee weapon attack, could you instead use "special melee attacks" like grapples or shoves for this reaction?

Can you escape a grapple during a time stop (without teleporting or similar effects)?

Some context: during our last game a hidden creature charged and grappled (with improved grab) one of the PCs (a 20th-level Sha-ir/Cleric/Dweomerkeeper) during the surprise round. After that this same PC won initiative and the first thing he did was casting time stop. We decided to stop the game there for several reasons, it was already time, one other player had already left and this was an important encounter he didn’t want to miss, and I wasn’t really sure how to rule this situation yet.

So regarding the question itself, say you’re in a grapple with another creature, and during your turn you cast time stop (since it only has verbal components you can cast it while grappling with a DC 29 Concentration check), but you’re inside the area of a forbiddance spell, so you can’t just teleport out.

Could you escape the grapple while time is stopped using the normal method (by making a grapple or escapism check)? I’m guessing that since the opponent can’t move or be moved he can’t make a grapple check either so you can’t even try the opposed check.

Would casting freedom of movement be of any help at all? You automatically succeed on the grapple check to free yourself, but I don’t think you can make that check to begin with.

What other methods could you use to escape before the time stop ends?

Does improved grapple count in determinig the CMB when casting while grappled

I’ve always stayed away from grapple & overrun rules, but, this time, i can’t ignore it.

The rules says that

A grappled character who attempts to cast a spell or use a spell-like ability must make a concentration check (DC 10 + grappler’s CMB + spell level, see Concentration)

so does the feat, special abilities, objects granting bonus on the grapple check count against the DC of concentration?

Does the bonus like flanking count?

Can a Way of the Astral Self monk grapple with its Arms of the Astral Self?

In the Unearthed Arcana version of the Way of the Astral Self, the monk’s Astral Arms were treated as monk weapons.

Under that wording, the monk probably couldn’t grapple/shove with them because weapon reach and the reach of the character’s hand that could make the grapple/shove are different things.

That is, it’s hard to see how you could grapple with the end of a polearm, for example (through a lenient DM might allow a shove).

However, in the official release, the wording was changed then from monk weapons to unarmed strikes:

  • You can use the spectral arms to make unarmed strikes.

  • When you make an unarmed strike with the arms on your turn, your reach for it is 5 feet greater than normal.

Under this revised wording, it seems like the monk could grapple/shove with its Astral Arms.

But can it?

Is escaping a grapple an action or an attack action?


Grappling

When you want to grab a creature or wrestle with it, you can use the Attack action to make a special melee attack, a grapple. If you’re able to make multiple attacks with the Attack action, this attack replaces one of them. The target of your grapple must be no more than one size larger than you, and it must be within your reach.

Using at least one free hand, you try to seize the target by making a grapple check, a Strength (Athletics) check contested by the target’s Strength (Athletics) or Dexterity (Acrobatics) check (the target chooses the ability to use). If you succeed, you subject the target to the grappled condition (see appendix A). The condition specifies the things that end it, and you can release the target whenever you like (no action required).

Escaping a Grapple.

A grappled creature can use its action to escape. To do so, it must succeed on a Strength (Athletics) or Dexterity (Acrobatics) check contested by your Strength (Athletics) check.

Moving a Grappled Creature.

When you move, you can drag or carry the grappled creature with you, but your speed is halved, unless the creature is two or more sizes smaller than you.

Is escaping a grapple a single attack (part of the attack action) or a separate action?

It says very clearly that while attacking, if a player can grapple someone with an attack action, and if they have multiple attacks with the Attack action, this [grappling] attack replaces one of them. Shouldn’t it be the case that escaping a grapple could also be one of those "multiple attacks?" I can’t see the distinction with ruling it otherwise.

Spell which causes grapple

Let me start by pointing out that I’m new to Pathfinder. I’ve played some Dnd and now our DM is migrating our campaing to PF2e.

I’m planning to build a new character, some necromancer of sorts, and I would very much like for it to have a specific spell.

I’m trying to find a spell (up to lvl 6) which grapples the target. I’m aware of the Strangling Hair lvl 3 spell, and it is quite similar to what I want, but I wanted something that had an area of effect instead of just targeting one creature. My goal is to have something to lock several weak foes into place, so I wouldn’t mind if it is ineffective against strong enemies.

If AoE is not possible, then I would like at least something stronger than Strangling Hair in terms of damage. I also would like to depict the spell as skelleton arms sprouting from the ground and holding the enemies into place, so it is a plus if the spell is somehow connected to this.

As @HeyICanChan pointed out, Strangling Hair is a Pathfinder spell, and not a Pathfinder 2e one. This wouldn’t be a deal-breaker, since our GM is pretty flexible, but I’d rather have something actually from Pathfinder 2e.

Does grapple end the Invisibility spell for the grappler?

I was looking through the Sage Advice Compendium when I noticed this:

When you make a Strength (Athletics) check to grapple or shove someone, are you making an attack roll?

Again, the answer is no. That check is an ability check, so game effects tied to attack rolls don’t apply to it. Going back to an earlier question, the hex spell could be used to diminish a grappler’s effectiveness. And if the grappler’s target is under the effect of the Dodge action, that action doesn’t inhibit the grapple, since Dodge doesn’t affect ability checks.

I had always played that the 2nd-level invisibility spell would end on a grapple, since it counts as an attack, but this seemed to suggest otherwise.

I researched this a bit and found a tweet by Jeremy Crawford from December 2015, which seemed to suggest that it was indeed an attack roll:

Grappling/shoving an enemy does end the sanctuary spell on you, since you have made an attack.

My best guess is that you must take the Attack action to perform an ability check, as grappling in the PHB is called a “special melee attack” (PHB p. 195), although that doesn’t make a huge amount of sense:

[…] you can use the Attack action to make a special melee attack, a grapple. […]

Do these two answers by Crawford contradict each other? And should the invisibility spell end when a grapple is attempted?

The description for the invisibility spell says:

A creature you touch becomes invisible until the spell ends. Anything the target is wearing or carrying is invisible as long as it is on the target’s person. The spell ends for a target that attacks or casts a spell.

Does Grapple / Constrict apply other Attack Effects?

Reefclaws have 2 Claws +2 (1d4 + Grab + Poison) as their melee attack. They also have Constrict (1d4) as a Special Attack

If a Reefclaw succesfully grapples an opponent, decides to maintain the grapple in its next round and takes the "inflict damage" option following the succesful maintain, damage should go like this:

Successful Grapple: 1d4 Constrict Damage

Inflict Damage: 1d4 (because thats the damage of its natural attack)

Will the poison effect be applied?