Does Improved Grab pull in the grappled regardless of weight?

Reviewing the choker I noticed the default strength is only 16. It caused me to wonder if an improved grab can pull a creature up in the air even if the strength does not have enough to carry (envision either a very heavy character or a magically strength reduced choker if you need to).

Improved grab itself seems silent on the issue, though it does mention weight when talking about moving the creature being grabbed which makes me suspect it would be limited:

It can even move (possibly carrying away the opponent), provided it can drag the opponent’s weight.

Does moving a grappled foe through someone’s threatened area trigger an attack of opportunity?

If one has grappled a foe, and then succeeds on a check to maintain it, one of the options is:

You can move both yourself and your target up to half your speed. At the end of your movement, you can place your target in any square adjacent to you. If you attempt to place your foe in a hazardous location, such as in a wall of fire or over a pit, the target receives a free attempt to break your grapple with a +4 bonus.

The attack of opportunity (AoO) rules state that:

Moving out of a threatened square usually provokes attacks of opportunity from threatening opponents. There are two common methods of avoiding such an attack—the 5-foot step and the withdraw action.

  1. Does being moved out of a threatened square by someone else (in general, or while grappled) triggers an AoO?
  2. If it does, would that trigger the "if you attempt to to place your foe in a hazardous location" clause?

How far can you drag a grappled, heavy opponent?

A mostly theoretical rules question. Assume a Medium creature (“Grappler”) has grappled another Medium creature (“Heavyweight”). For unimportant reasons, Heavyweight is very heavy- heavier than Grappler’s carry capacity, but not so heavy as to exceed Grappler’s push/drag/lift capacity.

The rules for moving a grappled opponent (PHB p.195) state:

When you move, you can drag or carry the grappled creature with you, but your speed is halved, unless the creature is two or more sizes smaller than you.

The rules for dragging a weight (PHB p.175) state

You can push, drag, or lift a weight in pounds up to twice your carrying capacity (or 30 times your Strength score). While pushing or dragging weight in excess of your carrying capacity, your speed drops to 5 feet.

If Grappler were to attempt to drag Heavyweight, in what order should these rules be adjudicated to determine how far Grappler could move?

Does the grappled creature have to be the one that is moved in order to force the grapple to end, or can the grappler be the one that is moved? [duplicate]

The description of the grappled condition reads, in part:

The condition also ends if an effect removes the grappled creature from the reach of the grappler or grappling effect, such as when a creature is hurled away by the thunderwave spell.

For the grappled condition to end, does the grappled creature have to be the one that is moved, or can the grappling creature be the one that is moved?

For example, could a College of Swords bard’s Mobile Flourish* be used to push the grappling creature away, ending the grapple? Or would the bard have to attack the grappled creature with the Mobile Flourish in order to end the grapple in this way?

*Access to Xanathar’s Guide to Everything in D&D Beyond is required for this link to work.

What ability check is the most appropriate for disarming a weapon from a creature grappled by another party member?

It’s my first post here. I am a DM running a 5e campaign for my friends.

During our last session, the characters were surprised by a creature polymorphed to look like a friendly NPC. The creature took their friend’s weapon (a one handed mace) and was using it to attack them. One of the party members had jumped off a cart and put themselves and the creature into grappled and prone condition states on the ground.

A different party member approached and said “I want to grab the weapon from [the enemy] and toss it away.” In response, I asked for a Dexterity (Sleight of Hand) check to see if they could remove the weapon. Was this the best-fit ability check for this scenario?

My reasoning for the check was:

  1. The Grappled nor Prone conditions state anything about the enemy being disarmed or losing control of their weapon (Players Handbook, Grappled – pg. 290, Prone – pg. 292), so I saw the active fighting and resistance displayed by the antagonist as creating a situation where it wasn’t an easy feat to simply grab the weapon.
  2. I think the action would require precise, dexterous movement of the hand to grab it while the enemy flails and combats their assailant. PHB states Dexterity ability checks “measure agility” (PHB, pg. 173).
  3. Sleight of Hand use on pg. 177 of the PHB doesn’t state anything about removing a weapon, just subtly removing a coinpurse without the person knowing. However, I also interpret it as the ability to manipulate an object on another’s body in a tricky situation.

After thinking on it, I feel as though a Strength (Sleight of Hand) check may have been more appropriate because the PC wresting the weapon away was a dwarf not prone to stealthy actions, but I would love some feedback on more specific rulings I’m missing.

Thank you for any help you may provide.

Can a kraken fling a creature grappled in its mouth, or swallow something grappled in its tentacles?

The kraken has the following three actions (bold emphsis mine):

Bite. Melee Weapon Attack: +17 to hit, reach 5 ft., one target. Hit: 23 (3d8 + 10) piercing damage. If the target is a Large or smaller creature grappled by the kraken, that creature is swallowed, and the grapple ends. While swallowed, the creature is blinded and restrained, it has total cover against attacks and other effects outside the kraken, and it takes 42 (12d6) acid damage at the start of each of the kraken’s turns.

If the kraken takes 50 damage or more on a single turn from a creature inside it, the kraken must succeed on a DC 25 Constitution saving throw at the end of that turn or regurgitate all swallowed creatures, which fall prone in a space within 10 feet of the kraken. If the kraken dies, a swallowed creature is no longer restrained by it and can escape from the corpse using 15 feet of movement, exiting prone.

Tentacle. Melee Weapon Attack: +17 to hit, reach 30 ft., one target. Hit: 20 (3d6 + 10) bludgeoning damage, and the target is grappled (escape DC 18). Until this grapple ends, the target is restrained. The kraken has ten tentacles, each of which can grapple one target.

Fling. One Large or smaller object held or creature grappled by the kraken is thrown up to 60 feet in a random direction and knocked prone. If a thrown target strikes a solid surface, the target takes 3 (1d6) bludgeoning damage for every 10 feet it was thrown. If the target is thrown at another creature, that creature must succeed on a DC 18 Dexterity saving throw or take the same damage and be knocked prone.

I believe the intention here is that any creature grappled by the Bite attack can be swallowed, and any creature grappled by a Tentacle can be thrown via Fling.

However, by RAW, it seems as though a creature can be grappled by a Tentacle and then immediately swallowed by the next Bite attack, or they can be grappled by the Bite attack and then throw via Fling.

Am I reading this correctly, or am I missing some subtle wording that makes it work RAW like how I assume it’s supposed to work RAI?

Can I drag a grappled creature and release it after moving half of my speed, then move the remainder of my speed?

The grappling rules state:

Moving a Grappled Creature.

When you move, you can drag or carry the grappled creature with you, but your speed is halved, unless the creature is two or more sizes smaller than you.

If I have 30 speed and have an enemy grappled, then I move 15 feet and release my grapple on my target, do I still have 15 feet of movement left, or is it lost for the round?

Where is a grappled and carried creature placed when the grappler stops moving?

The Grappled condition states (from the point of view of the grappler):

Moving a Grappled Creature: When you move, you can drag or carry the Grappled creature with you, but your speed is halved, unless the creature is two or more sizes smaller than you.

I have no issue with the dragging portion of moving with a grappled creature but when carrying the creature where does it find itself on the end of your turn?

Can the grappling PC place the carried target down into whichever square in range they choose?

I have some issues with that, namely the ability to pass the grappled creature into a hazard with no difficulty. Imagine moving to the edge of a cliff and simply holding the grappled creature over the edge and then releasing the grapple. It seems too simple.

Other options include holding them in a fire, dropping them into a known trap, etc or simply stating that you’ve lifted the grappled creature over your head and placed them down on the other side of you so your allies can attack it.

None of seems right to me but I find anything to explicitly state how to handle carrying a grappled creature.

Could Shadow Step be used to cause fall damaged when grappled?

Curious about what would happen if a Shadow Monk used Shadow Step while carrying someone, I discovered these answers that said no but I’m unsure if these answers can be interpreted in an offensive way to use Shadow Step.

Shadow Step:

At 6th level, you gain the ability to step from one shadow into another. When you are in dim light or darkness, as a bonus action you can teleport up to 60 feet to an unoccupied space you can see that is also in dim light or darkness. You then have advantage on the first melee attack you make before the end o f the turn.

Grappled

  • A grappled creature’s speed becomes 0, and it can’t benefit from any bonus to its speed.

  • The condition ends if the grappler is incapacitated (see the condition).

  • The condition also ends if an effect removes the grappled creature from the reach of the grappler or grappling effect, such as when a creature is hurled away by the thunderwave spell.


If a Shadow Monk finds themselves grappled by an enemy and chooses to use their action to initiate a falling motion (say falling prone while next to a crater to fall off the edge, or stunning striking the flying enemy to remove their flying ability temporarily) could the shadow monk then use a patch of dim light or darkness to shadow step back to safety while causing the enemy to potentially fall to their doom?