Does grapple end the Invisibility spell for the grappler?

I was looking through the Sage Advice Compendium when I noticed this:

When you make a Strength (Athletics) check to grapple or shove someone, are you making an attack roll?

Again, the answer is no. That check is an ability check, so game effects tied to attack rolls don’t apply to it. Going back to an earlier question, the hex spell could be used to diminish a grappler’s effectiveness. And if the grappler’s target is under the effect of the Dodge action, that action doesn’t inhibit the grapple, since Dodge doesn’t affect ability checks.

I had always played that the 2nd-level invisibility spell would end on a grapple, since it counts as an attack, but this seemed to suggest otherwise.

I researched this a bit and found a tweet by Jeremy Crawford from December 2015, which seemed to suggest that it was indeed an attack roll:

Grappling/shoving an enemy does end the sanctuary spell on you, since you have made an attack.

My best guess is that you must take the Attack action to perform an ability check, as grappling in the PHB is called a “special melee attack” (PHB p. 195), although that doesn’t make a huge amount of sense:

[…] you can use the Attack action to make a special melee attack, a grapple. […]

Do these two answers by Crawford contradict each other? And should the invisibility spell end when a grapple is attempted?

The description for the invisibility spell says:

A creature you touch becomes invisible until the spell ends. Anything the target is wearing or carrying is invisible as long as it is on the target’s person. The spell ends for a target that attacks or casts a spell.

Barbed Devil as grappler vs. Medium PCs

I’m preparing an encounter with devils, and I was reading the Barbed Devil entry on the MM.

It’s stated that it has an Impale special attack while grappling, Improved Grab and Improved Grapple.

It’s clear that its purpose is to latch onto an enemy ’till they’re dead, however, Improved Grab doesn’t really work on PCs (as they are of the same size), and the devil is missing Improved Unarmed Strike (prerequisite for Improved Grapple).

Improved Grapple isn’t marked as bonus either, so it doesn’t work without the prerequisite.

How can I fix this without changing the CR too much?

Pure Monk Grappler Build

I was thinking about making a pure monk grappler build and I hope that it is possible to do without being too weak for the table.

What I want from the build:

  1. Pure monk build, so no multi-classing (I like challenges in building characters).
  2. The build needs to have good chances for any grappling check (so expertise, good attribute mod and advantage would be great).
  3. Besides multi-classing everything is allowed. The build doesn’t need to be AL-legal.
  4. Well every official release is allowed. No homebrew and no UA.
  5. For attributes, we use point buy.

What I’ve come up with so far:

  • Race: Human

    When you can’t multi-class, you only have the choice between half-elf, half-orc and human to get expertise (with the prodigy feat).

    Because I need 3 different stats, I am actually thinking about taking the basic human, to get +1 in every attribute.

  • Attributes:

    Without race-mod: 13 15 11 9 15 8

    With race-mod: 14 16 12 10 16 9

  • Sub-class: I think the best choices are Open-Hand and Shadow.

    With Shadow I could disable nearly every caster that I want. (Grapple -> Silence).

    With Open-Hand I could use flurry of blows, to knock my grappled enemies prone.

  • ASI’s:

    lvl4: Prodigy

    lvl8: +2 Str

    lvl12:+2 Str

    lvl16:+2 Str

    lvl19:+2 Dex

    If I could get my DM to give me a belt of strength, I could forgo the Str part entirely, but I’m not sure I can convince him.

Question

Is there a better way to make a monk a better grappler?
Can I get advantage on Athletic checks somehow, without party assistance?

Does the grappled creature have to be the one that is moved in order to force the grapple to end, or can the grappler be the one that is moved? [duplicate]

The description of the grappled condition reads, in part:

The condition also ends if an effect removes the grappled creature from the reach of the grappler or grappling effect, such as when a creature is hurled away by the thunderwave spell.

For the grappled condition to end, does the grappled creature have to be the one that is moved, or can the grappling creature be the one that is moved?

For example, could a College of Swords bard’s Mobile Flourish* be used to push the grappling creature away, ending the grapple? Or would the bard have to attack the grappled creature with the Mobile Flourish in order to end the grapple in this way?

*Access to Xanathar’s Guide to Everything in D&D Beyond is required for this link to work.

Where is a grappled and carried creature placed when the grappler stops moving?

The Grappled condition states (from the point of view of the grappler):

Moving a Grappled Creature: When you move, you can drag or carry the Grappled creature with you, but your speed is halved, unless the creature is two or more sizes smaller than you.

I have no issue with the dragging portion of moving with a grappled creature but when carrying the creature where does it find itself on the end of your turn?

Can the grappling PC place the carried target down into whichever square in range they choose?

I have some issues with that, namely the ability to pass the grappled creature into a hazard with no difficulty. Imagine moving to the edge of a cliff and simply holding the grappled creature over the edge and then releasing the grapple. It seems too simple.

Other options include holding them in a fire, dropping them into a known trap, etc or simply stating that you’ve lifted the grappled creature over your head and placed them down on the other side of you so your allies can attack it.

None of seems right to me but I find anything to explicitly state how to handle carrying a grappled creature.

Would I have neither advantage nor disadvantage when attacking a grappled creature when opting to restrain via the Grappler feat?

The Grappler Feat states:

You’ve developed the Skills necessary to hold your own in close-quarters Grappling. You gain the following benefits:

You have advantage on Attack rolls against a creature you are Grappling.

You can use your action to try to pin a creature Grappled by you. To do so, make another grapple check. If you succeed, you and the creature are both Restrained until the grapple ends.

The Restrained Condition states:

A restrained creature’s speed becomes 0, and it can’t benefit from any bonus to its speed.

Attack rolls against the creature have advantage, and the creature’s Attack rolls have disadvantage.

The creature has disadvantage on Dexterity Saving Throws.

If on the first turn I grapple a creature, I have advantage on attacks to the creature. On the second turn, I use my action to pin the creature and now we are both restrained.

On subsequent rounds, would I now have neither advantage nor disadvantage when attacking the creature?

How much can a grappler with reach move a grappled creature inside its reach?

This is a follow up from this question

A creature with a 15′ reach is grappling a creature with a 5′ reach. My question in this situation is: how much can the grappled creature be moved if it remains within the grappling creature’s 15′ reach? ie. can it be moved 30′ and what type of action is required for this movement?

can a grapple be released by the grappler at any distance within it’s reach

I have a creature that has a 15′ reach. It’s attack can also grapple. Currently it’s grappling a creature with a 5′ reach.

I have several questions about this situation.

  1. Can the grappled creature always attack the creature that is grappling it, even if it’s held at 10′?
  2. Can the creature that’s grappling the other creature choose to let it go anywhere within it’s 15′ reach?
  3. Does releasing the creature allow for an oppertuniy attack if the creature being released has a reaction? Even if it’s released at 15′? (if this is possible)
  4. What sort of action is required for releasing a creature? A bonus action?

Does a grappled creature need to use an action to escape grapple if grappler is stunned?

Some creatures can grapple, others have a grapple built into their attacks. Taking the example of a roc’s Talons attack:

Talons. Melee Weapon Attack: +13 to hit, reach 5 ft., one target. Hit: 24 (4d6 + 9) slashing damage, and the target is grappled (escape DC 19). Until this grapple ends, the target is restrained, and the roc can’t use its talons on another target.

To escape such a grapple, a creature would need to use its action and beat the DC (which is a contested grapple, or in the roc’s case, a flat DC of 19, which is presumably its “passive Athletics”). This is described in the PHB (p. 195) under “Grappling”:

Escaping a Grapple. A grappled creature can use its action to escape. To do so, it must succeed on a Strength (Athletics) or Dexterity (Acrobatics) check contested by your [or the roc’s, in this case] Strength (Athletics) check.


However, what if the roc became stunned (for example, by a monk’s Stunning Strike)? The Stunned condition (PHB, p. 292) says, among other things:

  • The creature automatically fails Strength and Dexterity checks.

So, if I found myself grappled by a roc (or some other creature), my monk friend managed to stun it, then it was my turn, would I still need to use an action to escape the grapple (with an automatic success), or can I just walk out of the grapple at that point since it can’t resist my efforts to escape (leaving my action free to do other things, such as attack)?