Would improvised weapons work with cantrips like Green-Flame Blade and Booming Blade?


Green-Flame Blade:

As part of the action used to cast this spell, you must make a melee attack with a weapon against one creature within the spell’s range, otherwise the spell fails.

This states that so long as the attack is a melee attack made with a weapon, you may use this cantrip and apply its affects. I realize improvised weapon has weapon in the name, and is under the weapons category, but it would also mean that I can use a mug as an improvised weapon with Booming Blade. I see no reason why this would not work, but I’m still curious to see how others may interpret this.

What are the repercussions of the Sword Coast Adventurers Guide errata to the cantrips Green-Flame Blade and Booming Blade?

In the most recent update to the Sage Advice article, Green-Flame Blade and Booming Blade have received errata to their range and spell text, being altered from

Range: 5 feet

to

Range: Self (5 foot radius)

Furthermore, the text of GFB and BB have been altered from

As part of the action used to cast this spell, you must make a melee attack with a weapon against one creature within the spell’s range, otherwise the spell fails.

to the phrase

You brandish the weapon used in the spell’s casting and make a melee attack with it against one creature within 5 feet of you.

How do these changes alter the way that these spells are used, and how they interact with features or feats, such as Spell Snipers effect of doubling a spells range.

Would the Haste Spell allow you to cast a second, singular weapon attack effecting cantrip (such as Greenflame Blade)?

So the Haste spell in 5e says that the targeted creature

gains an additional action on each of its turns. That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action.

This means I technically have a second action, so would that allow me to use the Greenflame Blade cantrip a second time in the same turn (once with the actual action, once with this action) as the cantrip applies to one weapon attack in a similar fashion as a Paladin with Haste could apply Divine Smite onto the Haste-given attack?

Can you Greenflame Blade / Booming Blade with a Shield? [duplicate]

Both these cantrips want a weapon as the material Component, and then later want a weapon attack. However if you are an Arcana Cleric (learns a wizard cantrip), and as a cleric you can use your shield as the spellcasting focus (ignoring the 1st requirement).

But can the shield be considered an improvised weapon for the 2nd requirement?

What is the interaction between Green-Flame Blade and Absorb elements

Green-Flame Blade States:

…you must make a melee attack with a weapon against one creature…

…On a hit, the target suffers the attack’s normal effects, and green fire leaps from the target to a different creature of your choice that you can see within 5 feet of it. The second creature takes fire damage equal to your spellcasting ability modifier…

Absorb Elements States:

…the first time you hit with a melee attack on your next turn, the target takes an extra 1d6 damage of the triggering type…

Since Green-Flame Blade is a single attack that affects 2 targets at the same time. Does the Absorb Elements extra damage affect both the 1st and 2ndary targets as per RAW?

What is the interaction between Empowered Spell and Booming Blade or Green-Flame Blade?

Can you reroll the damage dice that come as part of the melee weapon attack? That is, is the melee weapon attack part of the damage for the spell?

Empowered Spell reads:

When you roll damage for a spell, you can spend 1 sorcery point to reroll a number of the damage dice up to your Charisma modifier (minimum of one). You must use the new rolls.

Booming Blade and Green-Flame Blade read:

As part of the action used to cast this spell, you must make a melee attack with a weapon against one creature within the spell’s range, otherwise the spell fails.

Is the damage to the second target from the Green-Flame Blade cantrip also doubled on a critical hit?

I’m thinking of a concept of a spellcaster that fight in melee from the moment I re-read the “blade” cantrips (green-flame blade and booming blade), and realized that they can deal a lot of damage. Long story short, I re-read the Assassin subclass, and was thinking about how they interact with critical hits.

If it is obvious that the secondary damage from booming blade doesn’t care about whether or not the initial attack was a critical hit, but how about green-flame blade (which basically gives you an automatic hit on another enemy)? How does green-flame blade‘s secondary damage interact with critical hits?

If I get a critical hit on the attack roll of green-flame blade, is the number of damage dice doubled for the damage to both targets? Or does it only double the damage dice for the first target?

Does Green-Flame Blade get Alchemical Savant bonus if you use Alchemist Supplies as improvised weapon?

The Alchemist’s Alchemical Savant ability states

Whenever you cast a spell using your alchemist’s supplies as the spellcasting focus, you gain a bonus to one roll of the spell. That roll must restore hit points or be a damage roll that deals acid, fire, necrotic, or poison damage, and the bonus equals your Intelligence modifier (minimum of +1).

Green-flame blade is not on the Alchemist’s spell list but it lists “a weapon” as the material component for the spell. This is presumably the weapon used in the attack.

If an Alchemist casts Green-Flame Blade using their alchemical tools (e.g., a beaker) as an improvised weapon attack, would it benefit from Alchemical Savant?

Would the following Shadowblade and Greenflame Blade combination be legal?

Let’s say I am a level 5 sorcerer and I have already cast Shadowblade. And I want to do the following on my next turn:

Quicken Greenflame Blade for 2d8 (from shadowblade) + 1d8 (GFB dmg) on the main target and 1d8 + spell mod on the creature next to it.

Then as my action I Twin the GFB again and I make the first attack on target 1 and second attack on the target next to it which allows me to do basically double dmg from above calculation.

Is this allowed by RAW? If not why?

Is curse bringer + divine smite + wrathful smite + greenflame blade RAW, RAI or Neither [duplicate]

Warlock hexblade (3) paladin (x)

Boon: Blade pact

Eldritch Invocations: curse bringer. Need minimum 5 lvls

Turn 1.1 hexblade curse (bonus action)

Turn 2.1 (bonus action) wrathful smite

Turn 2.2 (normal action) greenflame blade

If melee hit spend 1 spell slot for curse bringer (no action) and 1 for divine smite (no action)