Would the Gust spell be able to move someone under the effect of the Levitate spell?

I am playing an air genasi storm sorcerer. Air genasi have the Mingle with the Wind racial trait, which lets them cast the levitate spell once per long rest (with no material components).

The description of the levitate spell says:

One creature or object of your choice that you can see within range rises vertically, up to 20 feet, and remains suspended there for the duration. The spell can levitate a target that weighs up to 500 pounds. An unwilling creature that succeeds on a Constitution saving throw is unaffected.

The target can move only by pushing or pulling against a fixed object or surface within reach (such as a wall or a ceiling), which allows it to move as if it were climbing. You can change the target’s altitude by up to 20 feet in either direction on your turn. If you are the target, you can move up or down as part of your move. Otherwise, you can use your action to move the target, which must remain within the spell’s range.

The description of gust states:

You seize the air and compel it to create one of the following effects at a point you can see within range:

  • One Medium or smaller creature that you choose must succeed on a Strength saving throw or be pushed up to 5 feet away from you.

  • You create a small blast of air capable of moving one object that is neither held nor carried and that weighs no more than 5 pounds. The object is pushed up to 10 feet away from you. It isn’t pushed with enough force to cause damage.

  • You create a harmless sensory affect using air, such as causing leaves to rustle, wind to slam shutters shut, or your clothing to ripple in a breeze.

I wanted to use the gust cantrip to move myself 5 feet in a direction, but my GM said it wouldn’t work, as levitate only allows the target to move by physical means as the spell states, and I couldn’t cast gust to target myself anyways.

I didn’t argue at the time, but having reread the spells, I’m not sure why it wouldn’t work.

Is it possible to cast levitate on yourself, then use gust to move yourself 5 feet?

Does the Gust of wind spell affect ranged weapons?

Gust of wind Says:

A line of strong wind 60 feet long and 10 feet wide blasts from you in a direction you choose for the spell’s duration. Each creature that starts its turn in the line must succeed on a Strength saving throw or be pushed 15 feet away from you in a direction following the line.

I am wondering if this would either negate ranged attacks on the wizard, or at the very least pose disadvantage on the attacker?

The closest thing I could find to an answer was in the DMG p110, under Strong Wind

A strong wind imposes disadvantage on ranged weapon attack rolls.

My personal experience in archery, is that there is basically no point in even trying to hit a target with anything above a mild wind. As it is very, very difficult at any distance.

Gust of Wind vs Green Dragon Breath

I think this is similar to Can Warding Wind block the effect of a Green Dragon's Poison Breath? but the wording of Warding Wind seems more conservative than Gust of Wind.

I just ran a combat where a druid used Gust of Wind against a green dragon. I had the dragon retaliate by flying (slowly) towards the druid and using its breath weapon. The players were delighted, immediately declaring that the monster’s attack should have been nullified because:

[Green Dragon] The dragon breathes poisonous gas in a 30-foot cone

[Gust of Wind] The gust disperses gas or vapor…

However, I ruled that the breath weapon worked as normal through the line of the wind, using similar logic to the most upvoted answer on the linked question, that "dispersing gas" is for handling cloudkill, wall of fog and other lingering effects that explicitly describe being dispersed, and that breath weapons (or other instantaneous area effects) do not get cancelled through dispersal. Instead, I would argue, breath weapons may only get blocked by spells that say it more directly e.g. Wind Wall which says that it "keeps gases at bay".

It would not have been a big deal if the players were correct in my case, as the dragon had other tactical options – moving out of the of the gust of wind to attack from the side for instance – so the ruling did not change much about the outcome (although it disappointed the players because they were convinced they had outsmarted the dragon and made it lose an attack). And in the end the battle was won by the PCs.

Should I have allowed Gust of Wind to nullify gas-based breath weapon attacks made within it, according to rules as written? What exactly does "dispersing" mean in the Gust of Wind spell description?

Engulfed while Gust of Wind is in effect

Recently my party was exploring a dungeon when we were attacked. My druid cast Gust of Wind to drive some of the enemies back, but shortly afterwards was engulfed by a gelantinous cube.

What should happen in a situation like this?

I started to argue that I should still be able to control the wind blast from inside the cube, imagining that the wind emanates from a point nearby. But I checked the spell description and it says the wind "blasts from you," so that interpretation was out. (Presumably the wind emanates from at least a short distance beyond one’s body, or else one’s clothes would be blown off, but that doesn’t really help my case.)

The DM ruled that the spell was effectively nullified, which made me sad. I suppose the ruling was superficially reasonable, although it runs counter to the advice I often see here that effects do only what they say they do and no more, and it seems wrong to give the cube the extra benefit of a selective Dispel Magic or Antimagic Field when it engulfs someone.

I can think of a number of possible ways to approach the situation:

  • the victim has advantage on the check to avoid being engulfed
  • as above, and/or the victim can make additional checks on succeeding rounds to escape the cube
  • the cube must make an ad-hoc strength check to continue to restrain the victim
  • the victim is engulfed and suffers the effects as normal, but the wind keeps a hole open in front of the cube, continuing to affect those outside
  • the cube blows up like a soap bubble–perhaps one of those cubical bubbles that can be made with a special bubble wand

I rather doubt there are any rules-as-written to handle this situation, but then again I only own the Player’s Handbook, not the DMG. Is there a technically correct solution? If not, what might be the closest there is to one?