Does Arms of Hadar hit the caster?

The text is unclear to me.

Tendrils of dark energy erupt from you and batter all creatures within 10 feet of you.

I assume I’m a creature within 10 feet of me, so am I also a target of this spell? Some other spells say "all other creatures", and since this does not it feels like it would make sense to include the caster. But on the other hand, if this spell always damages the caster it seems like it would say something explicitly about that.

So, if I cast Arms of Hadar, do I have to make the save?

Can a character with darkvision see into Hunger of Hadar?

Can a character with darkvision see into Hunger of Hadar? This assumes the character is not inside the spells area, and therefore not blinded.

This has come up a few times on this stackexchange, but never really answered.

The hunger of Hadar spell (PHB, p. 251) creates a black void of darkness, which cannot be penetrated by light. This means that no one can see in […]

is stated in this question, without any rules to back it up.

I’m not even going to go into the debate about whether darkvision can see through hunger of hadar

From this question

Therefore I think a seperate question is warranted.

Does Devil’s Sight enable one to see into Hunger of Hadar?

The hunger of Hadar spell (PHB, p. 251) creates a black void of darkness, which cannot be penetrated by light. This means that no one can see in, and those inside cannot see at all, which is a handy way to damage and control enemies since they don’t know which way is out.

This also means that characters cannot easily attack those inside.

The Devil’s Sight eldritch invocation, however, enables a warlock to see normally in magical and non-magical darkness.

Does this enable the warlock to see into the area of blackness created by hunger of Hadar and attack creatures inside? Are there any other sight mechanics that allow someone to see in or out of the spell?

Can you pull the same enemy multiple times with Grasp of Hadar?

Based on the setting explained by KorvinStarmast in this question, I’d like to know if you can pull someone more than once with Eldritch Blast + Grasp of Hadar if you hit him with multiple blasts (meaning multiple beams or multiple casts of the same cantrip).

The spell description states that you shoot multiple beams as you level up instead of shooting a stronger one, kinda like the Magic Missile spell, which have been ruled by Jeremy Crowford to work a little different from other spells in terms of calculating some effects like the bonus damage from Empowered Evocation like noted in this answer.

I’m aware of the diference in spelling between Grasp of Hadar and Repelling Blast, probably due to 3D combat, but I’m not sure that is really intended to work like that if, for example, you cast it twice while hasted or something like that.

Can a creature grasped by Grasp of Hadar move with the Warlock?

As a follow up to this question on Grasp of Hadar, I present the following situation. The warlock, under the fly spell’s influence, sees the Dire Wolf knock the party’s Rogue prone. It is now the Warlock’s turn.
enter image description here The warlock intends to pick up the Dire Wolf with Grasp of Hadar at point B, and if possible drop it off of the cliff when finishing movement for the Warlock’s turn at point C. We know that we can move/attack/move in this edition per PHB Chapter 9. The other Q&A showed that Grasp can cause the Dire Wolf to fall once “moved 10′ closesr” (up) to the flying Warlock with a successful Eldritch Blast / Grasp of Hadar hit. This might be a reach, but as it all happens on the Warlock’s turn:

  1. Does the Dire Wolf stay “10 feet closer” to the Warlock until the Warlock finished movement at point C and begin to fall at point Z?
    or
  2. Can the Dire Wolf only begin its fall at point Y since Warlock picked it up at point B?

While I suspect that the answer is Case 2, something about how movement and attacks both happen during one’s turn make me suspect that Case 1 is possible. Is it?

(Attribution: pictures are jpg copies of Roll20 tokens of some humanoid, dire wolf, and commoner.
I believe that this constitutes fair use).

Grasp of Hadar: can using it while flying cause falling damage?

We got into a battle with some berserkers. I was already flying (fly spell) so decided to use eldritch blast and the Grasp of Hadar invocation.

Once on each of your turns when you hit a creature with your eldritch blast, you can move that creature in a straight line 10 feet closer to you. (XGtE, p. 57)

As I flew over one of the Berserkers, I zapped him with EB twice (at 5th level this cantrip emits two blasts) and used one of them to lay Grasp of Hadar on him. As my DM ruled it, I pulled him toward me ten feet, straight up. Once once I had pulled him up, he didn’t stay up; the DM ruled that he had to fall since the Grasp doesn’t grapple him nor hold him in place.

I recommended to the DM that he take an additional 1d6 falling damage; I rolled it and he agreed.

Is this correct, or did we misunderstand how Grasp of Hadar works?
And if he falls, is he now prone?

Imbedded question if the answer to the above is “yes, d6 was correct” –
Something that had us scratching our heads was how far offset do I need to be before the fall won’t be enough to cause damage? I can be as high as 90′ up and EB will still reach, but if I am too far offset the vertical height of the Grasped creature won’t be 10 feet (for example at a 45 degree angle they would be about 7 feet off the ground). For the time being the DM is going to wing it, but I thought I’d ask so that I have something more concrete to offer him.


A related question about thorn whip is here and I suspect that the Four Elements Monk Water Whip feature has a similar behavior.

What happens if the Daylight spell overlaps with the Hunger of Hadar spell?

The hunger of Hadar spell states:

You open a gateway to the dark between the stars, a region infested with unknown horrors. A 20-foot-radius sphere of blackness and bitter cold appears, centered on a point with range and lasting for the duration. This void is filled with a cacophony of soft whispers and slurping noises that can be heard up to 30 feet away. No light, magical or otherwise, can illuminate the area, and creatures fully within the area are blinded.

The void creates a warp in the fabric of space, and the area is difficult terrain. Any creature that starts its turn in the area takes 2d6 cold damage. Any creature that ends its turn in the area must succeed on a Dexterity saving throw or take 2d6 acid damage as milky, otherwordly tentacles rub against it.

And the daylight spell states:

A 60-foot-radius sphere of light spreads out from a point you choose within range. The sphere is bright light and sheds dim light for an additional 60 feet.

If you chose a point on an object you are holding or one that isn’t being worn or carried, the light shines from the object and moves with it. Completely covering the affected object with an opaque object, such as a bowl or a helm, blocks the light.

If any of this spell’s area overlaps with an area of darkness created by a spell of 3rd level or lower, the spell that created the darkness is dispelled.

Which of these spells is more specific and wins out over the other? What happens if their areas overlap?

Hunger of Hadar cast by two warlocks double the effects? [on hold]

Hunger of Hadar reads: “The Void creates a warp in the fabric of space, and the area is difficult terrain. Any creature that starts its turn in the area takes 2d6 cold damage. Any creature that ends its turn in the area must succeed on a dexterity saving throw or take 2d6 acid as milky, other, otherworldly tentacles rub against it.”

Does that mean if two different warlocks drop HoHs simultaneously on the same area, creatures within those tentacles suffer 4d6 cold and possibly 4d6 acid and more significantly 1/4 speed movement? Role playing-wise there are double the number of tentacles. combat-wise AoE spells of different types/schools stack or neutralize each other, so why wouldn’t two Hunger of Hadars double the effects?

Can a warlock with both Repelling Blast and Grasp of Hadar push and pull the same target with the same attack?

In this question, I asked whether it was possible for a warlock to apply either the Repelling Blast or the Grasp of Hadar eldritch invocation at any point, focusing mostly on whether or not the warlock had the choice to use them or not. I concluded that they can use either.

But what happens if they want to use both at the same time?

We’ll assume a level 2 Warlock with eldritch blast and only those two invocations.

So what happens if the target is hit by eldritch blast and the warlock wants to both move the target towards them for 10 feet and away from them for 10 feet?

  • Does the target not move at all as the forced movement from the invocations cancel each other out?
  • Does the target move towards, then away, or vice versa (i.e. the warlock can choose the order)?
  • Does one invocation take precedence over the other for some reason?
  • Something else?

Whichever outcome it ends up being, please explain why, RAW, this would be the case. The rules I’ve looked at don’t make it obvious to me which of this outcomes would occur.


Just as a reminder, the Repelling Blast eldritch invocation (PHB, p. 111) says:

When you hit a creature with eldritch blast, you can push a creature up to 10 feet away from you in a straight line.

And the Grasp of Hadar eldritch invocation (XGtE, p. 57) says:

Once on each of your turns when you hit a creature with your eldritch blast, you can move that creature in a straight line 10 feet closer to you.