Animate Dead in a zone affected by Hallow?

The hallow spell prevents undead from entering a certain area:

First, celestials, elementals, fey, fiends, and undead can’t enter the area, nor can such creatures charm, frighten, or possess creatures within it. Any creature charmed, frightened, or possessed by such a creature is no longer charmed, frightened, or possessed upon entering the area. You can exclude one or more of those types of creatures from this effect.

In addition, it has an optional effect to prevent dead bodies interred within from becoming undead:

Everlasting Rest. Dead bodies interred in the area can’t be turned into undead.

Assuming the caster of hallow did not select the Everlasting Rest option, if a character casts animate dead on a corpse within a hallow zone, what happens to the resulting zombie or skeleton?

Curse of Strahd most effective use of Hallow

In Curse of Strahd,

Note that the Hallow spell has two principle effects.

The first is that it bars the entrance of undead, as well as prohibiting them from charming those on the hallowed ground and removing the effects of charms on anyone who enters the hallowed area.

The second effect, however, is chosen by the caster of the spell from a list of ten possibilities.

  1. Does the second effect apply in this case? If so, is it chosen by the relic or by the priest?

  2. While the first effect will go a long way to excluding Strahd and his minions from entering the hallowed ground, which second effect choice would best protect from his non-undead minions? If the priest were the one making the decision, what would he be most likely to choose, based on what he knows about Strahd’s minions?

Note that Strahd’s minions include bats, rats, wolves, and dire wolves, but also living humans.

Humans could be those Vistani that serve him, but could also include cultists under the direction of the diabolist. I think it is likely that the priest knows about these loyalties and activities.

Humans could also include town guards who are not charmed themselves, but might be acting under orders should Strahd decide to charm the ‘mayor’ or the ‘captain of the guard’, possibilities that I think the priest would consider.

Note also that the relic far outdates the priest, so he is unlikely to have considered making this choice before, and that he is incapable of casting hallow himself or indeed any spells above third level, so he might lack practical knowledge of what his actual choices are.

A good answer will explain why the priest or relic is likely to choose what they would, based on how the mechanics would interact with Strahd’s non-undead minions.

Hallow spell blocking familiars/interactions with T1 party

I have a question regarding how a Hallow spell affects a T1 party. The most obvious interaction would seem to be blocking familiars since they are fey, fiend, or celestial.

Does the Hallow spell with all of its potential creature types designated stop familiars from entering the area? Does it stop them from being summoned in there? Stop them from being brought out of demiplane into it? Do any of those answers change when it has the additional extra-dimensional interference effect?

Does Hallow remove the listed conditions when cast?

The spell Hallow has this effect when cast:

First, celestials, elementals, fey, fiends, and undead can’t enter the area, nor can such creatures charm, frighten, or possess creatures within it. Any creature charmed, frightened, or possessed by such a creature is no longer charmed, frightened, or possessed upon entering the area. You can exclude one or more of those types of creatures from this effect.

If a creature within the target area is charmed, frightened, or possessed by a listed creature type when the spell is cast, is that condition ended, suspended, or unchanged when the spell is cast?

In other words, is casting this spell on the area such a creature is in enough to end one of these effects, or must the caster get them to go in and out of the spell’s area too to achieve this?

Conjure (Minor) Elemental into a Hallow spell, does it just fail?

Hallow states “Celestials, Elementals, fey, Fiends, and Undead can’t enter the area…” but it doesn’t say what would happen if someone tried to summon some into the area. Would the spell fail? Would the elementals appear but then be forced to leave?

Would the ruling be the same for both Conjure Minor Elementals and Conjure Elemental? The latter uses a source of the element (e.g. a fire, what if the fire is in the Hallow area?) while the former just makes some minor elementals appear from an unspecified source.

What area does the Hallow spell actually cover?

When discussing ways to take down Count Strahd von Zarovich in my CoS campaign, my players considered casting the Hallow spell and covering literally all of Barovia in hallowed ground. They figured they can do this because of the text of the spell (PHB Page 249):

Hallow

You touch a point and infuse an area around it with holy (or unholy) power. The area can have a radius up to 60 feet, and the spell fails if the radius includes an area already under the effect of the hallow spell.

(Emphasis Mine, 6th Printing of PHB)

So because of how the spell is written, there is no shape defined. Maybe sphere is implied by the use of a radius, but they also figured they could simply opt for a smaller cube shape that would fit within that sphere, because it is not explicitly defined. With that in mind, they will not have any overlapping because you can fit cubes together perfectly. Looking at the Areas of Effect on pages 204 and 205 we can see that Sphere says this:

Sphere

You select a sphere’s point of origin, and the sphere extends outward from that point. The sphere’s size is expressed as a radius in feet that extends from the point.

As far as I (and one of my players helping me research this) have found, every spell that expresses that it is a sphere whether or not it gives you a specific radius or says “up to [some] radius.” It could simply be a circle, but there needs to be a three-dimensional area that it affects, so that is the same as making it a limitless cylinder.

So is it actually a Sphere or is it just some shape that fits within the boundaries?

In D&D 5e the Hallow spell’s extra effect Fear, what is the source of the fear?

When using the fear extra effect of the hallow spell, the spell says that affected creatures are frightened whilst in the spell’s area.

With regards to the frightened condition, is the source of fear the point at which hallow was cast or the whole area?

This matters for how it interacts with both parts of the frightened condition.

If the source of fear is the point at which the spell is cast, then affected creatures can move away from it and there might be ways to break line of sight within the hallowed area itself.

If the source of the fear is the whole area, being inside the area means that the source of fear is in all directions from the affected creature. This would mean that the creature could not willingly move in any direction, as all directions would be closer to the source of fear. (Alternatively you could interpret it as you are always at the source of fear so you could freely move as moving in any direction could not put you closer to the source of fear than you already are.) In addition to the movement restriction/non-restriction (depending on your interpretation), the whole area being the source of fear would mean you are always subject to the effect of being in line of sight of your source of fear whilst in the area.

What is the correct interpretation?

For purposes of Divine Sense or ‘detect evil and good’, how else, other than ‘hallow’, can an object or area be magically consecrated or desecrated?

The paladin’s Divine Sense feature allows the paladin to

…detect the presence of any place or object that has been consecrated or desecrated, as with the hallow spell.

Similarly, the spell detect evil and good allows the caster to

…know if there is a place or object within 30 feet of you that has been magically consecrated or desecrated.

How, other than via the spell hallow, can a place or object be consecrated or desecrated, so that it would be detected by Divine Sense or detect evil and good?

Question inspired by this one from earlier today, where we establish that Divine Sense cannot detect whether an object is cursed.