Can I hand out beads from a necklace of fireball?

My character currently has a necklace of fireball with 4 beads remaining. Can I split the necklace and hand the beads out to my party for individual use, or does the necklace have to remain whole until just before a bead is thrown? We are about to fight a difficult enemy, and the idea of bombarding it with 4 fireballs in the first round is quite appealing

Can a character with the Extra Attack feature and the Crossbow Expert feat shoot a hand crossbow 4 times in the same turn?

In D&D 5e, can a 5th-level fighter shoot a hand crossbow 4 times per turn using the Crossbow Expert feat?

The fighter’s Extra Attack feature says (PHB, p. 72):

Beginning at 5th level, you can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn.

The Crossbow Expert feat says (PHB, p. 165):

  • You ignore the loading quality of crossbows with which you are proficient.

  • […]

  • When you use the Attack action and attack with a one-handed weapon, you can use a bonus action to attack with a loaded hand crossbow you are holding.

Is the following statement valid?

The fighter is holding a hand crossbow. He begins his turn. He takes an Attack action; using his Extra Attack feature along with the first benefit of Crossbow Expert, he shoots twice during this action. Then he takes a bonus action. Using the last benefit of Crossbow Expert, he makes this an Attack action. He is limited to using a hand crossbow during this action. He shoots twice using his Extra Attack feature. (Assume he can do this with the same hand crossbow.)

It is ambiguous whether "you can use a bonus action to attack" means "you can use a bonus action to take exactly one shot" or "you can use your bonus action for the round as an Attack action". Or even if it does mean "you can use a bonus action to take one shot", it is ambiguous whether it means "an Attack action in which you use a one-handed weapon gives you an opportunity to shoot during your bonus action" or "a one-handed weapon attack made during an Attack action gives you an opportunity to shoot during your bonus action". (One bonus shot per Attack action, or one bonus shot per attack within the Attack action?)

Can Mage Hand be used to use a Ballista?

In the DMG page 255-256 are several siege weapons described which are actually objects. It takes actions to load, aim and fire the siege weapons. For the ballista for example it says:

It takes one action to load the weapon, one action to aim it, and one action to fire it.

I have always imagined you have to stand in 5 feet of the object and then take the "load", "aim" or "fire" action. In the decription for Mage Hand it says:

You can use your action to control the hand. You can use the hand to manipulate an object, open an unlocked door or container, stow or retrieve an item from an open container, or pour the contents out of a vial.

So technically the mage hand can manipulate an object but can it "load", "aim" or "fire" a ballista?

Can you kill a Tarrasque with the Open Hand monk’s Quivering Palm feature?

I see the Tarrasque has Legendary Resistance so it can pass failed saving throws. It has a list of Legendary Actions 3 times a day. I keep seeing people say to keep making it do saves to get rid of the Legendary Resistance even though it is not listed under the limited Legendary actions.

Since the Way of the Open Hand monk’s Quivering Palm technique relies on failing a Constitution save to instantly reduce the target to 0 HP, can Quivering Palm kill a Tarrasque?

Hidden Markov Models for Hand Gestures

I am completing a final year project for hand gesture recognition using Hidden Markov Models

I have a fair understanding of Hidden Markov Models and how they work using simple examples such as the Unfair Casino and some Weather examples.

I am looking to implement multiple Hidden markov models where each model corresponds to a single gesture, similarly to this paper where the observed states are the angles between the coordinates of different points. This would create a sequence of numbers from 0 to 18 as seen in Figure 3 and Figure 4. .

What would the hidden states be in terms of this scenario?

The weather example has the observations ‘Walk’, ‘Shop’ and ‘Clean’ which would be the numbers 0-18 in the hand gesture case, however I do not know what the states ‘Rainy’ and ‘Sunny’ would correspond to in the hand gesture scenario.

Can Mage Hand pour out a vial of acid?

The description of Mage Hand says:

You can use your action to control the hand. You can use the hand to manipulate an object, open an unlocked door or container, stow or retrieve an item from an open container, or pour the contents out of a vial (PHB p.246)

while the description of Acid (vial) says:

As an action, you can splash the contents of this vial onto a creature within 5 feet of you or throw the vial up to 20 feet, shattering it on impact. In either case, make a ranged attack against a creature or object, treating the acid as an improvised weapon. (PHB p. 148, “Adventuring Gear”)

However Mage Hand also states:

The hand can’t attack, activate magic items, or carry more than 10 pounds.

So the question is can Mage Hand pour out Acid (vial) onto an enemy? And if it can be poured, would the damage require an attack roll from the caster or a dex saving throw from the target? If it is an attack roll, then what does it scale off of and how would proficiency be determined? If it is a saving throw, then how is the DC calculated (either a specific DC to the vial/Mage Hand or the caster’s spell save DC)?

Do you need a free hand for your holy symbol if you’re wearing it visibly?

I’ve been creating a Paladin who uses the Defense fighting style while wielding two weapons (instead of the more common Dueling style with weapon and shield). However, I was worried that spell components would make this too difficult because the character wouldn’t be able to use a shield emblazoned with a holy symbol as their spellcasting focus. However, I reread the section on holy symbols and it says the following:

A cleric or paladin can use a holy symbol as a spellcasting focus, as described in chapter 10. To use the symbol in this way, the caster must hold it in hand, wear it visibly, or bear it on a shield. [PHB pg. 151, emphasis added]

By my reading of this, even absent a shield, the caster does NOT need a free hand for their focus. Simply wearing it on a chain outside their armor or clothing (or even affixing it to the outside of their armor) would be sufficient.

This surprised me, so I double-checked the material components section:

Casting some spells requires particular objects, specified in parentheses in the component entry. A character can use a component pouch or a spellcasting focus (found in chapter 5) in place of the components specified for a spell… A spellcaster must have a hand free to access these components, but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components. [PHB pg. 203]

At first glance, its seems that the statements "A character can use… a spellcasting focus… in place of the components specified for a spell" and "A spellcaster must have a hand free to access these components" would logically mean that a spellcaster must have a hand free to use a spellcasting focus.

However, is this a case of "specific beats general"? Using an arcane focus requires a free hand because it follows the general rule from pg. 203, but a holy symbol doesn’t as long as it’s visibly worn as written in the more specific rule on pg. 151?

(Related: Do these spellcasting foci from Xanathar’s Guide to Everything have to be held in a hand?)

Can a Thief rogue disarm an enemy in combat using Sleight of Hand as a bonus action?

One of my players rolled a Thief rogue. At level three they get the Fast Hands feature:

You can use the extra action granted by your Cunning Action to make Dexterity (Sleight of Hand) checks, use your thieves’ tools to disarm a trap or open a lock, or use an object in the environment.

The player asked mid-fight to use a Sleight of Hand check to disarm a foe. Since this isn’t clear in the PHB, the discussion slowed down the fight considerably. To end this discussion, I ruled that the player could make a Sleight of Hand check contested by the enemy’s Strength (Athletics) check.

I still find it hard to see how a Sleight of Hand check could work to disarm mid-combat, since there’s no way you’d be able to "sneakily" take someone’s weapon out of their hands while fighting.

There is an optional "Disarm" rule as listed in the DMG, which uses a weapon attack against an adversary’s Dexterity (Acrobatics) or Strength (Athletics) check to determine whether or not a disarm action succeeds.

Could a Thief rogue disarm an enemy in combat using Sleight of Hand as a bonus action?