Why does TempDB spill happen even though statistics are correct?

I read a great article published by Brent Ozar and came up with some questions related to memory grant. I am unable to address my questions in the comment section of his article, so I thought to get any help from here.

  1. Question: How much data is spilled into disk? 400 MB or 60 MB(7643KB*8)?

in the article he states:

And no matter how many times I update statistics, I’ll still get a ~400MB spill to disk.

I am kinda confused here(

enter image description here enter image description here

  1. Question: If everything is okay with estimates, stats are up to date, box has sufficient memory, and no queries were running at that time, then why does spill to disk happen?

look at the estimated number of rows versus the actual number of rows. They’re identical. The stats are fine.

I’m not using a small server, either: my virtual machine has 32GB RAM, and I’ve allocated 28GB of that to SQL Server. There are no other queries running at the same time – it’s just one lonely query, spilling to disk…

enter image description here

Is there any encryption mechanism where i can ensure that the decryption can only happen within my data center?

I have a requirement where i need to store confidential data in an encrypted format in the url, i understand POST with body is better approach but it is not an option for me. I am thinking of using a pass phrase based AES 128 bit encryption for encrypting the query string parameter. The concern i have is that the url could get cached in different parts of the internet and if the pass phrase is exposed somehow then it could be used to decrypt these values.

What would happen if you cast Simulacrum on a shapechanger?

While there are many kinds of shapechangers in the D&D universe, such as vampires, lycanthropes (all of them), imps, doppelganger and channelings, there isn’t much said about how they interact with the Simulacrum spell.

The Simulacrum spell states:

You shape an illusory duplicate of one beast or humanoid that is within range for the entire casting time of the spell. The duplicate is a creature, partially real and formed from ice or snow, and it can take actions and otherwise be affected as a normal creature. It appears to be the same as the original, but it has half the creature’s hit point maximum and is formed without any equipment. Otherwise, the illusion uses all the statistics of the creature it duplicates, except that it is a construct. […]

Does this mean that a polymorphed being (be it from spell, curse or natural ability) would be copied in their current form? or would their "true form" immerge in the snow?

I can see this being quite useful either way:

  • Your party’s changeling studies and creates a persona of the king or an important person, then you create a simulacrum of the changeling king. Now you have 2 or 3 walking talking kings to create all sorts of chaos.
  • Though it would take 12 hours, if Simulacrum would reveal a true form, one could easily prove who is the real king by simulacruming one of the copies.

Playing a module with some friends and I am unknowingly guessing what will happen next in the module and its angering the DM

Just as the title says, me and my friends wanted to play some D&D and they picked a module that would be easy to us some of us in since they were new to D&D. Apparently through parts of the module, my character and by extension myself since I never played that particular module, was doing actions and guessing the motives and actions of the npcs and the enemy we were dealing with. As a result this is pissing off the DM and one of the other players because they hate metagaming.

But is it really metagaming when I am just getting lucky with what happens next cause I am playing my character smart and clever? Should I tone it down with the lucky guesses or is this a sign that I should probably stop playing with them cause it might lead to blows or a fight with the group?

[ Politics ] Open Question : Why does BLM base their origins on something that didn’t happen?

BLM started when it was reported that Michael Brown was shot even though he was just standing there with his hands up. Eventually the truth came out. The DOJ investigated and learned that Brown charged the officer before he was shot. That happened under Obama and even Obama admitted that the police were justified in their actions (shooting Brown). In essence, BLM is based on a lie and still chant “Hands up, don’t shoot” at “protests”. If they were honest, shouldn’t they abandon that phrase? “The movement became nationally recognized for street demonstrations following the 2014 deaths of two African Americans: Michael Brown …and Eric Garner” https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Black_Lives_Matter

What would happen if you cast true polymorph in a creature affected by the Enlarge/Reduce spell? [duplicate]

Partially inspired by this answer, what size of an object could you create with True Polymorph if the target was affected by Enlarge/Reduce? And what size would the object be after Enlarge/Reduce wears off?

True Polymorph says (among other things) (emphasis mine):

Creature into Object. If you turn a creature into an object, it transforms along with whatever it is wearing and carrying into that form, as long as the object’s size is no larger than the creature’s size. The creature’s statistics become those of the object, and the creature has no memory of time spent in this form, after the spell ends and it returns to its normal form.

Enlarge/Reduce says:

Enlarge. The target’s size doubles in all dimensions, and its weight is multiplied by eight. This growth increases its size by one category– from Medium to Large, for example. […]

Reduce. The target’s size is halved in all dimensions, and its weight is reduced to one-eighth of normal. This reduction decreases its size by one category–from Medium to Small, for example. […]

The two spells both require concentration so they would of course have to be cast by two different people. The options I see here are

  1. Medium creature is enlarged to a Large creature and then polymorphed into a Large object. Spell wears off and the Large object is now Medium object since it’s still a valid target for E/R.

  2. Medium creature is enlarged to a Large creature and then polymorphed into a Large object. Spell wears off and the Large object is still a Large object as it’s no longer the original target of the spell since it targeted a creature in this instance.

  3. Medium creature is enlarged to a Large creature and then polymorphed into a Medium object since the creature is normally Medium. E/R ends.

  4. Some option I haven’t thought of.

Do legendary actions trigger effects that happen at the beginning of the monster’s turn?

Consider this scenario. The monster is standing in the area of the cleric’s spirit guardians. As written, the monster takes damage at the beginning of its turn as long as it’s standing in the field. Suppose, however, that the monster takes a legendary action before its turn in initiative order. Does this trigger the effect of the spirit guardians, in addition to the normal trigger that would happen at the beginning of its regular turn? My ruling on the matter during the game was that it did not… This would seem to violate the whole purpose of legendary actions, resulting in a massive debuff of the monster (i.e. taking double spirit guardian damage simply because it took another turn in the initiative order).

What would happen if you try to mount a creature of your own size?

The rules state the following in terms of suitable mounts:

[The DM has] the final decision on what is or is not a suitable mount. At its most basic level, a mount should have the following characteristics:

Able and willing to carry its rider in a typical fashion. (A camel is able and willing. A tiger might be capable but may not be willing. A giant might be willing but not truly able.) At least one size category larger than the character. Also, a flying mount can carry no more than a light load aloft.

Emphasis mine. However, what are the consequences of trying to mount a creature of the same size or smaller than the character in question? Especially if the would-be mount otherwise does have the strength to carry the would-be rider?

Do multiple beams from Eldritch Blast happen simultaneously or not by RAW?

After reading Can you move between the separate attacks of a spell?, I was quite surprised to learn that eldritch blast can be considered to not fire the beams simultaneously.

Given that the spell’s duration is instantaneous, I assumed it was clean cut that they all fired simultaneously. However, Crawford seems to think differently:

Jeremy Soard: @JeremyECrawford Eldritch Blast: are the attacks resolved in parallel or sequence? Do you have to pick all the targets first before rolling?

JeremyECrawford: Multiple attacks on the same turn aren’t simultaneous, unless a feature or spell says otherwise.

However, there are many who don’t accept Crawford’s rulings as being meaningful. However, it is enough for me to realise that it’s not as clean cut as I originally assumed.

I’m interested in knowing what the RAW interpretation is, discounting the above information from Crawford.

So, based on RAW, meaning only what’s printed in a published book, do multiple beams from eldritch blast happen simultaneously or not?

Note that I haven’t found any duplicate Q&As on this site, except possibly those that use the above quote from Crawford as an answer. I’m specifically asking about a RAW-only interpretation.