Will a mature animal companion with Haste get 2 actions when not commanded?

Will a mature animal companion with Haste get 2 actions when not commanded?

I tried to do this in a game, but the GM said I couldn’t and became irate when I asked why. He gave me an explanation that I didn’t think made sense. But instead of saying after the game we’ll figure it out, he became irate. Anyone have specific rules backing him up or why he is wrong?

How does the Quickened Spell metamagic interact with the Haste Spell?

Action + Bonus Action + Special Haste Action?

If an action + movement is taken, and a quickened spell is taken as a bonus action, and the quicken spell is Haste. This grants an action under these specific rules: Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action.

I believe that would be two spells and a melee attack, or one of the other Haste actions? Is there a caveat with the bonus action? I heard you can only cast a cantrip on the bonus action, but haven’t found it yet in the PHB.

Quicken: When you cast a spell that has a casting time of 1 action, you can spend 2 sorcery points to change the casting time to 1 bonus action for this casting.

Haste: Choose a willing creature that you can see within range. Until the spell ends, the target’s speed is doubled, it gains a +2 bonus to AC, it has an advantage on Dexterity saving throws, and it gains an additional action on each of its turns. That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action. When the spell ends, the target can’t move or take action until after its next turn, as a wave of lethargy sweeps over it.

Can I Haste, booming blade, green flame blade and smite?

So I am new to Dungeons and Dragons, and for a one shot my DM is planning on a battle royal. What I want to do is a level 10 divine soul sorcerer and 2 levels in paladin.

First round I cast haste then run away. Next turn I will cast booming blade with quicken to make it a bonus action. Then cast green flame blade. Finally I attack using Divine smite. Do these effects stack to make one really powerful attack?

I feel it shouldn’t work, since booming blade reads:

As part of the action used to cast this spell, you must make a melee attack with a weapon against one creature within the spell’s range, otherwise the spell fails.

I feel like I need to attack right after casting.

Can a Tabaxi’s Feline Agility be used with the Haste spells doubled speed?

A friend of mine played a one-shot and they were all told to make 20th level characters. He made an 18th level monk tabaxi with 2 levels in Rogue. He tried to make his character as fast as possible. My biggest concern was Feline Agility being paired with Haste (Cast by his gfs sorcerer).

Let’s start by breaking this down a bit.

The tabaxi is an 18th monk, so he gets a +30 to his speed, making his walking speed 60.

Then he took the mobile feat- making his walking speed 70.

If this tabaxi was affected by the Haste spell (see below) his walking speed would double, so now it is 140.

Haste (Pg. 250 PHB)

Until the spell ends, the target’s speed is doubled, it gains a +2 bonus to AC, it has advantage on Dexterity saving throws and it gains an additional action on each of its turns. That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon Attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action.

Cunning Action

You can take a bonus action on each of your turns in combat. This action can be used only to take the Dash, Disengage, or Hide action.

So far no problem… but now he wants to dash… three times.

140 (Current base walking speed) + 140 (Action used to dash) + 140 (Hasted action) + 140 (Bonus action dash from the rogue’s Cunning action) = 560 feet.

And now he wants to use feline agility to make his total movement for the round 1120 feet.

Feline Agility (Volo’s Guide to Monsters, p. 115)

When you move on your turn in combat, you can double your speed until the end of the turn.

This feels extremely excessive (Because I think that speed would be over 150 miles per hour), but usually, I care more about everyone having fun than being a rules lawyer. But I am curious, Can Feline Agility and Haste’s doubling of speed stack?

Can lethargy from haste spell’s ending be dispelled?

Haste description says:

When the spell ends, the target can’t move or take actions until after its next turn, as a wave of lethargy sweeps over it.

Can this lethargy effect be dispelled using dispel magic? Or maybe supressed inside an antimagic field? Is there any way to cheese out this negative side effect after enjoying haste?

Can I combine Haste, Green Flame Blade, Divine Smite, and Thunderous Smite like this?

This question is asking if my coup de grace manoeuvre action-sequence, that could only be pulled off once per long rest, is working as intended. I’ll try to keep what I am trying to do as simple as possible.

In this scenario, I am a level 5 sorcerer and level 2 paladin.

Round one; cast haste on self.

Round two; try to hit target with longsword casting green flame blade, and expending a level 3 spell slot for divine smite, then follow up with a second attack using my 2nd lvl 3 level spell slot for a 2nd divine smite, but with my bonus action stop concentrating on haste, and cast thunderous smite as a bonus action, landing the hit for a total of: 1d8+2+4d8+1d6+1d8+2+4d8+2d6.

For the sake of this question, let’s assume I have all of my spell slots unused.

Does the Witch Bolt spell end when you take an action granted by the Haste spell?

I asked a similar question “How do the Haste spell and Turn Undead interact?” and, perhaps I’m wrong, but it seems that the answer there says that even haste’s action is limited by Turn Undead, that Turn Undead controls not just your action but also haste’s action.

I’m wondering then how this works with the witch bolt spell which states:

[…] The spell ends if you use your action to do anything else […]

Since Turn Undead has control over haste’s action, does witch bolt have control over it as well, meaning that witch bolt would end if you use haste’s action?

On the turn after Haste ends, can you use a reaction?

The description of the Haste spell concludes with:

When the spell ends, the target can’t move or take actions until after its next turn, as a wave of lethargy sweeps over it.

Could the target still use a reaction (to, say, throw up a Shield spell if needed) or is a reaction considered a type of action?

Since the spell depends on concentration, it could end unexpectedly if the caster loses concentration on it, leaving the target in a perilous situation.

How do the Haste spell and Turn Undead interact?

There are a few features like Turn Undead which state:

A turned creature […] also can’t take reactions. For its action, it can use only the Dash action or try to escape from an effect that prevents it from moving. If there’s nowhere to move, the creature can use the Dodge action.

The haste spell states:

Until the spell ends, the target […] gains an additional action on each of its turns. That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon Attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action.

I’m wondering what all “for its action” includes:
Does the Turn Undead feature require to use your “normal action” to take the Dash action? Can you use the action granted by haste instead of your “normal action”? Perhaps Turn Undead requires both of your actions to be used to take the Dash action?

One reason this matters is if you can make multiple attacks with the Attack action, you would want to take the Dash action using your “haste action” and then take the Attack action using your “normal action”.