Can a Hexblade warlock choose a lance for his Hex Warrior weapon?

The lance description says:

a lance requires two hands to wield when you aren’t mounted.

Note that the lance lacks the two handed property but still need 2 hands to wield.

The Hexblade warlock’s Hex Warrior feature description (Xanathar’s Guide to Everything, p. 55) says:

Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch one weapon that you are proficient with and that lacks the two-handed property.

Can I use the Hex Warrior feature with a lance?

Does the Hexblade Warlock’s Hex Warrior feature apply to a magic weapon that is transformed into your Pact Weapon?

The Hexblade Warlock’s Hex Warrior feature states (emphasis mine):

[…] If you later gain the Pact of the Blade feature, this benefit extends to every pact weapon you conjure with that feature, no matter the weapon’s type.

Meanwhile, the Pact of the Blade Warlock feature states:

[…] You can transform one magic weapon into your pact weapon by performing a special ritual while you hold the weapon. You perform the ritual over the course of 1 hour, which can be done during a short rest. You can then dismiss the weapon, shunting it into an extradimensional space, and it appears whenever you create your pact weapon thereafter. […]

Does a magic weapon that you have transformed into your pact weapon benefit from Hex Warrior?
Does it count as a weapon you have conjured using Pact of the Blade?
Does the answer change if you shunt the weapon away and then make it appear afterwards?

1) Can your Hexblade patron be your pact weapon even though it’s sentient?

I’m asking RAW, not "talk with your DM." Thank you for your help beforehand.

Pact of the Blade says "You can’t affect an artifact or sentient weapon in this way" in regards to making a magic weapon your pact weapon.

A Hexblade is a sentient magic weapon, as read in XGtE, "a force that manifests in sentient magic weapons…"

It sounds to me like you cannot turn your patron into your pact weapon, which would be very self defeating because you’re effectively making a contract with a living weapon to be able to better wield other weapons.

Am I interpreting this correctly or overthinking it?

What entity might inhabit the weapon of a Tiefling Hexblade with Levistus bloodline?

I’m planning to play a Tiefling Hexblade with Levistus bloodline. The weapon of this Hexblade should be inhabited by an entity that was sent by Levistus. What entity could that be? Demons don’t work together with Devils, so that’s not an option. Another devil? Is it possible for a lower devil to inhabit objects? A ghost like entity seems wrong, too.

As a Hexblade warlock , does a Finesse weapon use CHA as a damage modifier?

So the description of a Finesse weapon is that when you make and attack and damage roll , you use either Strenght or Dexterity . And it must be the same stat for both rolls. However , Hex Warrior says that as a warlock you can use your Charisma as an attack modifier. Now since the finesse weapon description states that both rolls must be the same , and Hex Warrior modifies it to Charisma , does that mean that the damage roll also uses Charisma modifier , since they have to be the same?

D&D Hexblade with Pact of Blade, DC check?

Hello my DM and I are having a disagreement over how the Pact Weapon from POB is summoned.

Specifically, as a Hexblade with POB, when I choose to summon my pact weapon as whatever, sword, axe, anything, do i have to roll a D20 to see if i successfully call it to me? Irregardless if I’m changing its form or if I’m recalling its previous form.

I’ve done some looking into the subject and haven’t found a single reference to one being needed as the POB description states;

"You can use your action to create a pact weapon in your empty hand. You can choose the form that this melee weapon takes each time you create it."

Am i missing something? His view seems to be POB is the same as the pact I’ve made with my Patron (aka simply the fact I’m a warlock and that’s the backstory of how we have/do magic) and thus just as i need a DC to cast say Eldritch blast, or any other spell, i need one to call/summon my POB Weapon.

Thoughts/answers?

Could a Hexblade warlock be plausible in a low magic campaign?

I am planning on running a low magic campaign for my friend group, wanting to try a more gritty style campaign, and have an excuse to use the renaissance guns from the DMG. I ruled that I would allow magic as long as it was logical for the setting. For example, since the artificer class cast their spells via little gadgets and stuff, I ruled that as ok. One of my players reached out to me about potentially playing as a Hexblade Warlock, and they seemed pretty excited about it. I’m having trouble seeing as to how I could integrate this high magic character into the setting I made. I know that a hexblade is more combat-oriented, but I haven’t really been able to explain the eldritch invocations or spells outside of Eldritch Blast. I don’t want to just ok it without explanation, but I also don’t want to just shoot then down. I was considering seeing if they would mind playing a fighter with a sentient weapon, but I figured I might ask here first to see if anyone has had a similar situation or has any potential solutions.

Does a Hexblade Warlock’s Hex Warrior feature allow them to use Thirsting Blade on a non-pact weapon?

My question is, Can I use Thirsting Blade with my non-Pact weapon?

Example, I have a +3 Magic Longbow that I used the Pact of the Blade ritual to transform it into my Pact Weapon. (I can Only pull this now when I summon it and can’t get a sword)

I can use the Hex Warrior to channel my will through 1 weapon I touch to use my Charisma Modifier for the attack and damage rolls. (once per long rest)

Would I still be able to attack twice when taking the attack action with the Sword even though it’s not my Pact Weapon?

  • The Hex Warrior feature says (XGtE 55-56) :

    The influence of your patron also allows you to mystically channel your will through a particular weapon. Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch one weapon that you are proficient with and that lacks the two-handed property. When you attack with that weapon, you can use your Charisma modifier, instead of Strength or Dexterity, for the attack and damage rolls. This benefit lasts until you finish a long rest. If you later gain the Pact of the Blade feature, this benefit extends to every pact weapon you conjure with that feature, no matter the weapon’s type.

  • Thirsting Blade, PHB 111

You can attack with your pact weapon twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn.