Cleaving Smash (from Weapon Trick – Two-Handed Weapon):
When you use Cleave, you can add the additional damage from Vital Strike to both your initial and your secondary attacks. If you also have the Greater Vital Strike feat, you can instead add the damage from Improved Vital Strike to both your initial and your secondary attacks.
While raging, when you use the Vital Strike feat, you can choose not to roll your damage dice and instead deal damage equal to the maximum roll possible on those damage dice. If you do, your rage immediately ends, and you are fatigued (even if you would not normally be).
Does Furious Finish apply to both hits of Cleaving Smash, or does rage suddenly end mid-swing?
Or are they not compatible at all since Cleaving Smash doesn’t directly state that you’re actually using the Vital Strike "feat", only that you’re getting all the benefits of it?
According to PHB p. 194 you always score a critical hit on any attack roll.
Does this rule also apply to magical attacks, e.g. the inflict wounds spell?
My thinking behind this is to do with the property of Adamantine Armour which states that "While you’re wearing it, any critical hit against you becomes a normal hit" (DMG, p.150).
I wondered if there are any creatures in the officially published materials that have this feature "naturally"? – possibly as a result of their skin/scales being so hard or because of another innate feature.
I am looking for answers with reference to creatures from 5e or previous editions.
I’m the new person in the D&D and I’ve got a polish version od Player’s Handbook. I’ve got some weird feeling that I do not understand well the Critical Hits mechanics or that paragraph is written in a weird style. Also, Mathew Mercer is saying something strange in one of his video.
One of my players is a 4 level Half-Orc Barbarian, and he uses a great axe (d12). He got funny passive from being the Half-Orc that makes him got one more dice on Critical Hits.
And there we got some problem.
If he rolls natural 20 on the attack test:
A) He has to roll 3d12 and add his strength? I mean that he has the first dice from a great axe, the second from the half-orc passive and the third from the natural 20?
B) He has to roll 4d12 then add his strength? I mean that he has the first dice from a great axe, the second from being half-orc and he has to double it cause he doubles all dices?
C) He has to roll 2d12, double that and add his strength? I mean that he has the first dice from a great axe, the second from the half-orc passive and doubling the damage not the dices? I have this idea cause Matthew is saying in one of his videos: "Critical means the damage dice you double. Roll for damage, double that, and add your modifier."
I know guys, that is a kinda stupid question but I’m starting being GM and after a couple of hours of doing the option "A", I’ve got some feeling that Critical Hits doesn’t matter.
I will preface this question by stating that the hypothetical situation proposed below will obviously only work as long you have a die with a number of faces equal to the number of enemies.
Suppose we have a party of PCs and they encounter 8 identical hostile enemies. Once of the PCs is a wizard, and decides to cast Fireball in such a way that it will hit all 8 enemies at once. Since we don’t roll to-hit with Fireball, all the enemies just make a Dexterity saving throw. These rolls would normally be rolled for each discrete enemy for a total of 8 individual rolls.
Would it be entirely unfair to roll a single d20 and a single d8, and if the d20 roll succeeds on the Dex save, rule that the 1d8 roll is the number of enemies take half (or full) damage, and the rest take full (or half) damage? Conversely, if the Dex save fails, all enemies take full damage.
I’m considering an approach to speeding up dice rolls for large packs of enemies, but I can’t really tell outright if the above scenario is unfair. My first impression is that it might skew based on saves or AC (if we’re rolling to-hit instead of for saves) and number of enemies.
For the example let us consider two sets of outcomes: one for a pack of Kobolds, and one for a group of Bandits.
I know this all essentially boils down to dice math, but I’m not the greatest at it and would appreciate the help evaluating whether this is fair, and what the reasonable thresholds are.
Suppose an enemy casts Time Stop and then makes an attack against me, rolling a 20 to hit against my 16 AC. Normally, I could cast Shield to cause this attack to miss. And of course, this attack also ends the Time Stop. So, does time start flowing "soon enough" for me to cast Shield against the attack that ends the Time Stop spell?
The first level spell Bane allows you to curse a creature so that each saving throw or attack roll is reduced by 1d4 for the duration:
Whenever a target [..] makes an attack roll or saving throw before the spell ends, the target must roll a d4 and subtract the number rolled from the attack roll or saving throw. (PHB 216)
How does this interact with an attack roll of natural 20?
I can see two possible interpretations:
Bane is stronger: A target under the effect of bane cannot make critical attacks, because 20 – 1d4 will always be < 20.
Critical is stronger: A target under the effect of bane can make crits, since crits occur on a natural 20, and the bane malus is applied after determining crit.
A good answer would include relevant rules text to show how this should be handled.
Does a reaction that causes me to move out of range after the spell is cast but before the spell hits cause it to miss?
A couple ways this can be done are
- Readied action to move with a trigger: target casts the spell
- Mage Slayer feat with a melee weapon attack that moves the caster
The new Psi Warrior Fighter subclass has the feature Psionic Power which has the following option:
Psionic Strike. You can propel your weapons with psionic force. Once on each of your turns, immediately after you hit a target within 30 feet of you with an attack and deal damage to it with a weapon, you can expend one Psionic Energy die, rolling it and dealing force damage to the target equal to the number rolled plus your Intelligence modifier.
Is this ability affected by critical hits like a Paladin’s Divine Smite or does it deal extra damage independent from the attack?
A 5th level Warlock casts Repelling Blast, firing 2 beams at the same target. The first one hits, pushing the target back 10 feet. Does the second attack roll come before or after the target is pushed away?
Two scenarios (both came up in play):
- The opponent is a ghost who is 5 feet away from a wall. The first blast pushes the ghost through the wall. If the second attack is before the repulsion, both beams hit. If it is after, the wall would block the second beam.
- The opponent is an ordinary creature that is 5 feet away from the caster. The first roll was taken with disadvantage. If the second attack is before the repulsion, then that attack is also with disadvantage. If it is after, then the caster is no longer within 5 feet of an enemy, so the second attack is not at disadvantage.
This question is inspired by this other question.