Does a wizard need to hold a component pouch or focus in one hand in order for it to work?

One of my PCs is a (weird) wizard who is frequently switching quickly between items—one turn he’s wielding a quarterstaff two-handed, the next he’s got a component pouch and a dagger, and after that, he’s going back to the two-handed quarterstaff to prepare for an attack of opportunity.

We often find ourselves in situations where we’re not sure if the rules on action economy actually allow for him to cast some of these spells. For clarification, this question is two-fold:

  • If a focus is merely worn, can a wizard still cast his spells?
  • If it fits, can the wizard hold a component or focus in the same hand that performs somatic components?

Character moves up too fast when i hold “A” or “D” while also holding space. How do i fix this?

void Game::ProcessInput()// for all general inputs. {

const Uint8* state = SDL_GetKeyboardState(NULL); SDL_Event e; while (SDL_PollEvent(&e) != 0) {     switch (e.type)     {     case SDL_QUIT:         mIsRunning = false;         break;     case SDL_KEYUP:         break;     } }  changeLocation.x = 0;   if (state[SDL_SCANCODE_ESCAPE]) {     mIsRunning = false; } if (state[SDL_SCANCODE_D]) {     changeLocation.x = 1; } if (state[SDL_SCANCODE_A]) {     changeLocation.x = -1;  } if (state[SDL_SCANCODE_W]) {     changeLocation.y = -2; } if (state[SDL_SCANCODE_S]) {     changeLocation.y = 1;  } if (state[SDL_SCANCODE_SPACE] && jumpReset > 0) {     changeLocation.y -= 20;     jumpReset = 0;      } 

}

void Game::UpdateGame()//For all game physics and logic. { character.x = location.x; character.y = location.y; character.h = 123; character.w = 58;

wall[0].x = 0; wall[0].y = 990; wall[0].h = 20; wall[0].w = 1000;  wall[1].x = 0; wall[1].y = 700; wall[1].h = 20; wall[1].w = 200;  wall[2].x = 500; wall[2].y = 500; wall[2].h = 20; wall[2].w = 150;  while (!SDL_TICKS_PASSED(SDL_GetTicks(), mTicksCount + 16));  float deltaTime = (SDL_GetTicks() - mTicksCount) / 1000.0f;  if (deltaTime > 0.05f) {     deltaTime = 0.05f; }   {     character.x = location.x;     character.y = character.y + changeLocation.y;     if (!checkCollision())     {         location.y += changeLocation.y * 50.0f * deltaTime;     }     else         //std::cout << "Hitting something below me" << std::endl;         jumpReset = 2;      } if (changeLocation.x != 0) {     character.x = location.x + changeLocation.x;     character.y = location.y;        if (!checkCollision())     {         location.x += changeLocation.x * 50.0f * deltaTime;     } } else          changeLocation.y = 1; 

}

void Game::GenerateOutput() { SDL_RenderClear(gRenderer);

SDL_SetRenderDrawColor(gRenderer, 0, 0, 0, 255);  if (changeLocation.y < 0) {     getFrameUpAndDown(1, location.x, location.y); } else if (changeLocation.x > 0 )  {     frameToDraw = ((SDL_GetTicks() - startTime) * 6 / 1000) % 4;          getFrameRight(frameToDraw, location.x, location.y); } else if (changeLocation.x < 0 ) {     frameToDraw = ((SDL_GetTicks() - startTime) * 6 / 1000) % 4;     getFrameLeft(frameToDraw, location.x, location.y); } else      getFrameUpAndDown(0, location.x, location.y);   SDL_RenderFillRect(gRenderer, &wall[0]); SDL_RenderFillRect(gRenderer, &wall[1]); SDL_RenderFillRect(gRenderer, &wall[2]);    SDL_SetRenderDrawColor(gRenderer, 0xFF, 0xFF, 0xFF, 0xFF); SDL_RenderPresent(gRenderer); 

}

Can I cast spells that require a material component and still hold my hammer and shield?

I have a human cleric (war domain) with the War Caster feat. She holds a warhammer and a shield. Am I able to cast spells that require a material component and still hold my hammer and shield?

If not, then what are my options for casting a spell that requires material components? Do I drop the shield or warhammer? Does it cost a free action, move action, etc.?

How many things can a person hold and use at one time?

I’m learning to play / DM, and watching various videos on line and experimenting. One scenario came up on which I’d appreciate clarification:

The situation is a human wizard has descended some stairs into a dark room. They have taken a torch from the wall in the room above, and they’re carrying their staff in the other hand. They get down to the lower room, and find a handaxe on the floor. The character says: "I pick up the hand axe". My question is: does that imply that the player is now holding two things in one hand? I can’t imagine somehow stowing the staff in my robe… nor can I hold the torch in my teeth — sure I could probably manage to hold both a torch and an axe, or some other combination of two things at once, but I doubt I’d be very proficient… maybe the character switches the staff to the hand with the torch, and uses their dominant hand to use the axe?

How would you handle this as a DM? Just hand-wave it? Ask where the player is going to put either the torch or the staff? Or call out that they’re carrying the torch and the staff in one hand.. make a dexterity check to see if the torch is dropped? Or am I just over-thinking this?

As the action unfolds, the wizard then casts a spell with a somatic component, despite having three things in two hands… they then throw the axe (now just maybe they have two things in one hand) and cast another spell with a somatic component…

Am I just being pedantic here?

Can Minotaur Players be targeted by Hold Person and other similar spells?

Hold person specifies that it can only target humanoids:

Choose a humanoid that you can see within range[…]

The Minotaur creature stat block from the Monster Manual lists them as monstrosities, not humanoids, however nothing is mentioned of that in the racial stat block in Guildmasters’ Guide to Ravnica or Mythic Odyssey of Theros. Can a PC Minotaur still be targeted by the Hold Person spell, or other spells that specifically target Humanoids?

The only similar things I could find are the racial stat blocks for satyrs and centaurs, which have the change of being the fey creature type, rather than humanoid:

Fey. Your creature type is fey, rather than humanoid.

Does this imply all other player races are humanoid?

Does Hold Person cast on a Spider Climbing NPC affect their ability stay on a vertical surface?

An NPC spell caster that is using spider climb at the top of a 30′ pillar where it meets the ceiling is magically held by hold person. I have two related questions:

  1. When Hold Person goes into effect, does the NPC fall, or does the Spider Climb magic (which is still in effect) keep his hands and feet bound to the pillar and leaving him suspended 30′ off the floor?

  2. Assuming he does not fall immediately, if the party shoots him with an arrow or other ranged attack, since Dex checks auto-fail when Paralyzed, would that knock him off (and thus fall for 3d6 damage).

Is a Rusting Grasp touch attack a standard action and do you have to hold the charge for the duration of the spell?

The druid spell Rusting Grasp (PH 273) says

You may employ rusting grasp in combat with a successful melee touch attack.

and

The spell lasts for 1 round per level, and you can make one melee touch attack per round.

Most touch spells have one "charge", you cast them and then discharge them with a successful touch attack. There are also some spells which grant more than one charge (like Chill Touch (PH 209) which can be used "up to one time per level").

A touch spell that lasts for a fixed duration limiting the number of attacks to one per round seems to be very unusual.

My two questions are:

  • Can you make just a single melee touch attack per round – as a standard action? Or can you make more than one attack (if, for instance, the druid uses Wild Shape and has a couple of natural attacks) but only one of your attacks can deliver the spell?
  • Do you have to hold the charge* for the duration of the spell (and lose the spell if you cast another one) or does the spell simply last for one round/level giving you a "new charge" every round until it expires?

*Touch Spells and Holding the Charge: In most cases, if you don’t discharge a touch spell on the round you cast it, you can hold the charge (postpone the discharge of the spell) indefinitely. You can make touch attacks round after round. If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates.