Can you benefit from Horde Breaker if you attack as part of Booming Blade or Green Flame Blade?

The booming blade and green-flame blade cantrips from the Sword Coast Adventurer’s Guide both have the particularity of including a single melee weapon attack as part of their casting.

Several martial abilities, like Extra Attack or the Martial Arts’s bonus attack, do not work with these cantrips because they require the Attack action to be used.

However, the Hunter Ranger’s Horde Breaker ability (which lets you do an additional attack on another target with the same weapon once per turn) only requires an attack with a weapon, not necessarily the Attack action. Therefore, I’m wondering if a Hunter Ranger with Horde Breaker could get that additional-attack-on-different-target-with-same-weapon when using booming blade or green-flame blade.

Does Horde breaker work with crossbows?

I’m curious about the interaction between the crossbow’s Loading property and the hunter ranger’s Horde Breaker class feature. Specifically, can a hunter ranger wielding a crossbow use the Horde Breaker feature to fire a second shot after they make an attack (using the Attack action)?

What makes me curious about this is that the wording of Horde Breaker just specifies that you make a second attack, without specifying how this fits into the action economy: is it part of the Attack action, or is it an attack you can make not as part of any action? This answer seems to suggest that Horde Breaker occurs outside the usual action economy, but this seems surprising to me. For reference, the rules text for the two abilities is below (emphasis mine).

Horde Breaker: Once on each of your turns when you make a weapon attack, you can make another attack with the same weapon against a different creature that is within 5 feet of the original target and within range of your weapon.

Loading: Because of the time required to load this weapon, you can fire only one piece of Ammunition from it when you use an action, Bonus Action, or Reaction to fire it, regardless of the number of attacks you can normally make.

How does the Hunter ranger’s Horde Breaker feature interact with the Mounted Combatant feat’s ability to redirect an attack to the rider?

Roger is a Hunter ranger that has chosen the Horde Breaker option for the Hunter’s Prey class feature (Player’s Handbook, p. 93):

Once on each of your turns when you make a weapon attack, you can make another attack with the same weapon against a different creature that is within 5 feet of the original target and within range of your weapon.

Roger fires an arrow at Michael, a creature with the Mounted Combatant feat who is currently astride a horse. Roger then uses the Horde Breaker feature to fire a second arrow at Michael’s mount. Michael uses the second bullet point of the Mounted Combatant feat (Player’s Handbook, p. 168) to change the target of Roger’s attack:

You can force an attack targeted at your mount to target you instead.

Does Michael get targeted by two attacks? Or is the second attack no longer permitted, because Michael is not a valid target for Roger’s Horde Breaker attack?

Can I combine Martial Arts and Horde Breaker?

Can I use the martial arts feature on the second attack granted by horde breaker?

I.e., hit the first target with a weapon, use martial arts to unarmed strike, then use hoard breaker to jump to the second target and repeat?

I know I can’t use Horde Breaker multiple times, perhaps I was unclear in that. My question is, does Horde Breaker give me another full attack round thus allowing me to use Martial Arts again in that attack’s bonus round?

Do the Hunter ranger’s Extra Attack, Whirlwind Attack, and/or Horde Breaker features work together?

At level 5, all rangers get the Extra Attack feature:

Beginning at 5th level, you can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn.

At level 3, the Hunter ranger archetype gets Hunter’s Prey, which lets them choose from 3 possible features. One option is Horde Breaker:

Once on each of your turns when you make a weapon attack, you can make another attack with the same weapon against a different creature that is within 5 feet of the original target and within range of your weapon.

At level 11, Hunters gain the Multiattack feature, which lets them choose between the Whirlwind Attack and Volley options. Whirlwind Attack says:

You can use your action to make a melee attack against any number of creatures within 5 feet of you, with a separate attack roll for each target.

Am I right that Whirlwind Attack can not be used with Extra Attack, because you do not use the Attack action to make a Whirlwind Attack? Generally, can Extra Attack be used with any of the Hunter ranger’s special attacks?

I think with Horde Breaker, the “different creature” clause excludes any creature originally targeted with Whirlwind Attack. This means unless you have a reach weapon, Horde Breaker is useless with Whirlwind Attack. Am I mistaken?

Can a Hunter ranger, can the Horde Breaker feature target a creature within 5 feet of any target attacked that turn, or only the most recent target?

I play a Hunter ranger using longbow attacks in a D&D 5e game. I’m trying to understand how the Horde Breaker feature works.

Say there are two targets within 5 feet of each other in one area (Target A&B). Then there are another two targets within 5 feet of each other in another area (Target C&D). I have both the Extra Attack and Horde Breaker features. I attack Target A, then with my Extra Attack I attack Target C.

Now I want to use Horde Breaker. Can I select Target B from the first duo? Or must I select Target D from the second duo because that was my last attack?


In another scenario, there are two targets within 5 feet of each other in one area (Target A&B), then there is another target about 20 feet away by itself (Target C). I attack Target A, then with my Extra Attack, I attack Target C. Do I then forfeit using Horde Breaker because I didn’t use it to attack Target B?

Can you use an unarmed strike with the Hunter Ranger’s Horde Breaker feature?

The Hunter Ranger’s Horde Breaker feature states:

Once on each of your turns when you make a weapon attack, you can make another attack with the same weapon against a different creature that is within 5 feet of the original target and within range of your weapon.

We also know that unarmed strikes count as weapon attacks and in particular the Sage Advice Compendium states:

For example, an unarmed strike counts as a melee weapon attack, even though the attacker’s body isn’t considered a weapon.

However, the Horde Breaker feature states that you must make another attack within range of your weapon and unarmed strikes are not weapons. So can you use an unarmed strike with Horde Breaker?

Can Green-Flame Blade be cast twice with the Hunter ranger’s Horde Breaker ability?

I am currently working on a multiclassed Ranger/Sorcerer character, and I have decided to take the Hunter ranger archetype. The Horde Breaker option for the Hunter’s Prey feature seems to allow me to use the green-flame blade spell twice in one round.

Horde Breaker reads:

Once on each of your turns when you make a weapon attack, you can make another attack with the same weapon against a different creature that is within 5 feet of the original target and within range of your weapon.

This ability does not mention taking the Attack action, just making an attack.

The green-flame blade cantrip (SCAG, p. 143) reads:

As part of the action used to cast this spell, you must make a melee attack with a weapon against one creature within the spell’s range, otherwise, the spell fails. On a hit, the target suffers the attack’s normal effects, and green fire leaps from the target to a different creature of your choice that you can see within 5 feet of it. The second creature takes fire damage equal to your spellcasting ability modifier.

Green-flame blade also requires you to make an attack roll.

Am I missing anything, or can I cast green-flame blade twice in one round using this ability?

Is there a limit to how many enemies can be attacked using the Hunter ranger’s Volley, Horde Breaker, and the second attack?

From other questions on here, I know that both Horde Breaker and Volley can be used together, as discussed here: Do the Hunter ranger's Horde Breaker and Volley features interact?

Is there any limit to how many enemies you can attack using this combo if they fall into the 10-foot radius of the initial Volley?

Say there is a shield-wall type of formation of enemies, all nicely lined up side by side and multiple rows deep. In theory, based on the phrasing of Volley, you can use Volley to attack every creature in the 10-foot radius, potentially attacking 16 targets – and you can use Horde Breaker on any that are within 5 feet of the point of origin. If the origin is the middle of the group, then possibly 8 additional targets – and then use Volley again for your second attack as a Hunter, making 40 total attack rolls in this situation (assuming they are all lined up nicely). Is this correct?

In my current campaign, we have stumbled into a war-torn region where large armies of Orcs are massing (my preferred enemy), and I’d love to use this loop hole if they end up lining up nicely for me.