Hunger of Hadar has a curious wording:
A 20-foot-radius sphere of blackness and bitter cold appears, centered on a point with range and lasting for the duration.
Compare this to Fireball:
A bright streak flashes from your pointing finger to a point you choose within range then blossoms with a low roar into an explosion of flame. […] The fire spreads around corners.
Magical darkness spreads from a point you choose within range to fill a 15-foot radius sphere for the duration. The darkness spreads around corners.
Total cover rule here states:
A target with total cover can’t be targeted directly by an attack or a spell, although some spells can reach such a target by including it in an area of effect.
What would allow or require Hunger of Hadar to appear in a different shape or size?
Most simply this would be mundane walls, though I guess manufacturing a glass container of desired shape wouldn’t be hard, and then there’re spells like Force Cage and Leomund’s Tiny Hut. These would block most spells, but the HoH spell description is very explicit… a 20-foot radius sphere appears, no buts, no ifs. Is there a rule which would override the HoH description?
Can a character with darkvision see into Hunger of Hadar? This assumes the character is not inside the spells area, and therefore not blinded.
This has come up a few times on this stackexchange, but never really answered.
The hunger of Hadar spell (PHB, p. 251) creates a black void of darkness, which cannot be penetrated by light. This means that no one can see in […]
is stated in this question, without any rules to back it up.
I’m not even going to go into the debate about whether darkvision can see through hunger of hadar
From this question
Therefore I think a seperate question is warranted.
A killer whale is breaking up through ice, flying through the air, then submerging back into the water. If one was to cast hunger of hadar under the whale while it is in the air, can it cross through back into the water?
A month ago my character came across a magical staff with Hadar’s Hunger. I attuned to it but I still have no idea what its stats are. I don’t know what campaign we were playing, but I remember it had a Moat house, giant rats, a carrion crawler, and a basement. I stole the staff from some wizard guy(can’t remember the race) who disappeared after we beat him. I don’t know the exact D&D edition this campaign is from, I only know the campaign wasn’t from 5e since the carrion crawler stats didn’t line up with the one from my monster manual.
So, what magical item am I holding? This is actually the first time I’ve ever had a magical item, and I’m really curious as to what it is.
The hunger of Hadar spell (PHB, p. 251) creates a black void of darkness, which cannot be penetrated by light. This means that no one can see in, and those inside cannot see at all, which is a handy way to damage and control enemies since they don’t know which way is out.
This also means that characters cannot easily attack those inside.
The Devil’s Sight eldritch invocation, however, enables a warlock to see normally in magical and non-magical darkness.
Does this enable the warlock to see into the area of blackness created by hunger of Hadar and attack creatures inside? Are there any other sight mechanics that allow someone to see in or out of the spell?
The hunger of Hadar spell states:
You open a gateway to the dark between the stars, a region infested with unknown horrors. A 20-foot-radius sphere of blackness and bitter cold appears, centered on a point with range and lasting for the duration. This void is filled with a cacophony of soft whispers and slurping noises that can be heard up to 30 feet away. No light, magical or otherwise, can illuminate the area, and creatures fully within the area are blinded.
The void creates a warp in the fabric of space, and the area is difficult terrain. Any creature that starts its turn in the area takes 2d6 cold damage. Any creature that ends its turn in the area must succeed on a Dexterity saving throw or take 2d6 acid damage as milky, otherwordly tentacles rub against it.
And the daylight spell states:
A 60-foot-radius sphere of light spreads out from a point you choose within range. The sphere is bright light and sheds dim light for an additional 60 feet.
If you chose a point on an object you are holding or one that isn’t being worn or carried, the light shines from the object and moves with it. Completely covering the affected object with an opaque object, such as a bowl or a helm, blocks the light.
If any of this spell’s area overlaps with an area of darkness created by a spell of 3rd level or lower, the spell that created the darkness is dispelled.
Which of these spells is more specific and wins out over the other? What happens if their areas overlap?
Hunger of Hadar reads: “The Void creates a warp in the fabric of space, and the area is difficult terrain. Any creature that starts its turn in the area takes 2d6 cold damage. Any creature that ends its turn in the area must succeed on a dexterity saving throw or take 2d6 acid as milky, other, otherworldly tentacles rub against it.”
Does that mean if two different warlocks drop HoHs simultaneously on the same area, creatures within those tentacles suffer 4d6 cold and possibly 4d6 acid and more significantly 1/4 speed movement? Role playing-wise there are double the number of tentacles. combat-wise AoE spells of different types/schools stack or neutralize each other, so why wouldn’t two Hunger of Hadars double the effects?
I was reading about slaking hunger and the table on page 212, and there are several things which confuse me.
First, it says that you can slake 1-2 hunger without risk of harming the human. Staking 1 sip takes three turns and slakes 1 hunger, and slaking 2 hunger takes a scene.
Then down below it says that you can slake 1-4 hunger harmfully and it takes one turn per hunger slaked, and that the mortal must make a Str + Stam check with a DC equal to the hunger slaked.
Then at the bottom it says slaking 5 hunger kills a human.
I have a few questions. The thing that confuses me the most is that one sip, slaking 1 hunger, takes 3 turns – but down below, it says slaking 1 hunger takes one turn. Does that mean I have to slake 3 hunger before it becomes deadly? Or is it if you want to feed quickly and do it forcefully that it becomes dangerous?
What if I slake 3 hunger?
What is the maximum hunger I can slake from a mortal?
It also says on page 213 under bite attacks that for each blood slaked from a mortal, it deals 1 aggravated damage per turn and slakes one hunger per turn, whereas in the table on page 212, it says the first hunger slaked takes 3 turns and doesn’t deal damage.
So I am extremely confused. Because on page 122 under Willpower it says “Characters may not spend willpower to re-roll Hunger dice” But on page 205 it says “If the Hunger complication seems too dangerous in the moment, the player can (and should) opt to re-roll by spending Willpower (p. 122), either to get rid of regular 0’s to defuse a messy critical or to turn a failed roll into a success in the case of a bestial failure”
I’m GM-ing a WoD setting where the players have a very limited food supply(if any) are there any good methods for making sure that they have to eat to survive and applying penalties if they don’t?