How does Hunter’s Mark interact with Black Pudding Split? [duplicate]

This question already has an answer here:

  • How do I handle active effects on a creature that then splits? 3 answers

After reading this answer about how Hunter’s Mark interacts with a Roper, a question occurred to me.

In the answer, Rykara uses the Black Pudding as an example of a single monster that could become multiple distinct creatures, thanks to its Split Reaction:

When a pudding that is Medium or larger is subjected to lightning or slashing damage, it splits into two new puddings if it has at least 10 hit points. Each new pudding has hit points equal to half the original pudding’s, rounded down. New puddings are one size smaller than the original pudding.

In the Hunter’s Mark description, it says that:

If the target drops to 0 hit points before this spell ends, you can use a bonus action on a subsequent turn of yours to mark a new creature.

Given that, what would happen when a Large Black Pudding with 85hp, targeted by Hunter’s Mark, takes 15 slashing damage?

Of course, it will divide into two Medium Black Puddings, each with 35hp.

But what about the Hunter’s Mark?

Here’s the possibilities I thought about :

  1. The Hunter’s Mark just vanishes, as the original target didn’t reach 0hp.
  2. The Hunter’s Mark is transferred to one of the new Puddings, as it was a part of the original targeted Pudding.
  3. The Hunter’s Mark is transferred to both new Puddings, for the same reason as above, but as it requires Concentration, one Hunter’s Mark disappears (the remaining situation is the same as possibility 2)
  4. The ranger that used Hunter’s Mark on the original Pudding can use a bonus action to mark a new creature, as the original Pudding may be considered to have reached 0hp at the time it split.

Can Hunter’s Mark be moved after Silence has been cast on a character?

Situation:

In a battle sequence our Paladin (Oath of Vengeance) has successfully cast Hunter’s mark, later in the battle our Wizard cast Silence.

We know that Hunter’s Mark requires V (verbal) component to cast, but is it also required to “Move” the spell? Can the paladin move the “Hunter’s mark” to a new target when he has been silenced?

Can more than one creature benefit from Hunter’s Mark on the same target?

The Hunter’s Mark spell states :

You choose a creature you can see within range and mystically mark it as your quarry. Until the spell ends, you deal an extra 1d6 damage to the target whenever you hit it with a weapon attack, and you have advantage on any Wisdom (Perception) or Wisdom (Survival) check you make to find it. If the target drops to 0 hit points before this spell ends, you can use a bonus action on a subsequent turn of yours to mark a new creature.

Here are the rules on combining effects :

The effects of different spells add together while the durations of those spells overlap. The effects of the same spell cast multi pie times don’t combine, however. Instead, the most potent effect-such as the highest bonus-from those castings applies while their durations overlap. For example, if two clerics cast bless on the same target, that character gains the spell’s benefit only once; he or she doesn’t get to roll two bonus dice.

An interesting situation came up in tonight’s game where both a comrade (vengeance paladin) and myself (ranger) casted Hunter’s Mark on the same target and attacked it on our respective turns. I am wondering whether the above “effect combining” rule should have prevented both of us from benefiting from Hunter’s Mark on that same target or not. The reason I’m unsure is because unlike Bless, which solely affects the target(s), Hunter’s Mark seems to be more of a link between the caster and the target, and in some way, the caster is also the target of the spell… I don’t know how to phrase it well.

Can more than one creature benefit from Hunter’s Mark on the same target ?

How do the Pass without Trace and Hunter’s Mark spells interact?

I was running what was supposed to be a one-shot recently, where the party was tracking some unicorns. The party’s ranger used Hunter’s Mark on one of the unicorns, who then used pass without trace. The party then decided to check on some nearby NPCs, except that they also wanted to call it a night, which is probably convenient for me.

The Pass without Trace spell description says:

A veil of shadows and silence radiates from you, masking you and your companions from detection. For the duration, each creature you choose within 30 feet of you (including you) has a +10 bonus to Dexterity (Stealth) checks and can’t be tracked except by magical means. A creature that receives this bonus leaves behind no tracks or other traces of its passage.

The Hunter’s Mark spell description says:

You choose a creature you can see within range and mystically mark it as your quarry. Until the spell ends, you deal an extra 1d6 damage to the target whenever you hit it with a weapon attack, and you have advantage on any Wisdom (Perception) or Wisdom (Survival) check you make to find it. If the target drops to 0 hit points before this spell ends, you can use a bonus action on a subsequent turn of yours to mark a new creature.

The unicorns are probably going to be far enough away that the detection effects aren’t really going to be involved. But the tracking part… Well, Hunter’s Mark is definitely magical, but does a Survival check with Hunter’s Mark count as magical? And how would that even work if Pass without Trace leaves no traces behind?

Can unarmed strikes benefit from the Blood Hunter’s Crimson Rite feature even if they do not choose the Order of the Lycan subclass?

The Order of the Lycan’s Hybrid Transformation feature (for the homebrew Blood Hunter class by Matt Mercer) says:

Predatory Strikes. Your unarmed strikes are considered a single weapon in regards to your crimson rite feature.

The Crimson Rite feature says:

As a bonus action, you imbue a single weapon with the elemental energy of a known rite until your next short or long rest. While active, attacks from this weapon deal an additional 1d4 rite damage of the chosen elemental type. Rite damage is considered magical. The rite damage die changes as you gain blood hunter levels, as shown in the crimson rite damage die column of the blood hunter table. Should your weapon leave your grip, the rite fades immediately. An active rite on a weapon thrown fades directly after the attack is complete.

Can unarmed strikes benefit from the Crimson Rite feature even if the blood hunter’s chosen order is not Order of the Lycan?

How does the Blood Hunter’s bond with their weapon work?

Because I’ve read that blood hunters form a bond with their weapon, allowing them to harness the elements in a whirlwind of dangerous strikes.

Is this bond just a ritual-type thing and that’s it? Or is it more like a bond with the weapon as one would have with a living object?

My idea I want to go on is the weapon almost talks to the wielder and teaches them. Is that idea consistent with the flavor/mechanics of the class?

Do Blood Hunters with a Pact with the Undying gain the additional benefits from Warlock subclasses?

A Blood Hunter can join a Blood Hunter Order at level 3.

When a Blood Hunter joins the Order of the Profane Soul, they can make a Pact with the Undying and gain access to Pact Magic.

Looking at the Sword Coast Adventurer’s Guide, Warlocks with a Pact with the Undying gain additional benefits (Among the Dead, Defy Death, Undying Nature, Indestructible Life).

Do Blood Hunters with a Pact with the Undying gain these additional benefits?

Does using repeat spell on hunter’s mercy work?

Hunter’s mercy is a spell that appeared in several sources, the version we are using is the spell compendium one.

This transmutation makes a bow strike true. Your first hit with a bow (not including crossbows) in the next round is automatically a critical hit. If you don’t hit in the round following the casting of this spell, the effect is wasted.

This spell’s duration is 1 round but its effects are applied during your next round (unlike True Strike which has “Duration: see text” and it lasts until the end of your turn in the next round).
As far as i know if an effect lasts 1 round it ends before you take your turn in the next round (well, in general usually an effect that started on your turn ends before your turn in the round when it’s supposed to end…assuming it’s supposed to end).

So, my reasoning is that while the spell lasts 1 round, the effect takes place in the next, thus receiving another spell in the next round won’t make the second spell override the previous one (as usual when you cast the same spell with the same conditions twice). If my reasoning is correct it should work like this:

Turn 1: Cast repeat hunter’s mercy
Before Turn 2: 1st hunter’s mercy spell ends
Turn 2: 2nd hunter’s mercy is casted, 1st hunter’s mercy effect is applied
Before Turn 3: 2nd hunter’s mercy spell ends
Turn 3: 2nd hunter’s mercy effect is applied

Is this correct?

Is there official wording on whether a Hunter’s Quarry affects or is affected by “marks”?

I thought I read somewhere that Hunter’s Quarry worked like a mark, but I can’t find this in the rules. I’ve just recently started DMing 4e again and can’t remember where I picked that up. It may have not been official, but I don’t tend to remember non-official things. It looks as if it is not affected by the marking rules. Am I missing something or is it not written somewhere? I have the PHB and the last roll-up of Errata, but I can’t find anything on the subject which means to me that they are not related and I could have a monster that is both marked and has HQ applied.