Can the object created by Minor Illusion be carried or worn?

Looking at the RAW for Minor Illusion (PHB, page 260) and other questions, I recognize that Minor Illusion is very limited in its ability to move on its own or change its appearance. However, I’m wondering if the illusory object can be carried or worn as demonstrated in two examples:

  1. I want to convince a visiting noble that I’m the ruler of this small town, so before I meet him in the city center, I cast Minor Illusion to create a crown on my head. Assuming he doesn’t investigate (or fails) does it continue to sit naturally upon my head through normal movements?

  2. I’ve just stolen a historical battleaxe and the guard have been alerted to its absence. Can I choose someone who is rapidly walking away and cast an illusory version of the battleaxe strapped to his back as a diversion? Does this usage work until the illusion is investigated or interacted with (as normal.)

Are lower level illusion spells capable of producing illusions that animate passively?

Can lower level illusion spells, specifically minor illusion, silent image and major image, create an illusion that can passively animate itself without requiring any further input on your part?

There have been a couple of other Q&As about this but they don’t seem conclusive.

  • Can Minor Illusion create animated illusion to Follow a creature? – I answered this, but wasn’t able to find anything that specifically suggested that minor illusion or silent image can be passively animated, so I assumed they can’t be.
  • Is Silent Image animated if an action is not used to move it? – the top answer suggests that silent image at least needs your action to be able to do, but there are comments arguing the lack of RAW support:

    The phrasing in major image is almost identical. It says nothing about the image moving “passively”. – Szega Jun 22 ’18 at 8:50

I’m guessing the answer will be definitely no for minor illusion, probably no for silent image, but I’m not sure about major image, and in all 3 cases, I wouldn’t know how to prove these assertions from their respective spell descriptions.

How does Ring of X-Ray Vision interact with Illusion spells and similar effects?

Specifically, the ring states that “solid Objects within that radius appear transparent and don’t prevent light from passing through them”. Does it apply to solid objects created through illusion?

It seems unlikely that the ring works selectively, and illusions can’t plausibly “know” they are being viewed in that way.

By extension, the Ring of X-Ray Vision seems to allow its wearer to inspect the internal organs of a person (be it through selective sight if we consider it to work like Superman’s X-Ray Vision, or by standing 30 ft from the intended target so that the target’s body is only partially within the ring’s radius (RAW explanation). If that’s the case, do spells like Disguise Self also disguise the internal organs of an affected character in such a way as to fool a person with a Ring of X-Ray Vision?

For example, would the user of Ring of X-Ray Vision be able to tell if a target has a second heart, or has only one lung, or is undead (dead organs) if that target is affected by spells like Disguise Self?

Moreover, would a Ring of X-Ray Vision allow its user to see selectively through clothes? If so, what about illusory clothes and other illusory objects? I am thinking that it should, otherwise its wearer could use it to automatically detect any illusion, which is not what it says in the description (no truesight, just see through solid objects).

Does the target of sanctuary lose the effect of the spell if they attack an illusion?

This question is inspired by on this question but is focused on the sanctuary spell instead of the rage feature.

The last line of the Sanctuary spell is –

If the warded creature makes an attack or casts a spell that affects an enemy creature, this spell ends.

I am slightly doubtful of the split-up of this sentence, does it mean any attack (thus even attacking an object like a door could end the spell) or only attacks against creatures end the spell ?

On a second note if the target of Sanctuary attacks an illusion does it count as attacking/affecting an enemy creature ?

Does a barbarian keep their rage if they attack an illusion?

Here is the pertinent wording of the Rage feature:

Your rage lasts for 1 minute. It ends early if you are knocked unconscious or if your turn ends and you haven’t attacked a hostile creature since your last turn or taken damage since then.

Bobby the Barbarian is enraged. He attacks a nearby goblin at the end of his turn. Unfortunately this goblin turns out to be a silent image created by Presto the Wizard. Assuming Bobby has attacked no other creature nor taken any damage since his last turn, does his rage end?

Can Programmed Illusion respond to its environs, or must it perform the same thing every time?

Programmed Illusion:

You create an illusion of an object, a creature, or some other visible phenomenon within range that activates when a specific condition occurs. The illusion is imperceptible until then. It must be no larger than a 30-foot cube, and you decide when you cast the spell how the illusion behaves and what sounds it makes. This scripted performance can last up to 5 minutes. When the condition you specify occurs, the illusion springs into existence and performs in the manner you described. Once the illusion finishes performing, it disappears and remains dormant for 10 minutes. After this time, the illusion can be activated again. The triggering condition can be as general or as detailed as you like, though it must be based on visual or audible conditions that occur within 30 feet of the area. For example, you could create an illusion of yourself to appear and warn off others who attempt to open a trapped door, or you could set the illusion to trigger only when a creature says the correct word or phrase. Physical interaction with the image reveals it to be an illusion, because things can pass through it. A creature that uses its action to examine the image can determine that it is an illusion with a successful Intelligence (Investigation) check against your spell save DC. If a creature discerns the illusion for what it is, the creature can see through the image, and any noise it makes sounds hollow to the creature.

I suppose this really revolves around what the spell description means by “scripted performance”. Is this a script as in like a play, where it is acted out verbatim from start to finish, no matter how it is triggered? Or is it “scripted” in the sense of a bash script, where parameters can be specified such that it can respond to the environment? Can you have a conversation with this illusion? Can you have it refer to the weather or the time of day?

The thespian interpretation is supported by the fact that it calls it a “performance”.

The computational interpretation is supported by the fact that the spell is called “programmed illusion”. Also, the major image spell is able to carry on conversations, so it would seem silly to not allow programmed illusion to do that as well.

My instinct is that the spell would be worded differently if it was intended to be able to respond to the environment, but I am not sure.

Which is it?

If an arrow passes through an illusionary wall of fire created by the Major Image spell, does it reveal it as an illusion?

The Major Image spell description says:

You create the image of an object, a creature, or some other visible phenomenon that is no larger than a 20-foot cube. The image appears at a spot that you can see within range and lasts for the duration. It seems completely real, including sounds, smells, and temperature appropriate to the thing depicted. You can’t create sufficient heat or cold to cause damage, a sound loud enough to deal thunder damage or deafen a creature, or a smell that might sicken a creature (like a troglodyte’s stench).


Physical interaction with the image reveals it to be an illusion, because things can pass through it. A creature that uses its action to examine the image can determine that it is an illusion with a successful Intelligence (Investigation) check against your spell save DC. If a creature discerns the illusion for what it is, the creature can see through the image, and its other sensory qualities become faint to the creature.

One of my players wants to cast this as a Wall of Fire. He asked me what would happen if an enemy shoots through it.

As noted in the bolded sentence, physical interaction with the image reveals it to be an illusion.

Arrows have no problem with getting through a normal Wall of Fire. Would this reveal the illusion?