Dropping weapons to cast immediate spell with somatic components

While holding a quarterstaff, can you cast an immediate action spell with somatic components (such as Saving Finale) while ending his turn holding the staff in two hands?

I have a player that claims that you’re able to, the logic being that you can switch to from a two-handed to holding it in one hand as a free action and you can take "one or more free actions while taking another action normally" according to D20pfsrd and switching from a two-handed to a one-handed stance is a free action according to FAQ.

The logic behind not being able to do it is that you’re not able to begin casting the spell if you don’t have a free hand.

Can a player use both a readied action and an immediate action?

Character A readies an action to counter a spell if Enemy Wizard casts a spell

Character A is then attacked by Enemy Rogue, and uses an immediate action (like Windy Escape, or in this example, Emergency Force Sphere) to avoid being hit.

Enemy Wizard was also secretly holding a readied action for if Character A was to cast a spell, as Enemy Wizard knows Character A is also a caster.

So: Character A readies an action to dispel Enemy Wizard if he casts spell > Enemy Rogue attacks Character A> Character A immediate action Emergency Force Sphere> Enemy Wizard’s readied action dispel Character A if he casts a spell goes off on Emergency Force Sphere > Character A’s readied action dispel Enemy Wizard if he casts a spellgoes off on Enemy Wizard’s dispel

DM Ruling: Character A can’t use his readied action to dispel Enemy Wizard’s dispel of Character A’s immediate action because a readied action is an immediate action, per:

Immediate Reaction: A readied action is an immediate reaction. It takes place after your enemy completes the action that triggers it. Interrupting an Enemy: If you want to use a readied action to attack before an enemy attacks, you should ready your action in response to the enemy’s movement.

Is this correct? Or what should actually happen here?

Convert Your Newsletters into Immediate Cash

One-Page Newsletters can accomplish more than  Afghanistan Mobile Number List assist you with keeping in steady touch with customers and prospects and teach them to want your items and administrations. Each issue can likewise create prompt deals! 
 
Essentially join the instructive substance of your bulletin with a month to month advancement depicted in the covering email or on the page of your site where perusers can download each issue. When you have drawn to your peruser’s advantage, offer them a connecting with following stage that quickens their advantage and urges them to purchase at the present time.
 
Here are some attempted and-demonstrated ways:
 
o Teleconferences. One of the simplest, most economical, and most impressive ways for you to adapt – or convert your pamphlet into benefits – is to welcome perusers to a free video chat where you give extra data and welcome them to examine the point and pose inquiries. Expenses are irrelevant. Use email autoresponders to convey the telephone number and an exceptional PIN (individual ID number) in addition to a minute ago updates.
 
o Special report. Offer a top to bottom treatment of the point shrouded in your bulletin. You can either sell it or offer it for nothing, upon email demand. You can likewise convey extra data on unlinked site pages or by means of email.
 
o Promotions. At the point when fitting, offer unique evaluating or terms on items or administrations related with the subject of your bulletin.
 
o Event showcasing. Offer free exhibitions or courses in your store, an office, or an inn meeting room. Or on the other hand, offer a free 30-minute early on meeting or phone consulta
 

How does Mad Foam Rager (immediate action) work?

Reading up on Mad Foam Rager, I am not clear how it works. I am wondering if there’s clarity somewhere, such as use cases, or errata or I’m just confused about immediate actions or the word “effect”. Specifically it’s not clear to me when you can inact it, which seems to be the whole point of the feat. In the most complicated games I’ve played that involve a stack, there is always some point where you cannot respond and simply have to deal with what happened. I think “when” is what I’m missing.

In my use case, the character I am envisioning is a pure barbarian (level doesn’t matter I think, let me know if you disagree) with no spellcraft or literacy even.

The benefit:

When fighting, you can endure tremendous blows with little visible effect. As an immediate action, you can choose to delay the effect of a single attack, spell, or ability used against you. The damage or effect does not take hold until the end of your next turn. You can only use this ability while under the effect of your rage or frenzy ability. You can activate it once every time you use your rage or frenzy ability.

Here’s some questionable scenarios (can character mad foam past these?):

1 – post hit (critical)) Character is critically hit and the crit is confirmed. This is the simple scenario (beyond just being hit) I am assuming this is yes.

1.5 – post critical effects: Character loves damage and takes the crit but the attacker has a prismatic burst weapon which teleports the character to another plane. On discovery of that teleportation happening, can only that effect be delayed or can the crit (including the damage) be delayed?

2 – post spell (save)) Character with a phobia of fluffy bunnies is hit with Phantasmal Killer and not knowing why the horde of bunnies is climbing on him risks a saving throw and fails. He is informed on failure he is dead. Can he reactionarily mad foam or is post save too late? (I am pretty sure here death is the “effect” but getting less sure)

3 – post spell (damage type)) Character has vulnerability to fire so does not want to take fire damage. Character is hit with a scorching ray. He receives 16 fire damage. Does he now know (no spellcraft) it’s fire damage to mad foam?

4 – post hit (secondary grapple)) Character takes an AOO from a constrictor snake and damage is rolled and deducted from HP total. Then the constriction (improved grab) happens, character does not want to be grabbed does he mad foam now? Does doing so now also rollback the damage? Or does he mad foam after a failed grapple check (giving a chance for him to succeed and avoid the effect and save his mad foam?)? Is it his choice?

4.5 – post hit (tertiary constriction/damage)) What if in this same scenario, he forgets he had mad foam and fails the grapple then the constriction damage kills him. Can he mad foam to avoid said constriction or does the mad foam undo the entire event?

(4.75/bonus question: I am also curious what happens if you are not around the snake the next round to be grappled)

5 – post hit (unknown effect that impedes original action)) Similarly, character charges a giant with Hold the Line and is struck on an AOO. After taking damage, character finds out he is “held”. Can he mad foam letting him through the charge? Does he just foam through the feat “effect”? Or is it too late once he accepts the hit not knowing the consequences?

6 – post (aoe) spell: Maybe back to simple but the characters group is hit with a fireball. “Used against you” does not seem clear in regards to aoe, but I am assuming the fireball could be mad foamed since you’re an included target but only for the barbarian and not for any comrades. In other words, any mad foam usage applies to self as a target and not to spell.

I’m sure there are more (complicated) scenarios but hopefully this gets my confusion across. I personally think the simple adjudication would be just to stop the entire event once the character has the knowledge (feeling fire burn, feeling giant hold you) but especially with multi-part events it seems grey. I am also curious if others would adjudicate that way, if they believe the character then knows what will happen (e.g. “I’m about to die”, “I’m about to burn”, “I’m about to be grappled”, etc.).

If all these scenarios seem Mad Foam-able, if you can think of any more complicated scenarios that wouldn’t be, including that in your answers would likely help me.

Before anyone answers “ask GM” my intent/hope is to get opinions, or more hopefully facts, in advance from the group to give to my GM(s) to help guide them if questions do arise and to be guided myself.

Can a creature be surprised if it is aware of possible danger, but does not perceive an immediate threat?

From the section on Surprise in the PHB:

The GM determines who might be surprised. If neither side tries to be stealthy, they automatically notice each other. Otherwise, the GM compares the Dexterity (Stealth) checks of anyone Hiding with the passive Wisdom (Perception) score of each creature on the opposing side. Any character or monster that doesn’t notice a threat is surprised at the start of the encounter.

I often see the highlighted part extended to mean “A creature that is generally aware of some kind of threat can not be surprised” (see here or here) because of the use of the indefinite article. Is there any support for this interpretation of the rules? Using this interpretation, a guard who was warned ahead of time that enemies are approaching (but has no further information about time, direction, appearance…) could never be surprised by anything, as she is generally aware of a threat. This seems nonsensical to me. Is there any resolution to this problem apart from “it’s up to the GM”? Maybe at least a good rule of thumb for what constitutes as “a sufficiently non-general sense of a threat” that keeps a creature from being surprised.


One particular example I’m interested in:
Let’s say a Rogue is hiding behind an open door and he wants to lure a creature into the room by producing some kind of sound from inside the room via the Minor Illusion cantrip. The creature is alarmed by the unexpected sound and goes straight to its source, entering the room and exposing its back to the Rogue who, unnoticed by the creature, prepares to attack it.

Is the creature surprised? It is aware that something is not right (a vague sense of a threat), but it is not aware of the Rogue (who is the actual threat).

Wake-on-USB Causes Immediate Wakeup after Suspend

I’m running Linux Mint 18.1

I had set up Wake-on-USB years ago and it worked fine. However for the last year I can’t put my PC to sleep or else it immediately wakes up after a brief second of the fans shutting down and everything going to sleep.

As a first step today, I followed the steps here to disable any Wake-on-USB capabilities. I had two devices set to enable in /proc/acpi/wakeup, EHC1 and XHC. After this step, I could suspend my PC without issue and it would stay suspended for good.

Then I started fresh and followed the steps here, enabling the one device I want to Wake-on-LAN (a Logitech USB Universal receiver). However, now I’m back to square one, although now I only have one device enabled in /proc/acpi/wakeup, XHC.

Does anyone have any idea how I can enable Wake-on-USB without causing my PC to run for months straight? Thanks.

Does downing a character at the start of its turn require an immediate Death Saving Throw? [duplicate]

This question already has an answer here:

  • When does the Death Saving Throw happen with respect to sources of automatic ongoing damage? [duplicate] 1 answer

Say a Playable Character (PC) with low HP is in a Cloudkill:

When a creature enters the spell’s area for the first time on a turn or starts its turn there, that creature must make a Constitution saving throw. The creature takes 5d8 poison damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one.

The PC is next in initiative and starts its turn. The only effect to resolve is the Cloudkill. It fails the save and the resulting damage is sufficient to get him to 0 HP.

Since this event occurred “at the start of the turn” and this is also when Death Saving Throws happen for a downed character, does the PC need to make an immediate Death Saving Throw? Or did has the “start of the turn” passed and the first Death Saving Throw will only start next round?

I am aware of this relevant question “How to resolve multiple ‘start of turn’ triggers” and the accepted answer: events occurring at start of turn are resolved in the order chosen by the player.

However, since in my example the events cannot be reversed (the PC cannot make a Death Saving Throw before taking the damage), I feel that the question stands on its own.

Visa for wife if US expat living abroad, no immediate plans to move back to US

I was wondering which type of Visa we should apply for or if we should just apply for green card.

Currently we are married, my spouse has a US tourist visa in an old passport, but since the name change we will have to obtain a newer passport and from what I understand the visa from 2 passports ago will no longer be valid.

My plans are currently up in the air with no clear return date. At the very least I’d like for her to be able to go to the US with me to visit family or go on vacation, but it would also be nice that for when I do decide to return that she could come with me.

Is it worthwhile to apply for green card now even though there’s no intent to return yet? Or should we just focus on the spouse visa?