If I have an active Draconic Malice Spell taking away the fear immunity of all creatures around me, and say I inflict the Panicked condition for 20 rounds on an undead in my aura. The undead then turns tail and runs. What happens to that condition? Is it cured entirely, or just suppressed. If they are mindless will they take one step away, then turn back and re-engage next turn? If it just suppressed will they instantly become panicked again when re-entering my aura?
We recently included an UA Revived Rogue subclass in the group and the players had to face off against a Rakshasa. The question is, Bolt From the Grave says it’s a Ranged Spell Attack, but doesn’t get cast with a spell slot.
Bolts from the Grave. At 3rd level, you have learned to unleash bolts of necrotic energy from within your revived body. Immediately after you use your Cunning Action, you can make a ranged spell attack against a creature within 30 feet of you, provided you haven’t used your Sneak Attack this turn. You are proficient with it, and you add your Dexterity modifier to its attack and damage rolls. A creature hit by this attack takes necrotic damage equal to your Sneak Attack. This uses your Sneak Attack for the turn.
While the Rakshasa has the following:
Limited Magic Immunity. The rakshasa can’t be affected or detected by spells of 6th level or lower unless it wishes to be. It has advantage on saving throws against all other spells and magical effects.
Previously I had decided that the Paladin ability to detect fiends, undead etc would work to find the Rakshasa (he has an amulet to hide his aura), so I feel like Bolts from the Grave should be effective. I was just wondering what the general thoughts would be on a ruling.
In this supplement for Rise of Tiamat, on page 4, the properties of the "dragon mask" magic items are described, including this property (bold emphasis mine:
Damage Absorption. You have resistance against the mask’s damage type. If you already have resistance to that damage type from another source, you instead have immunity to that damage type. If you already have immunity to that damage type from another source, whenever you are subjected to damage of that type, you take none of that damage and regain a number of hit points equal to half the damage dealt of that type.
Off the top of my head, I cannot think of any other feature, be it class feature, racial feature or magic item, that allows multiple forms of resistance to stack and become immunity to either a damage type or a condition. Is this a unique feature of the dragon masks (I’m not so interested in the absorption part, just the stacking resistances), or are there are features or magic items RAW that allow stacked resistances to become immunity?
What happens when a creature gains immunity to a condition while it currently has that condition? (For a list of conditions see Rules Compendium 229–35.)
For example, the level 6 battlemind daily utility power mental triumph (Psionic Power 39), in part, says, “You cannot be slowed, immobilized, or restrained until the end of the encounter.” If Sivart the battlemind presently possesses the condition immobilized and takes a minor action to use the power mental triumph, does he lose the condition immobilized? Or, after he uses the power, must the duration of the condition still expire normally and thereafter—for the encounter’s duration—he can’t be immobilized?
By way of metaphor, can an inoculation also cure the disease?
DnDBeyond recently released a League of Legends themed adventure that introduces new unofficial subclasses that, while certainly interesting, pose some serious balance ramifications.
One of the biggest offending abilities allows a PC’s weapon attacks to ignore resistances and immunities for any damage inflicted by the weapon attack. I can’t think of single feature or item that grants this effect.
Are there any features or magic items that allow weapon attacks to ignore damage immunity against the weapon’s damage type?
This effect can be permanent or transient.
This question was triggered by a question with respect to punching with Ogre Gauntlets and counting the unarmed attack as a magical attack for purposes of bypassing immunity.
Basically, it goes like this: If you have a weapon with a certain magical effect, let’s say the minor property unbreakable (can not be broken, requires special means) or temperate (no harm in temperatures between -20 to 120 F), it can bypass the immunity of something like a Werewolf because it is magical instead of mundane. This goes for any minor property because those properties are under the Magic Items portion of the DMG on pg.143.
How does this differ from a pair of gauntlets with the exact same effect being used as an improvised weapon (emphasis added for clarity) from dealing damage in the same manner to the same Werewolf? Or something that’s clearly not a weapon like a Shield of Missile Snaring being used to bash an opponent?
I am a DM who is planning to have the party finally face off against a criminal mastermind whose signature spell is Modify Memory. However, the party rogue is in posession of a Ring of Free Action. One of the effects of the Ring of Free Action is to make it impossible for magic to reduce your speed. The Modify Memory spell causes incapacitation in order to work, and one of the effects of incapacitation is the inability to move.
The question is, does the Ring of Free Action provide immunity to the Incapacitated condition if it was caused by magic?
Ring of Free Action: While you wear this ring, Difficult Terrain doesn’t cost you extra Movement. In addition, magic can neither reduce your speed nor cause you to be Paralyzed or Restrained.
I was looking at a construct’s immunities and noticed “immune to magic” in its list. Naturally, this means you can’t really cast spells at it. But what about weapon enchantments? Do enchancement bonuses have no effect when attacking these creatures? Do enchants like flaming and frost not do damage to it? Furthermore, would an alchemist’s bombs damage the creature at all? Since they explode using the alchemist’s own magical powers.
According to Xanathar’s Guide to Everything:
Resistance and Vulnerability
Here’s the order that you apply modifiers to damage: (1) any relevant damage immunity, (2) any addition or subtraction to the damage, (3) one relevant damage resistance, and (4) one relevant damage vulnerability.
Even if multiple sources give you resistance to a type of damage you’re taking, you can apply resistance to it only once. The same is true of vulnerability.
What counts as “(2) any addition or subtraction to the damage”? It seems like these additions or subtractions will bypass damage immunity.
I was reading through dmg and I came across a magic item named Vorpal Sword. Description states that it is a magic weapon, If I am not wrong magic weapons bypass resistances and immunities against damage types, but in the description it also states it ignores resistance to slashing damage. Am I missing a point why would dmg specially state it ignores resistance to slashing damage.