Are there any rules pertaining to using extremely heavy weapons, either standard or improvised?

I haven’t found any rules related to this subject. Nothing about weight changing the damage of any weapon was seen anywhere, and neither was there anything on the improvised weapon.

Have anyone seen house rules that modified the damage of standard weapons that happen to be extremely heavy by design? Like instead of using a Warhammer weighing 2lbs someone wants to use one that is 20lbs.

Using everyday items that are not included in the official list of weapons are generally counted as attacking with an improvised weapon, like a chair or a wine bottle. But the problem is, what if the improvised weapon in question is so ridiculously heavy that it no longer makes logical sense for it to only inflict 1d4 damage?

Consider The Bag of Holding, which will always be 15lbs. (For reference, a battleax is weighed at 8lbs and heavy crossbow weighs 18lbs) Even if the texture of the bag in question is soft leather, when you swing that bag to hit someone or someone, the weight and momentum itself should be plenty enough to crush things.

PS: Not that I would want to swing that thing around! Damaging the bag could be disastrous.

Swinging around a sack with a rock is definitely an improvised weapon with 1d4 damage. But if someone swings a regular sack filled with a lot of rocks (or with tons of loot and gold),filled the bag with more than 50lbs worth of stuff and swung it around? Or 100lbs? (Assuming the sack doesn’t rip or fall apart before the smashing hit connects).

Speaking of which, would using a gigantic heavy table that is capable of seating twenty people as an improvised weapon during the bar fight in the tavern really only do 1d4 damage?

Does the Thrown Weapon Fighting Style apply to ranged, improvised attacks?

The Thrown Weapon Fighting Style states:

[…] In addition, when you hit with a ranged attack using a thrown weapon, you gain a +2 bonus to the damage roll.

My question is whether "a thrown weapon" means "a weapon with the thrown property" or "a weapon you have thrown". An example of something being in the latter category and not the former would be improvised weapons:

[…] If a character uses a ranged weapon to make a melee attack, or throws a melee weapon that does not have the thrown property, it also deals 1d4 damage. An improvised thrown weapon has a normal range of 20 feet and a long range of 60 feet.

Do ranged, improvised attacks counts as "ranged attacks with a thrown weapon"?

Are punches with Gauntlets of Ogre Strength magical, improvised weapon attacks?

My Gnoll Paladin just got the Gauntlets of Ogre Strength from Phandelver the other day, and it got me wondering:

  1. Would it be possible/make sense for punches using them to count as an improvised weapon? (Since I’m not punching with empty fists, I’m wearing magical gauntlets)
  2. If so, would punches from a person using them count as magical weapon damage?

Would improvised weapons work with cantrips like Green-Flame Blade and Booming Blade?


Green-Flame Blade:

As part of the action used to cast this spell, you must make a melee attack with a weapon against one creature within the spell’s range, otherwise the spell fails.

This states that so long as the attack is a melee attack made with a weapon, you may use this cantrip and apply its affects. I realize improvised weapon has weapon in the name, and is under the weapons category, but it would also mean that I can use a mug as an improvised weapon with Booming Blade. I see no reason why this would not work, but I’m still curious to see how others may interpret this.

Can Booming Blade be cast with an Improvised Weapon without a cost? [duplicate]

In a bar brawl, the Eldritch Knight picks up a stool and smacks a nearby patron. Can they cast Booming Blade while doing so? The Material Components of the spell state:

Components: S, M (a melee weapon worth at least 1 sp)

Is the improvised weapon eligible for this attack? I’m not sure if the price of a stoll is listed somewhere, if it is then assume some other improvised weapon that has no listed value, like a tree branch or a single arrow.

There are 2 similar questions here and here, however the spell has been changed in errata since these questions were asked, and I am asking about a new part of the spell.

Would a monk with the Tavern Brawler feat have improvised weapons count as monk weapons?

Would a monk with the Tavern Brawler feat have improvised weapons count as monk weapons?

It states in the monk’s Martial Arts feature (PHB, p. 78) that:

At 1st level, your practice of martial arts gives you mastery of combat styles that use unarmed strikes and monk weapons, which are short swords and any simple melee weapons that don’t have the two-handed or heavy property.

The Tavern Brawler feat (PHB, p. 170) states that:

You are proficient with improvised weapons and unarmed strikes.

And the rules for improvised weapons (PHB, p. 147-148) state:

In many cases, an improvised weapon is similar to an actual weapon and can be treated as such. For example, a table leg is akin to a club. At the DM’s option, a character proficient with a weapon can use a similar object as if it were that weapon and use his or her proficiency bonus. An object that bears no resemblance to a weapon deals 1d4 damage.

If the improvised weapon does not resemble a weapon, is simple, and is not heavy or two-handed, could a monk replace the d4 dice? For example if the monk is level 6 and has a unarmed attack of a d6, with a d6 dice instead?

Improvised weapons and proficiency

I would like to know if I utilize “use an object” on an acid vial or alchemist’s fire and they are treated as improvised weapons with the respective range attack up to 20 feet, can I add my proficiency bonus to my attack rolls with those items?

Evidently, tavern brawler feat allows the character become proficient with improvised weapons. This would work obviously.

  • proficiency bonus + Dex modifier for attack rolls with that improvised weapon.

Although, I want to argue that vials and flasks are similar to Actual weapons of martial weapons category like the net or simple weapons category like darts and slings. This would allow my character to add the proficiency bonus to attack rolls as if the flasks or vials were similar to those weapon characteristics or properties in terms of ranged attacks and almost the same range. He/she is proficient in both simple and martial weapons.

I want to assume that vials and flasks can resemble darts, slings, and nets, so I can gain that proficiency bonus. In the end, it also depends on my DM’s discretion.

In similarities, a table leg can be familiarized as a club. In that case, I would be able to use the proficiency bonus as if a character is proficient and familiar with simple weapons.

I haven’t found anything on vials and flasks being recognized as darts, slings, and nets.

Thank you for reading.

Does a monk get martial arts die damage on improvised thrown monk weapons?

The monk’s martial arts ability states:

Your practice of Martial Arts gives you mastery of Combat styles that use unarmed strikes and monk Weapons, which are shortswords and any simple Melee Weapons that don’t have the Two-Handed or heavy property.

I am specifically asking about a shortsword, which is a monk weapon by definition, but this question could apply to any monk weapon that does not have the thrown property.

The monk’s martial arts ability also states:

You gain the following benefits while you are unarmed or wielding only monk Weapons and you aren’t wearing armor or wielding a Shield… • You can roll a d4 in place of the normal damage of your Unarmed Strike or monk weapon.

I would be more comfortable if this said "You can roll the Martial Arts Damage Die shown in the Monk Level / Ability Progression Table" rather than "you can roll a d4", but the other questions I looked at in researching this took that as an assumption and no one challenged them, so…

The rules for using an improvised weapon state…

If a character uses a ranged weapon to make a melee Attack, or throws a melee weapon that does not have the thrown property, it also deals 1d4 damage.

Consider a monk wielding a shortsword and fitting all other requirements for using the martial arts ability.

The shortsword is a melee weapon that does not have the thrown property and has a base damage of d6.

If the monk throws the shortsword it would become an improvised weapon, and thus normally would deal d4 damage. However, in this case does specific beat general and allow the monk to replace the "normal damage" of an improvised weapon with the martial arts die damage, which would be d6 at 5th level?

Or, does the fact that the monk is throwing the shortsword as an improvised weapon disqualify it from being considered a monk weapon, in the same way that one cannot use proficiency for an improvised weapon attack because throwing a melee weapon without the thrown property is no longer a weapon with which one is proficient?

This question: Does Martial Arts Damage Apply to Ranged Attacks with Monk Weapons? affirms that monks get their martial arts die damage on ranged weapons, but the question only considers melee weapons that already possess the ranged property, not improvised weapons.

This question: Does using versatile weapons with 2 hands disqualify them as Monk weapons? affirms that monks get to use their martial arts feature on all monk weapons, even when they use them in ways that would disqualify them from being monk weapons (in this case, using a versatile weapon two-handed).

Somewhat related: Does a Monk's Martial Arts die replace all of a magic weapon's damage, or only the die portion of it?

Is an improvised weapon treated as similar enough to a weapon to use its properties still considered “improvised”?

In PHB, the 2nd paragraph of the description of Improvised Weapons (p. 147) states:

In many cases, an improvised weapon is similar to an actual weapon and can be treated as such. For example, a table leg is akin to a club. At the DM’s option, a character proficient with a weapon can use a similar object as if it were that weapon and use his or her proficiency bonus.

If I am understanding this correctly, then the mentioned table leg (or similar object) can be treated as a club. If that is correct, then it would have the light property, as the club has it. If that is also correct, that would mean I can wield a light weapon in one hand and an improvised club-like weapon in other hand, and use Two-Weapon Fighting with those, as both are light.

If all of that is still correct, then can an improvised weapon that is similar enough to a real weapon – e.g. a table leg used as a club – still be treated as an improvised weapon for the purpose of the last bullet point in the Tavern Brawler feat (PHB, p. 170)?

Specific scenario that I am wondering about: I wield a Scimitar (a light weapon) in one hand and a table leg (treated as a club, so also light) in the other hand. On my turn, I attack with the table leg as my Attack action. Then one of two things happen:

  1. I miss – then, as both wielded weapons are light, I proceed to attack with my scimitar (per Two-Weapon Fighting)

  2. I hit – then I drop one of my weapons to free one of my hands and attempt to grapple the target.

Of course this is assuming that I have the Tavern Brawler feat, which states:

  • You are proficient with improvised weapons.
  • Your unarmed strike uses a d4 for damage.
  • When you hit a creature with an unarmed strike or an improvised weapon on your turn, you can use a bonus action to attempt to grapple the target.

Does all of that work as I’ve described, or is there somewhere a flaw in my reasoning?

Using a hot chain as an improvised weapon [closed]

Given the mathematics discussed in this physics.stackexchange question , how would a DM handle a PC placing 5ft of a 10ft chain (the kind used by goblins to shackle a wolf) in a campfire, then grabbing a hold of the end not in the fire and whipping the chain at an enemy NPC in an Indiana Jones fashion when sufficient time had passed to heat the chain?

For those who don’t want to check out the math, the specified chain will reach 80°C (176°F) in 38 seconds. This is over the temp for causing 3rd degree burns to human skin with 1 second of contact, which is 68°C (155°F).

Hit die for damage?

Bonus damage for burning/searing?

Would a critical success mean the chain wraps around a body part?

Damage over time if the chain isn’t immediately removed?

Loss of concentration, fear, panic, other effects?

I’m new to D&D, so I want to know if the mechanics of such a maneuver live up to what I imagine.