Is there a way to repeatedly make yourself incapacitated, while it’s not your turn?

A lot of player ‘Companions’ (like the Beast and Drake (UA) companion for the Ranger, or the Homunculus Servant or Steel Defender for the artificer) can act more freely if you are incapacitated.

Is there a way of repeatedly imposing that condition on yourself, while it’s not your turn?

The closest I’ve come to it, is triggering your own Tomb of Levistus warlock invocation. But that is not repeatable.

If a College of Creation bard is incapacitated, who controls the bard’s dancing item?

The College of Creation bard gets Animating Performance at 6th level which allows them to animate an object and control it using a bonus action:

It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action. That action can be one in its stat block or some other action. If you are incapacitated, the item can take any action of its choice, not just Dodge.

My question is, when the bard gets incapacitated, what does it mean for the object to take an action "of its choice?"

Does control of the object pass to the dungeon master?

For comparison, other, similar effects either explicitly state that the DM gains control. For example, Conjure elemental:

If your concentration is broken, the elemental doesn’t disappear. Instead, you lose control of the elemental, it becomes hostile toward you and your companions, and it might attack. An uncontrolled elemental can’t be dismissed by you, and it disappears 1 hour after you summoned it.

…Or simply dictate the conjured creature’s fallback behavior. For example, any of the new Summon spells in Tasha’s Cauldron:

The creature is an ally to you and your companions [and] It obeys your verbal commands […] If you don’t issue any, it takes the Dodge action and uses its move to avoid danger.

Note that the wording of Dancing Item is also used in the Circle of Wildfire Druid’s Wildfire Spirit.

Can a creature with multiple attacks per Attack action make all their attacks if they are incapacitated between two of those attacks?

The Player’s Handbook states (emphasis mine):

An incapacitated creature can’t take actions or reactions.

Suppose I am fighting a creature that has a multiattack, and I have an ability that can incapacitate a creature as a reaction. If the creature has completed the first attack in its multiattack, could I prevent the remainder of its attacks with my ability? Or is it too late, since the remaining attacks aren’t actions?

Can absorb elements be triggered on attacks that require a saving throw or be paralyzed, incapacitated… and elemental damage on a failed save?

Say an enemy is casting a spell or using an ability that forces the player to make a saving throw or be "conditioned and take X elemental damage".

Does absorb elements go off if the save is failed? Or because of the condition effect, does that mean the reaction can’t be used if you fail the save, take damage, and conditioned? Or even can it be cast before the save (and wasted if the save passes)?

Why is a paralyzed character incapacitated?

The paralyzed condition notes

A paralyzed creature is incapacitated (see the condition) and can’t move or speak.

Under incapacitated it says

An incapacitated creature can’t take actions or reactions.

I mistakenly thought that my character could issue mental commands (to control a spiritual weapon perhaps) while under the influence of a hold person spell. However, as has been noted on the site already, paralyzed creatures are incapacitated, and therefore can’t take actions, and therefore can’t take bonus actions.

My question is, what’s the justification for this rule? Why does it exist? What (in game) stops a paralyzed creature from taking an action, like casting a subtle spell, that requires no movement or speech? Or is the rule designed this way for balance or simplicity or something?

Does Ring of Free Action give immunity to the Incapacitated Condition?

I am a DM who is planning to have the party finally face off against a criminal mastermind whose signature spell is Modify Memory. However, the party rogue is in posession of a Ring of Free Action. One of the effects of the Ring of Free Action is to make it impossible for magic to reduce your speed. The Modify Memory spell causes incapacitation in order to work, and one of the effects of incapacitation is the inability to move.

The question is, does the Ring of Free Action provide immunity to the Incapacitated condition if it was caused by magic?

Ring of Free Action: While you wear this ring, Difficult Terrain doesn’t cost you extra Movement. In addition, magic can neither reduce your speed nor cause you to be Paralyzed or Restrained.