5e: Artificer: Does infused magic item count against maximum number of infusions?

I would assume the answer is ‘no’ but I wanted to check.

It feels very odd to be able to replicate (up to) 4 magic items at level 2, but only ever be able to use two of them at a time at that level, because it just saves you a bit of money early on, Or, for example, if you replicate a bag of holding, you can only ever have one other infusion active.

I have seen a few people claim that the replicate magic item infusion does not count against the standard 2 max infusions (at level 2). Just that you are limited to having only 1 replica of your chosen magic item at any one time. The claim is that (TCOE p12) the reference to an ‘infusion ending on a bag of holding’ is only applied if you attempt to make a new bag of holding, but I wanted to ask what other’s thought

I like this second option better, as it means you can play more with your enhancement infusions and so that if you ever want to change your other infusions, you don’t have to constantly pick up every item that pops out of your bag of holding (since it would be the oldest infusion every other time, you would have to re-create the infusion and put everything back into the bag)

Does an artificer’s teammate have to re-attune to their infused items every time the infusions change?

Per the artificer rules…

If the item requires attunement, you can attune yourself to it the instant you infuse the item.

Okay. Nice. Great. Except… how does it work when the item is given to another character?

Let’s picture these scenarios: Scenario one. My artificer has created an Resistant Armor, choosing poison. This armor has been given to our paladin, who attuned to it. Now, next long rest, I want to create an Resistant Armor, choosing force. The rules are silent on whether I can attempt to create an infusion I already have existing (as opposed to infusing random other infusions until that one de-infuses) or in fact use the item the previous copy of that infusion is already on. Let’s assume I can.

… but I don’t want to attune to the resulting infusion, so does that mean that, as soon as we finish the long rest, we must immediately do a short rest so the paladin can attune to the armor?

In fact, it doesn’t even end there!

If you try to exceed your maximum number of infusions, the oldest infusion ends, and then the new infusion applies.

Notably, there doesn’t seem to be a process to voluntarily end one of my infusions. Let’s suppose my current infusions are Repeating Weapon, Replicate Magic Item: Alchemy Jug and the aforementioned Resistant Armor: Force. I want to replace the jug with a Mind Sharpener. The only process for this seems to be infusing my chosen item with the Mind Sharpener, causing the Repeating Weapon to end…. then reapply the Repeating Weapon…. which ends the Resistant Armor, requiring me to reapply that, and us to take another short rest to reattune to it!

Is all the above correct, or is there something I’m missing?

Are alchemist’s tools required for Infused Reagents & Advanced Alchemy?

The Pathfinder 2 alchemist gets the Advanced Alchemy feature, which lets them spend their daily Infused Reagents resource to create alchemical items. The class description suggests that alchemist’s tools are involved with this process. However, neither the Infused Reagents feature nor the Advanced Alchemy feature mention that alchemist’s tools are required.

Infused Reagents

You infuse reagents with your own alchemical essence, allowing you to create alchemical items at no cost. Each day during your daily preparations, you gain a number of batches of infused reagents…

Advanced Alchemy

During your daily preparations, after producing new infused reagents, you can spend batches of those infused reagents to create infused alchemical items. You don’t need to attempt a Crafting check to do this…

Searching through the Core Rulebook, the only mentions of alchemist’s tools are:

  • pg 72: Quick Alchemy, a different alchemist feature that consumes infused reagents
  • pg 81: Improbable Elixirs, an 18th level alchemist feat
  • pg 245 & 480: the Identify Alchemy action (no reference to the alchemist class)
  • pg 287-289: Alchemist’s Tools listing in the "Gear" section (no reference to the alchemist class)
  • pg 445: The definition of "Item bonus" uses alchemist’s tools as an example.

The first printing errata does not address this, although it mentions a new weight and price for alchemist’s tools.

Does an alchemist (or a non-alchemist with the alchemist archetype) actually need alchemist’s tools to use Infused Reagents or Advanced Alchemy? Or can they make their daily preparations via Advanced Alchemy without using alchemist’s tools?


Tangentially related: Can alchemists prepare alchemical items without reading their formula book?

Can a Steel Defender be infused?

I am looking at the Steel Defender for the Battle Smith Artificier in ERLW. It is a construct

STEEL DEFENDER Medium construct, neutral

Armor Class 15 (natural armor) Hit Points equal the steel defender’s Constitution modifier + your I ntell igence modifier + five times your level in this class Speed 40 ft.

STR 14 (+2) DEX 12 (+1) CON 14 (+2)

INT 4 (-4) WIS 10 (+O) CHA 6 (-2)

Would you be able to infuse the Steel defender?
Enhanced defence I could see working, but would all infusions work?

The Steel Defender has natural armor, but would that count as wearing the armor?