Does multiclassing suddenly allow you to cast spells from Magic Initiate (or other similar features/feats) using more spell slots?

The following question already exists and explains that you can cast spells gained from the Magic Initiate feat if and only if the class you choose is the same as one of your own:

  • Can you cast a spell learned from the Magic Initiate feat using spell slots?

So let’s assume a Wizard take the Magic Initiate feat and learns the healing word spell with the Bard option of the feat. It is established already that they cannot cast this spell using their own spell slots, for some more supporting evidence classes received errata and the Wizard class now states the following under “Spellcasting” (the bolded word “Wizard” was added):

[…] The Wizard table shows how many spell slots you have to cast your wizard spells of 1st level and higher. […]


With that established, I’m a bit confused what happens when this Wizard decides to multiclass into Bard; the multiclassing spellcasting rules state:

[…] You determine your available spell slots by adding together all your levels in the bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, and wizard classes, and half your levels (rounded down) in the paladin and ranger classes. Use this total to determine your spell slots by consulting the Multiclass Spellcaster table. […]

There is not longer a way to distinguish between Wizard spell slots and Bard spell slots. To me this implies the following:

Before multiclassing the Wizard could not use any of their spell slots to cast healing word, but by gaining one level of Bard they can now use all of them. Is this truly the case or have I missed a rule somewhere?

Can a Sorcerer Gain Additional Spells Known with Magic Initiate? [duplicate]

The Magic Initiate feat states:

Choose a class: bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, warlock, or wizard. You learn two cantrips of your choice from that class’s spell list.

In addition, choose one 1st-level spell from that same list. You learn that spell and can cast it at its lowest level. Once you cast it, you must finish a long rest before you can cast it again using this feat.

Assume a character is a 4th level sorcerer, elects to take this feat, and chooses Sorcerer. Per the feat, they now ‘learn that spell’. Also they can cast the spell for free once per day using the feat, but can they continue to cast the spell using their spell slots?

Additionally, can they replace that spell when they reach 5th level as a sorcerer per the Spells Known feature?:

Additionally, when you gain a level in this class, you can choose one of the sorcerer spells you know and replace it with another spell from the sorcerer spell list, which also must be of a level for which you have spell slots.

Magic initiate cast the spell without spell slots? [duplicate]

I’m having a hard time understanding how the magic initiate talent interacts, considering drow magic is’t require spell slots:

Can you cast a racial spell if you do not have access to the spell slot required?

Drow Magic.

You know the dancing lights cantrip. When you reach 3rd level, you can cast the faerie fire spell once per day. W hen you reach 5th level, you can also cast the darkness spell once per day. Charisma is your spellcasting ability for these spells.

the same is applied for Magic Initiate?

Magic Initiate.

Choose a class: bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, warlock, or wizard. You learn two cantrips of your choice from that class’s spell list. In addition, choose one 1st-level spell from that same list. You learn that spell and can cast it at its lowest level. Once you cast it, you must finish a long rest before you can cast it again. Your spellcasting ability for these spells depends on the class you chose: Charisma for bard, sorcerer, or warlock; W isdom for cleric or druid: or Intelligence for wizard.

Do Magic initiate need spell slots? [duplicate]

I’m having a hard time understanding how the magic initiate talent interacts, considering drow magic is’t require spell slots:

Can you cast a racial spell if you do not have access to the spell slot required?

Drow Magic.

You know the dancing lights cantrip. When you reach 3rd level, you can cast the faerie fire spell once per day. W hen you reach 5th level, you can also cast the darkness spell once per day. Charisma is your spellcasting ability for these spells.

the same is applied for Magic Initiate?

Magic Initiate.

Choose a class: bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, warlock, or wizard. You learn two cantrips of your choice from that class’s spell list. In addition, choose one 1st-level spell from that same list. You learn that spell and can cast it at its lowest level. Once you cast it, you must finish a long rest before you can cast it again. Your spellcasting ability for these spells depends on the class you chose: Charisma for bard, sorcerer, or warlock; W isdom for cleric or druid: or Intelligence for wizard.

Does Magic Initiate allow the chosen spell to effectively be “always prepared” if the spell is on their spell list?

The Magic Initiate feat allows you to pick a 1st level spell, which you can cast once per long rest. From the PHB (p. 168):

Choose a class: bard, cleric, sorcerer, warlock, or wizard. You learn two cantrips of your choice from that class’s list.

In addition, choose one 1st-level spell from that same list. You learn that spell and can cast it at its lowest level. Once you cast it, you must finish a long rest before you can cast it again using this feat.

Your spellcasting ability for these spells depends on the class you chose: Charisma for bard, sorcerer, or warlock: Wisdom for cleric or druid; or Intelligence for wizard.

From the Sage Advice Compendium’s Magic Initiate section:

If you’re a spellcaster, can you pick your own class when you gain the Magic Initiate feat? Yes, the feat doesn’t say you can’t. For example, if you’re a wizard and gain the Magic Initiate feat, you can choose wizard and thereby learn two more wizard cantrips and another 1st-level wizard spell.

If you have spell slots, can you use them to cast the 1st level spell you learn with the Magic Initiate feat? Yes, but only if the class you pick for the feat is one of your classes. For example, if you pick sorcerer and you are a sorcerer, the Spellcasting feature for that class tells you that you can use your spell slots to cast the sorcerer spells you know, so you can use your spell slots to cast the 1st-level sorcerer spell you learn from Magic Initiate. Similarly, if you are a wizard and pick that class for the feat, you learn a 1st-level wizard spell, which you could add to your spellbook and subsequently prepare.

So, if my character is a spellcaster, we know that my character can learn a spell on their spell list, and they can use spell slots to cast it. For classes that have a number of spells known, like Bards, Sorcerers and Warlocks, this is straight forward. But what of classes that have to prepare their spells, such as Clerics, Druids and Wizards, to be able to cast them?

My question is, if I had a Cleric, Druid or Wizard, who took the Magic Initiate feat to learn a spell on their list (which they could then cast with a spell slot), would they still need to prepare the spell in order to cast it with a spell slot, or would this effectively give them an extra “prepared spell”?

If they simply know that spell because of the feat, and don’t need it prepared to be able to cast it once per long rest (via the feat), does that in some way bypass the need to prepare the spell to cast it via spell slots? This isn’t clear to me after having looked at the spellcasting class feature of such classes.

Can your familiar (via Find Familiar) initiate telepathic communication with you? [duplicate]

The find familiar spell says (emphasis mine):

While your familiar is within 100 feet of you, you can communicate with it telepathically.

So, clearly you can speak to it telepathically, say to issue commands to it. But can it:

  • Reply to your message?
  • Initiate a conversation with you?

As it happens, I’m going to have a pseudodragon familiar (via warlock, Pact of the Chain), which can respond in it’s own way:

Limited Telepathy. The pseudodragon can magically communicate simple ideas, emotions, and images telepathically with any creature within 100 feet of it that can understand a language.

So in my case, it’s more about whether it can reply with words (either because it can speak to me telepathically due to find familiar, or because I’ve “initiated” a telepathic conversation with it, similar to the message cantrip, even though that’s not actually telepathy), or whether it can only reply at all because of its own ability (via “Limited Telepathy“, which obviously won’t be with words, if it turns out that the telepathy via find familiar is one-way only).

I’m hoping to figure out which interpretation is correct by knowing the answer to my above questions about whether any familiar (via find familiar) can telepathically communicate with the caster at all.

Can Favored Souls choose feats that require cleric levels, such as Initiate of Astilabor?

The Initiate of Astilabor feat (Dragon Magic, p. 20) has the following prequisites:

Prerequisite: Cleric level 3rd, dragonblood subtype, deity Astilabor.

As a Dracolyte silverbrow human having an innate connection with the Deity Astilabor, I would find it absurd that I could not take such a feat. I guess giving new spells to Favored Soul might be the reason why I can’t, but if Knowstones are allowed, why not this?

Is there any RAW info on this, FAQ, or Errata? (Pathfinder or other editions are welcome if that’s the only info available.)

Can you use Magic Initiate to cast a spell you already know, and still learn another spell?

I have a wizard PC who wants to gain the feat Magic Initiate and use free 1st level spell to use mage armour once a day. He already knows Mage armour, so:

  1. Can he use the Feat to gain a free casting of Mage armour once each day?
  2. Should he get another 1st level spell but not get to freely cast it once a day?