What happens to bardic inspiration if either the bard or the recipient of the inspiration dies/goes unconscious?

In D&D 5e, a bard can give Bardic Inspiration – a d6-d12, depending on the level of the bard – which can be used by the recipient to add to a single ability check, attack roll, or saving throw within 10 minutes of getting the Bardic Inspiration die.

What happens to this Bardic Inspiration die when the bard goes unconscious/dies, or the character who received the inspiration goes unconscious?

Can Bless or Bardic Inspiration help a creature from rolling a 1 on a death save?

For instance, say the creature rolled a 1 on the d20, and would have gotten failed 2 death saves, but uses their pre-given bardic inspiration and actually rolls a total of 10+.

Would the creature be saved from the consequences of rolling a 1 on the d20, since it says that when you roll a 10 or higher, it counts as a success?

I know about the “specific beats general” rule, so in this case, which is the more specific rule?

If the roll is 10 or higher, you succeed.

or

When you make a death saving throw and roll a 1 on the d20, it counts as two failures.

Granting inspiration on a natural 1

I’ve seen Critical Role run their 826LA promotion where they pledged $ 100 to the charity for every natural 1 they rolled on the show, and I’ve seen Dungeon World’s rule of marking XP on a miss.

I’m planning, next session, on starting a similar practice in my own game: if a player rolls a natural 1 on an attack roll, saving throw, or ability check, they fail as usual but then gain Inspiration to use on a future roll, in order to help them bounce back from their opponents getting a moment of glory.

Has anyone else tried something like this? Did you discover any major pitfalls or caveats to this approach?

Inspiration for failed idea?

Let’s say one of my players comes up with an ingenious idea. It’s fun, it’s creative and it makes sense for their character. I want to reward them and inspiration is the obvious choice. But then they try to execute the idea and, maybe due to a bad roll, it unfortunately fails. Do I still get to give them inspiration?

Edit: I thought this was obvious but I am not looking for an explanation of what inspiration is. I know that. I am asking what you would do if an inspiration-worthy idea goes pear shaped.

How Does a Bard Know When They Can Reapply Inspiration?

Tonight during our play session we ran into an incident where a character immediately used a bard inspiration after getting it (on their turn, but like it was the first thing they did), and the bard was curious if they could give the character inspiration again on his turn. He was curious if the Bard would know if/when someone actually uses the inspiration bonus.

During game we quickly decided “yes” because “its magic and you are connected to that magic”. But I was curious and looked up the info on Bardic Inspiration on page 53 of the PHB.

You can inspire others through stirring w ords or music. To do so, you use a bonus action on your turn to choose one creature other than yourself within 60 feet of you who can hear you. That creature gains one Bardic Inspiration die, a d6. Once within the next 10 minutes, the creature can roll the die and add the number rolled to one ability check, attack roll, or saving throw it makes. The creature can wait until after it rolls the d20 before deciding to use the Bardic Inspiration die, but must decide before the DM says whether the roll succeeds or fails. Once the Bardic Inspiration die is rolled, it is lost. A creature can have only one Bardic Inspiration die at a time.

Nothing in that description says that the effect is “magical”. Granted, I think it probably is magical and that we guessed correctly, but I am still wondering if there is an official ruling on this?

Mantle of inspiration movement with temporary hit points

The ability mantle of inspiration is worded this way:

Mantle of Inspiration When you join the College of Glamour at 3rd level, you gain the ability to weave a song of fey magic that imbues your allies with vigor and speed.

As a bonus action, you can expend one use of your Bardic Inspiration to grant yourself a wondrous appearance. When you do so, choose a number of creatures you can see and who can see you within 60 feet of you, up to a number equal to your Charisma modifier (minimum of one). Each of them gains 5 temporary hit points. When a creature gains these temporary hit points, it can immediately use its reaction to move up to its speed, without provoking opportunity attacks.

The number of temporary hit points increases when you reach certain levels in this class, increasing to 8 at 5th level, 11 at 10th level, and 14 at 15th level.

If you already have temporary hit points when you would gain these new temporary hit points (and you had more before, thus not gaining any from this ability, because temporary hit points don’t stack), would you still be able to use your reaction to move up to your speed?

My understanding would be that no, you couldn’t because if you could, the ability should have been written like this:

When a creature would gain these temporary hit points, it can use its reaction to move up to its speed, without provoking opportunity attacks.

Anyways, let me know if you can or not, in fact, use your reaction if you don’t actually gain these temporary hit points (maybe they are gained but overwrtitten by the higher source right from the get-go and its possible to use your reaction?)

Must Read: 2014 BHT Inspiration Thread

Greeting BHT, another year has passed and we are all thankful to be here, it's been a year of storms and wars and yet we are still here. All the hard work of group buys that went sour for some and yet paid off for others, seemed to tear us apart. Some of us visit here once or twice daily to see what the year round Santa's have brought us, but what are we doing with all of these people's efforts? NOTHING

Let's see we have everything form Photoshop and Aftereffects, to scrapers to find…

Must Read: 2014 BHT Inspiration Thread

Can a bard grant bardic inspiration to an unconscious creature?

The recipient of bardic inspiration must be able to hear the bard.

…choose one creature other than yourself within 60 feet of you who can hear you.

An unconscious creature is “unaware of its surroundings.”

An unconscious creature is incapacitated, can’t move or speak, and is unaware of its surroundings

Can creatures can still be affected subconsciously by things they hear while they are unconscious, despite being unaware of their surroundings?