How does the Dhampir heritage interact with features from the tyrant champion cause?

A character that selects the Dhampir versatile ancestry gains the Dhampir trait, and gains negative healing "as if you were undead."

The tyrant’s focus ability Touch of Corruption states the following:

You infuse the target with negative energy. If the target is living, this deals 1d6 negative damage (basic Fortitude save); on a failed save, the target also takes a –2 status penalty to AC for 1 round.

If the target is a willing undead creature, the target instead regains 6 Hit Points, and if you are the undead target, you also gain a +2 status bonus to damage rolls for 1 round.

The Dhampir heritage doesn’t appear to make the character actually undead – they just gain negative healing. If a Dhampir tyrant casts this spell on themselves, which of the following is the case?

  1. The Dhampir is still a living creature, so the first part of the spell is triggered. They take 1d6 negative damage, meaning they heal for 1d6. However, they must then make a fortitude save or receive a penalty to AC.

  2. The Dhampir is healed for the full 6hp, and gains the status bonus to damage

RAI, I believe the second option makes sense, and it’s certainly the ruling I would take as a DM if a player did this. But RAW, it appears that the Dhampir will basically shoot themselves in the foot if they use this on themselves, as the Dhampir only gains negative healing "as if" they were undead, but they are actually still living.

Thanks.

How do the Compelled Duel and Sanctuary spells interact?

The sanctuary spell description states:

Until the spell ends, any creature who targets the warded creature with an attack or a harmful spell must first make a Wisdom saving throw. On a failed save, the creature must choose a new target or lose the attack or spell. This spell doesn’t protect the warded creature from area effects, such as the explosion of a fireball.

If the warded creature makes an attack or casts a spell that affects an enemy creature, this spell ends.

The description of the compelled duel spell says (PHB, p. 224):

[…] One creature that you can see within range must make a Wisdom saving throw. On a failed save, the creature is drawn to you, compelled by your divine demand. For the duration, it has disadvantage on attack rolls against creatures other than you, and must make a Wisdom saving throw each time it attempts to move to a space that is more than 30 feet away from you; if it succeeds on this saving throw, this spell doesn’t restrict the target’s movement for that turn.

The spell ends if you attack any other creature, if you cast a spell that targets a hostile creature other than the target, if a creature friendly to you damages the target or casts a harmful spell on it, or if you end your turn more than 30 feet away from the target.

If someone has cast sanctuary on me, and then I cast compelled duel on an enemy, does this mean that the creature targeted by compelled duel will have to succeed on at least one Wisdom saving throw in order to take any aggressive action toward the PCs without disadvantage?

How does the Flames of Phlegethos racial feat interact with the sorcerer’s Metamagic option Empowered Spell?

If I have both the Flames of Phlegethos feat and the sorcerer’s Metamagic option Empowered Spell, can I re-roll the same die twice?

The description of the second benefit of the Flames of Phlegethos tiefling racial feat says (XGtE, p. 74):

When you roll fire damage for a spell you cast, you can reroll any roll of 1 on the fire damage dice, but you must use the new roll, even if it is another 1.

The description of the sorcerer’s Metamagic option Empowered Spell reads (PHB, p. 102):

When you roll damage for a spell, you can spend 1 sorcery point to reroll a number of the damage dice up to your Charisma modifier (minimum of one). You must use the new rolls.

You can use Empowered Spell even if you have already used a different Metamagic option during the casting of the spell.

Can you re-roll the same die with both features, or only once? That is, if you re-roll a die with one of these abilities, does the other ability let you re-roll it?

The "You must use the new roll" makes it sound like you cannot, but in general abilities can can override how other abilities work. Is the "keeping the new roll" restriction limited to re-rolls from that ability, or does it apply to all re-rolls from any source?

There is another interpretation of "You must use the new roll." There is a feat called Savage Attacker which reads:

Once per turn when you roll damage for a melee weapon attack, you can reroll the weapon’s damage dice and use either total.

If you compare this to the language in the previous two abilities, you see that the "re-roll and must use the new roll" could be viewed as the alternate to "re-roll and use either roll", and therefore imposes no restriction on other features re-rolling the die.

How does the Dual Wielder feat interact with versatile weapons?

I have a level 4 Paladin with the Dual Wielder feat (PHB p. 165):

You master fighting with two weapons, gaining the following benefits:

  • You gain a +1 bonus to AC while you are wielding a separate melee weapon in each hand.
  • You can use two-weapon fighting even when the one-handed melee weapons you are wielding aren’t light.
  • You can draw or stow two one-handed weapons when you would normally be able to draw or stow only one.

He does not have the Two-Weapon Fighting fighting style. He is wielding a longsword in one hand and a handaxe in his other (a thrown weapon).

Can the paladin throw the handaxe, switch grips on the longsword to hold it two-handed, and then use his bonus action from Two-Weapon Fighting to swing the longsword as a two-handed weapon?

If yes, can he then end his turn by drawing another handaxe (2nd free object interaction for Dual Wielder, and assuming he has another axe to draw)?

How do the Death Ward spell and the half-orc’s Relentless Endurance racial trait interact?

What happens when you cast Death Ward on a half-orc? Do the effects of the spell and the half-orc’s Relentless Endurance racial trait stack?

If so, and you get reduced to 0 HP more than once, can you go back up to 1 HP a second time? Or does only one of them take effect and you can only be brought back to 1 HP once?

My DM thinks the latter.

How does the Oathbow’s benefit to ranged attacks interact with the Arcane Archer fighter’s Arcane Shot options Piercing/Seeking Arrow?

Part of the description of the oathbow magic item says:

When you make a ranged attack roll with this weapon against your sworn enemy, you have advantage on the roll. In addition, your target gains no benefit from cover, other than total cover, and you suffer no disadvantage due to long range. If the attack hits, your sworn enemy takes an extra 3d6 piercing damage.

However, the Arcane Archer fighter archetype from Xanathar’s Guide to Everything (previously appearing in UA: Revised Subclasses) has the ability to imbue their arrows with magic. Two of the Arcane Shot options seem like they might conflict with the oathbow‘s trigger condition.

The description of Piercing Arrow says, in part (XGtE, p. 29; identical to the version from UA:RS):

[…] When you use this option, you don’t make an attack roll for the attack. Instead, the arrow shoots forward in a line, which is 1 foot wide and 30 feet long, before disappearing. […] Each creature in that line must make a Dexterity saving throw. On a failed save, a creature takes damage as if it were hit by the arrow, plus an extra 1d6 piercing damage. On a successful save, a target takes half as much damage.

The description of Seeking Arrow similarly says (XGtE, p. 30; also identical to the UA:RS version):

[…] When you use this option, you don’t make an attack roll for the attack. Instead, choose one creature you have seen in the past minute. The arrow flies toward that creature, moving around corners if necessary and ignoring three-quarters cover and half cover. If the target is within the weapon’s range and there is a path large enough for the arrow to travel to the target, the target must make a Dexterity saving throw. […] On a failed save, the target takes damage as if it were hit by the arrow, plus an extra 1d6 force damage, and you learn the target’s current location. On a successful save, the target takes half as much damage, and you don’t learn its location.

So how does the oathbow interact with these 2 Arcane Shot options by RAW?

I know some situations override things going both ways in favor of exploitation and prevention.

Does the class skill let you bypass the attack roll while getting the oathbow‘s power buff? Or do you not get the buff?

How do criticals interact with degrees of success for attacks in PF2E?

Let’s say my character Strikes an enemy with AC 40. My attack bonus is only +10, so barring crits, it’s impossible for me to get through his AC.

I roll a natural 20, making my total 30 vs his 40 AC. Is this attack treated as a regular hit, because it would have been a failure but the nat 20 improves the degree of success by one step? Or is it treated as a critical hit, because it’s a nat 20?

Similarly, if I’m subjected to a spell with a saving throw I can only fail at, and I roll a nat 20, does that mean I reach a success on the saving throw or a critical success?

How does haste interact with the heavy armor penalty?

For a character that is wearing heavy armor, but does not have the prerequisite strength, there is a 10ft speed penalty.

If the Armor table shows “Str 13” or “Str 15” in the Strength column for an armor type, the armor reduces the wearer’s speed by 10 feet unless the wearer has a Strength score equal to or higher than the listed score.

Haste doubles the speed of the person it was cast on.

Until the spell ends, the target’s speed is doubled

Since the movement speed of heavy armor is a fixed amount, does the doubling apply to the base speed or the current speed? ie. A human with a base speed of 30. They put on heavy armor and have their speed reduced to 20. Haste is cast on them, does their speed become 30*2 – 10 = 50 or (30-10)*2=40?

How does the spell Mind Blank interact with shapeshifters and other forms of false identity?

Mind Blank states:

Until the spell ends, one willing creature you touch is immune to psychic damage, any effect that would sense its emotions or read its thoughts, divination spells, and the charmed condition. The spell even foils wish spells and spells or effects of similar power used to affect the target’s mind or to gain information about the target.

How does the spell Mind Blank interact with shapeshifters and other forms of false identity?

Are all aspects of their identity protected, or just information associated with their true form/name?

  • For example, can a guard give a description of a changeling’s persona via sending since it is not their natural form?