How to make different Rule Tiles interact with eachother?

I am using Unity’s RuleTiles to automatically change sprites of adjacent similar blocks.

For example, when a Dirt tile notices there are two Dirt tiles to the left and the right of it, it will change texture, like this:

enter image description here

I would also like to do this with walls. However, I plan to have many types of walls (Wood, Stone, Metal). How would I make different types of walls still affect each other?

Imagine that Dirt is now a Wood wall. If I place a Stone wall to the left, and a Metal wall to the right, I’d still like for it to apply a texture change.

Is it possible to make different types of rule tiles interact with each other?

How do the Spirit Guardians and Sanctuary spells interact?

A player in my group asked the DM:

  1. What if Cleric 1 was to cast spirit guardians and go for the heart of battle
  2. Then Cleric 2 cast sanctuary on him
  3. Then Cleric 1 just sits there not actively attacking, probably taking the Dodge action while keeping concentration on his spell.

This makes it OP because he would be sitting there dishing out massive damage, while enemies would have to make a DC 15 Wisdom saving throw to hit him, and if they actually succeed they would have to hit with disadvantage due to the Dodge action.

The crucial point lies in the wording of sanctuary:

If the warded creature makes an attack or casts a spell that affects an enemy creature, this spell ends.

Cleric 1 cast spirit guardians before sanctuary came into effect, so he will not attack or cast something for the time being; he just sits there.
But he is also keeping concentration on a spell that harms others.
What do you think? Does the sanctuary spell end or not?

How do Dimension Door and Find Steed / Find Greater Steed interact?

Find Steed has this sentence (and Find Greater Steed has an equivalent one):

While mounted on your steed, you can make any spell you cast that targets only you also target your steed.

Dimension Door has this restriction with regard to taking someone else with you, where the restriction is size is the important bit:

You can also bring one willing creature of your size or smaller who is carrying gear up to its carrying capacity.

Take a medium-sized character (such as a Bard with Magical Secrets) mounted on a summoned a large mount (such as a warhorse), casting Dimension Door:

Is it possible to make Dimension Door affect this mount?

How does Nilbogism interact with features that have a random table of effects?

The Nilbog at page 182 in Volo’s Guide to Monsters has the following feature:

Nilbogism. Any creature that attempts to damage the nilbog must first succeed on a DC 12 Charisma saving throw or be charmed until the end of the creature’s next turn. A creature charmed in this way must use its action praising the nilbog. The nilbog can’t regain hit points, including through magical healing, except through its Reversal of Fortune reaction.

So if anyone would use the a Wand of Wonder, even the nilbog himself, would they have to make a Charisma Save before using it if there is a slim chance they could harm the nilbog?

If the nilbog would use it, there are a lot which could happen to him: stunned on a 11-15, potential 1d6 psychic damage on a 21-25, potentially standing in a fireball 70-79, blinded on a 91-95, petrified on a 98-00.

How does *Steel Wind Strike* interact with *Heated Body* special trait?

Eddy the mage is facing 3 Azors, which are 15, 25 and 10 ft far away from him. Azors have the special trait Heated Body (emphasis mine):

Heated Body. A creature that touches the azer or hits it with a melee attack while within 5 feet of it takes 5 (1d10) fire damage.

Eddy casts Steel Wind Strike (emphasis mine):

You flourish the weapon used in the casting and then vanish to strike like the wind. Choose up to five creatures you can see within range. Make a melee spell attack against each target. On a hit, a target takes 6d10 force damage.

You can then teleport to an unoccupied space you can see within 5 feet of one of the targets you hit or missed.

hits all of them, and he does not teleport from his current position.

Since a melee spell attack is a melee attack, does Eddy take the fire damage given by the Heated Body trait? Is he considered to be within 5 feet during each attack?

How do Shadowdancer’s Hide in Plain Sight, Hellcat Stealth, and enemies’ darkvision interact?

I recently had a game where there was some uncertainty, so I’m here to ask you how this interaction works.

I have a character, a Shadowdancer. This character has also got the Hellcat Stealth feat. The character sneaks in pure darkness, no light at all, on an enemy with Darkvision. There is no cover. Does the character stealth with Hide in Plain Sight, Hellcat Stealth, or the character cannot attempt to stealth? Or does the character stealth with Hide in Plain Sight but with a penalty similar to Hellcat Stealth?

How should Duergars enlarge power and Squeezing into cramped spaces interact?

The actual RAW rule for the Duergar’s enlarge is:

Enlarge (Recharges after a Short or Long Rest). For 1 minute, the duergar magically increases in size, along with anything it is wearing or carrying. While enlarged, the duergar is Large, doubles its damage dice on Strength-based weapon attacks (included in the attacks), and makes Strength checks and Strength saving throws with advantage. If the duergar lacks the room to become Large, it attains the maximum size possible in the space available.

So, in abbreviated form, I see these effects while enlarged:

  • Status Change: Size is Large.
  • Benefit: For Strength based attacks, double the base weapon damage dice.
  • Benefit: Advantage on Strength checks and Strength save.
  • Special Condition: If not enough room to become Large, becomes maximum possible size instead.

It is this last point, and especially how it interact which with the 3 others, that we are confused about.

Also, here is the rule for cramped spaces:

SQUEEZING INTO A SMALLER SPACE

A creature can squeeze through a space that is large enough for a creature one size smaller than it. Thus, a Large creature can squeeze through a passage that’s only 5 feet wide. While squeezing through a space, a creature must spend 1 extra foot for every foot it moves there, and it has disadvantage on attack rolls and Dexterity saving throws. Attack rolls against the creature have advantage while it’s in the smaller space.

Given the situation as detailed in my question above (i.e. duergar decides to enlarge while in a 1 square wide corridor i.e. a 5 feet wide corridor), what should actually happpens, as per RAW?

[A] There is not enough space for the Duergar to actually enlarge to Large size, so the Duergar remains Medium size. Thus, as a Medium creature, it is not Squeezing into a Smaller space. Also, given that it is not Large, it doesn’t get it’s other Duergar enlargement’s damage and Strength benefits.

or

[B] The duergar enlarges somewhat to the maximum possible for Medium creatures, becoming noticeably larger but still "barely under" the limit for actually becoming squeezed (kinda like how a Goliath is still a Medium creature but still has a much bigger "build" anyway). But, as there is not enough space for the Duergar to actually truly enlarge to Large size, thus the Duergar remains a Medium size creature. Thus, as a Medium creature, it is not Squeezing into a Smaller space. However, the Duergar still gets all of his other bonuses from his enlargement (weapon damage and strength advantage), because those benefits are dependent upon the activation of the enlargement power, not on the duergar effectivey really becoming Large size.

or

[C] The duergar enlarges to Large size because it is possible for him to do so anyway: "it attains the maximum size possible in the space available" meaning that it is indeed posssible for a Large creature to exist in a 5-feet wide tunnel, despite the cramped conditions. Thus, the "maximum possible" to exist there is not "Medium", but it is instead "Large + squeezing". Not only does the duergar gets all of his bonuses from being enlarged, but it is also now Squeezing into a smaller space.

So, which is it? DM + players each have their own ideas on how to resolve this, seemingly on opposite ends of the spectrum. We argue the duergar should become squeezed as in [C], thus getting the penalties. Aka "This is really a bad dungeon design for them, all the rooms and corridors where there could be any battle should instead be made to take advantage of their Large size in combat instead". DM is the complete other way as you will see below.

Of course the DM ultimately decides, but we wanted to know what the actually RAW ruling is because a lot more duergars are going to be fought over the next few sessions, we have just entered into a huge dungeon and that dungeon is really seeminggly going to be a big dungeon crawl full of tiny tunnels and tiny rooms, full of duergars all the way to the bottom level.

But it actuallly goes further than even that.

The party is actually good at being fast & sneaky, so the PCs can relatively easily surprise the duergar while they are in a tiny room, to immediately enter the room and position ourselves so that the duergars simply do not have any free 10×10 feet area for them to easily become fully Large size. So, what happens then, when the duergar go into enlargement?

[D] Exactly the same thing as in the 5-feet wide tunnel above (either [A] or [B] or [C]). The PCs are treated as much as "solid obstacles" as the walls are. That is the players’ opinion on things.

or

[E] As the duergar enlarges, it also automatically pushes away any PCs into nearby empty spaces. The player decides which way he is pushed back (this is not a Shove Action made on purpose, after all), with a Strength Save to try to resist the push (duergar ability DC being 8 + 2 Proficiency + 2 STR = DC 12). If pushed and the only way to be pushed back is right into a hole, the PC falls, with a DC 12 Dex Save allowed to hang onto the ledge. This is a "middle ground" approach we tried to negotiate.

or

[F] Same as E, however since the enlargement is "magical" in nature, it pushes back so strongly that it is the duergar’s space that always takes priority, forcing PCs to be the ones pushed not only backways but even sideways too. Basically it works EXACTLY like a free multi-target Shove that is always automatically succesfull, without any opposing resisting check. So in other words it is the duergar who chooses which way we get pushed, even to the point of being forced to end up with 2 or more PCs forced into the same space. Thus, not only does the duergar end up with zero penalty for cramped space, but it is the PCs that end up being the ones that are all squeezed up! And if 3 or more PCs are forced into the same space, they get squeezed so much so that they automatically fall Prone, can’t attack at all, and have to Crawl to get out of the "body pile", provoking an Attack of Opportunity in the process. That is the DM’s stance.

The DM retroactively said that that dungeon has lots of small tunnels and rooms on purpose: he actually built that duergar-built "fortress dungeon" fully with "Interpretation F" in mind.

Also, the DM made the duergar enlarge power "free" to use and not an "Action" to use. Basically, duergar can grow enlarged and immediately attack on their same turn. Monster Manual however seems to say otherwise? Anyway, that dungeon is full of very deadly traps that the perma-invisible duergars (they constantly short rest all day long to keep invisible, because you can somehow maintain your Concentration fulll time during a short rest?) just enlarge at exactly the right moment in order to auto-shove us into ridiculous damage traps (up to acid and lava pits and non-lootable vorpal wall blades and also "mordenkainen disjunction" traps), with of course being allowwed to make an attack too (making falling into a pit trap, or taking the trap’s weapon damage a second time "as you get whacked all around inside the swift moving blades of the trap even more", becoming a neear certainty (DM makes the save DC based on the total damage they deal). Basically: Big Ouchie.

While a DM is allowed to run his campaign as he sees fit, he also insists that he is applying the rules "by the book", so… as per RAW, is he really in any way in the right here? Please help?

Thanks!

How do Aura of Devotion and Beguiling Twist interact?

At level 7, the Fey Wanderer ranger gets a feature called Beguiling Twist. The relevant part reads:

Whenever you or a creature you can see within 120 feet of you succeeds on a saving throw against being charmed or frightened, you can use your reaction to force a different creature you can see within 120 feet of you to make a Wisdom saving throw against your spell save DC. (TCoE, p. 59)

Also at level 7, the Oath of Devotion paladin gets the Aura of Devotion, which says:

You and friendly creatures within 10 feet of you can’t be charmed while you are conscious. (PHB, p. 86)

If a Fey Wanderer and a Devotion paladin are in the same party, and the paladin is targeted by an effect that would impose the charmed condition, does that trigger the ranger’s Beguiling Twist feature? Clearly one way or another the paladin won’t be charmed, but does its immunity function as an automatic success on the saving throw? Or should the paladin roll the saving throw even though it’s going to ignore the effect even if it fails the save, just to determine whether or not the ranger’s ability will trigger?

How does Investiture of Stone interact with Meld into Stone?

While this is primarily a druid spell combination, the Arcana Cleric, Divine Soul Sorcerer, and Genie Warlock subclasses all have access to both spells as well.

The 3rd-level spell Meld into Stone allows you to remain inside of stone for a lengthy duration of eight hours, does not require concentration, and (emphasis mine):

You step into a stone object or surface large enough to fully contain your body, melding yourself and all the equipment you carry with the stone for the duration

You remain aware of the passage of time and can cast spells on yourself while merged in the stone. You can use your movement to leave the stone where you entered it, which ends the spell. You otherwise can’t move.

Minor physical damage to the stone doesn’t harm you, but its partial destruction or a change in its shape (to the extent that you no longer fit within it) expels you and deals 6d6 bludgeoning damage to you. The stone’s complete destruction (or transmutation into a different substance) expels you and deals 50 bludgeoning damage to you. If expelled, you fall prone in an unoccupied space closest to where you first entered (PHB, pg 259).

Whereas the 6th-level spell Investiture of Stone lasts for up to ten minutes, requires concentration, and gives the following benefit (among others) until the spell ends:

You can move through solid earth or stone as if it was air and without destabilizing it, but you can’t end your movement there. If you do so, you are ejected to the nearest unoccupied space, this spell ends, and you are stunned until the end of your next turn (XGE, pg 159).

The spell mentions that your movement does not destabilize the stone nor does it actually transmute it to air, which neatly skirts the terminating conditions of Meld into Stone. So it doesn’t seem as if merely moving through stone would expel you and cause you to take the accompanying damage.

So far so good. However, Investiture of Stone states that you cannot end your movement within the stone without being ejected to the nearest unoccupied space and stunned, while Meld into Stone is also explicit in describing that if expelled from the stone you fall prone in an unoccupied space closest to where you first entered.

Let alone trying to decide whether you can remain within the stone, the effects of the two spells are conflicting and determining which would take precedence is unclear.

The crux of the issue, as I see it, is that Meld into Stone allows you to remain within stone at the cost of your movement, while Investiture of Stone allows you to move through stone but not remain within.

While it does not seem as though these spells were intended to be used in conjunction with each other, Investiture of Stone has a range of self and as such is one of the few spells you are allowed to cast while under the effects of Meld into Stone.

How would you reconcile the combined use of these seemingly contradictory spells? Please include how to resolve the effects in event of expulsion from the stone (i.e. fall prone, get stunned, and/or take damage).

Side note: since casting spells on yourself is listed as an acceptable action during Meld into Stone, I’ve gone ahead and assumed that casing Investiture of Stone is permissible regardless of its verbal and somatic components. By all means feel free to address this point if you disagree, but if so please assume the Subtle Spell Metamagic is being used in this scenario as that isn’t the purpose of the question.

How does Crown of Stars interact with Greater Invisibility?

Suppose I already have the spell Greater Invisibility cast on me, and then I cast Crown of Stars.

From the description of Crown of Stars:

Seven star-like motes of light appear and orbit your head until the spell ends.

My questions are: Are the motes invisible?

Supposing the motes are visible, do I still get the benefits of Greater Invisibility?

Again, supposing the motes are visible, "real-world" logic would tell me that if someone were to try to attack me, the difficulty of trying to hit an invisible person would be somewhat mitigated by the fact that I could just aim at the motes. Similar logic seems reasonable for someone targeting me with a spell.

However, (my reading of) the in-game mechanics would tell me that I am still under the invisible condition (as nothing has ended Greater Invisibility) and thus I should still get all the benefits.