Immovable Object+net interaction

the situation: 2 characters are flanking an enemy, and one player holds an action to cast Immovable Object on a net if an enemy is entangled in a net, and then player 2 uses an action to attack with a net and tangle the enemy up. assuming the second player hits with the net, what would be required of the caster? would they have to make a spell attack etc. if the player successfully casts the spell on the net and the enemy is trapped in an immoveable object net, what options would they have to escape?

related

Interaction between Telemechanics and a Glitter Boy Power Armor, what would happen?

A Mind Melter finds a functioning and unattended suit of Glitter Boy Power Armor. The Mind Melter decides to use Telemechanics on it in order to pilot it.

The Glitter Boy OCC states that non GB pilots can only operate the suit at a Basic level of proficiency while GB pilots default to the Elite proficiency. However, the Telemechanics power states that a Psionic can operate any machine at 80% scholastic skill expertise… but not which skill specifically, and all skills seem to be lumped under "scholastic" as per the general description in the Skills section.

The Mind Melter gets into a Hand to Hand fight while piloting the Glitter Boy and using the Telemechanics power.

Does the Mind Melter use the Basic as per the GB OCC description, the Elite skill somehow, the 80% "scholastic skill" as per the Telemechanics power (and if so, which skill does that translate as), or something else?

In short, what happens… and what level of proficiency does the Telemechanics power result in for the Mind Melter in Hand to Hand combat in the Glitter Boy?

Interaction between Bane and critical hits

The first level spell Bane allows you to curse a creature so that each saving throw or attack roll is reduced by 1d4 for the duration:

Whenever a target [..] makes an attack roll or saving throw before the spell ends, the target must roll a d4 and subtract the number rolled from the attack roll or saving throw. (PHB 216)

How does this interact with an attack roll of natural 20?

I can see two possible interpretations:

  • Bane is stronger: A target under the effect of bane cannot make critical attacks, because 20 – 1d4 will always be < 20.

  • Critical is stronger: A target under the effect of bane can make crits, since crits occur on a natural 20, and the bane malus is applied after determining crit.

A good answer would include relevant rules text to show how this should be handled.

What is the interaction between “Touch of Death” and “Undead Fortitude”

The "Way of the Long Death" monk has a feature called "Undead Fortitude":

Touch of Death

Starting when you choose this tradition at 3rd level, your study of death allows you to extract vitality from another creature as it nears its demise. When you reduce a creature within 5 feet of you to 0 hit points, you gain temporary hit points equal to your Wisdom modifier + your monk level (minimum of 1 temporary hit point).

(Bold added for emphasis). How does this work when a WotLD Monk reduces a zombie to 0 hit points and the blow is shrugged off by undead fortitude?

Undead Fortitude

If damage reduces the zombie to 0 hit points, it must make a Constitution saving throw with a DC of 5+the damage taken, unless the damage is radiant or from a critical hit. On a success, the zombie drops to 1 hit point instead.

I could see this working one of two ways:

  1. A zombie takes a hit, and drops to 0 hit points. Then Undead Fortitude kicks in and on a success, the zombie comes back to 1 HP. The zombie had been reduced to 0 hp, so ToD activates.

  2. A zombie takes a hit, and makes a roll to see whether it drops to 0 or 1 HP. On a success, it drops to 1 HP and had never dropped to 0, therefore ToD does not activate.

Is there any official ruling on this case? If not, what is a reasonable interpretation of these rules?

does interaction with a magic neckless count as action in combet

I’m playing in Curse of Strahd model, and there is an item named holy symbol of ravenkind. This item hides behind the paladin character shirt. When the paladin have the sword and shield ready to battle and want to take out the HSOR necklace, does he need to sheathe or drop his sword before he can pull the necklace out? I tried to consult with this spellcasting in combat clarifications and restrictions article but it got me more confused. And if you need to sheathe the sword, does it take 2 action to draw it? example: 1st turn sheathe the sword 2nd turn pull the necklace and use it 3ed turn wear the necklace on the neck and draw the sword 4th turn attack with the sword this is how my DM said it should be, considering the necklace as an item like a sword.

Free object interaction as part of an action – ‘in tandem’

The "free" in "free object interaction" means without cost – the object interactions you are permitted to have without having to spend your action on "Use an Object". In "Other Activity on Your Turn" (PHB190)

Your turn can include a variety of flourishes that require neither your action nor your move…. You can also interact with one object or feature of the environment for free, during either your move or your action. For example, you could open a door during your move as you stride toward a foe, or you could draw your weapon as part of the same action you use to attack. (emphasis mine)

And in "Interacting with Objects Around You" (ibid)

Here are a few examples of the sorts of thing you can do in tandem with your movement and action: (emphasis mine)

My question here is Rules as Intended, how much emphasis to place on the phrases "as part of" and "in tandem with"?

It could be that you are allowed to interact with one object regardless of your action, and anything of roughly the complexity of everything listed under the second citation above is fair game, regardless of whether it thematically fits your main action.

Or, it could be that your free object interaction can only be used if it "fits" as part of your main action.

So, for example, if I want to draw a sword and attack with that sword, that clearly is part of my attack action and would be allowed under either interpretation.

Likewise, if I wanted to pull out a focus to use in spellcasting, that would be allowed as part of my cast a spell action.

But what if I began my turn with a sword in hand and wanted to put it away so that I had the hand free to perform the somatic component of a spell?

A generous interpretation of the free object interaction would say that "sheathing a sword" is specifically on the list of free interactions, so it is allowed as part of any action.

A more restrictive interpretation would say that sheathing a sword is not, strictly speaking, something that could be considered part of the casting a spell action so that while I could drop the sword (as when I change weapons before an attack), I could not carefully sheathe it.

Aside from the actual PHB rules (which I consider vague), the only guide to interpretation I have found comes from Sage Advice of 3/2015:

[A cleric] likes to wade into melee combat with a mace in one hand and a shield in the other…If [she] casts cure wounds, she needs to put the mace or the shield away, because that spell doesn’t have a material component but does have a somatic component. She’s going to need a free hand to make the spell’s gestures. If she had the War Caster feat, she could ignore this restriction.

Unfortunately "put the mace or shield away" doesn’t provide a lot of guidance on whether this means carefully stowing as part of her cast a spell action.

A good answer will not just rehash the cites I gave above and argue for one specific interpretation of the words over another. Rather, it will find other citations, either in official publications or designer intent tweets and such, and explain how they specifically favor one interpretation over the other.

Related: https://rpg.stackexchange.com/questions/142242/does-5e-have-a-free-item-interaction#:~:text=You%20get%20one%20free%20object%20interaction%20on%20your%20turn.&text=You%20can%20also%20interact%20with,your%20move%20or%20your%20action.&text=If%20you%20want%20to%20interact,need%20to%20use%20your%20action.

Related: Drawing and sheathing weapons as one item interaction

Can you use your free object interaction while restrained

If a character is restrained, like being in the gullet of a froghemoth, and they attempt to pull out a different weapon, I assume they could drop what they were holding, but since their speed is zero, can they pull out another item for free?

For instance, a character drops a dagger and pulls out a magical wand to use. If they used the dagger, I can see that it was in their hands and the disadvantage imposed would be the crap windup in the stomach of a monster. Can they simply drop the weapon and pull out the wand for free?

What is the interaction between mold earth and create bonfire?

If I cast create bonfire in a 5 foot unoccupied space. Then next round cast mold earth to excavate that same area creating a 5 foot pit underneath the fire; Does the bonfire fall or stay at ground level?

This came up in game. The bonfire is magically created and does not need to burn fuel. So it could float. But does it? Is there a precident?

What is the interaction between Green-Flame Blade and Absorb elements

Green-Flame Blade States:

…you must make a melee attack with a weapon against one creature…

…On a hit, the target suffers the attack’s normal effects, and green fire leaps from the target to a different creature of your choice that you can see within 5 feet of it. The second creature takes fire damage equal to your spellcasting ability modifier…

Absorb Elements States:

…the first time you hit with a melee attack on your next turn, the target takes an extra 1d6 damage of the triggering type…

Since Green-Flame Blade is a single attack that affects 2 targets at the same time. Does the Absorb Elements extra damage affect both the 1st and 2ndary targets as per RAW?