Does RLNC (Random Linear Network Coding) still need interaction from the other side to overcome packet loss reliably?

I’m looking into implementing RLNC as a project, and while I understand the concept of encoding the original data with random linear coefficients, resulting in a number of packets, sending those packets, and thus the client will be able to reconstruct the original data from some of the received packets, even if a few of the packets are lost, if enough encoded packets have arrived to create a solvable equation system.

However, I have not seen any mention of the fact that if there is a non zero percent of packet loss, there is a possibility that the receiver of the encoded packets will not receive enough packets to reconstruct the original data. The only solution I see to this is to implement some type of sequencing so that the receiver can verify he hasn’t missed some packets that would allow him to reconstruct the original data, in other words interaction. Am I missing some part of the algorithm or not? If someone has solved this problem already, can you please show me where it has been solved so I can read about it?

What is the interaction between Thunderwave and being required to target your own space? [duplicate]

The spell Thunderwave has the rather unusual target area of a 15-foot cube, the point of origin for which is the caster, which is generally understood to mean you can either position the cube anywhere adjacent to yourself, or (for whichever reason) include yourself in the area, but not if it’s the middle of it.

However, for homebrew reasons, the character trying to cast Thunderwave has the following limitation to their spellcasting:

[I]f the spell requires a somatic component, it must target you or a point in your space.

Thunderwave, with its components being V S, fits that description, but that results in a rather unclear interaction – since I have to choose a "point in [my] own space" for the spell’s origin, where can the cube be placed?

Interaction between an Intellect Devourer and a Simulacrum

An Intellect Devourer Has an ability called Body Thief, which states:

…the intellect devourer magically consumes the target’s brain, teleports into the target’s skull, and takes control of the target’s body. While inside a creature, the intellect devourer has total cover against attacks and other effects originating outside its host. The intellect devourer retains its Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma scores, as well as its understanding of Deep Speech, its telepathy, and its traits. It otherwise adopts the target’s statistics. It knows everything the creature knew, including spells and languages.

If an Intellect Devourer takes over a Simulacrum of a Wizard, can the Intellect Devourer recover spells with a long rest, or is it beholden to the simulacrum rule:

The simulacrum lacks the ability to learn or become more powerful, so it never increases its level or other abilities, nor can it regain expended spell slots.

This literally just happened to us and we are stumped. I think the Devourer is a new creature and thus can recover spells. As it would choose to gain the abilities but not the short comings of the new form.

True Polymorph interaction with Find Steed

Find Steed (p240 PHB) States:

When the steed drops to 0 hit points, it disappears, leaving behind no physical form. You can also dismiss your steed at any time as an action, causing it to disappear. In either case, casting this spell again summons the same steed, restored to its hit point maximum.

If I were to cast True Polymorh (p283 PHB) on the steed and wait the full duration to make it permanent, would the steed return when summoned as the original steed or as the new creature it was polymorphed into?

Monitoring User (developer) interaction

I’m looking for a "tamper proof" way, if there is such a thing, to monitor what a developer/engineer does on a given system.

To expand a bit more about this, we have several systems that run a Ruby on Rails technology stack with Ubuntu Docker containers on K8S, and for our PCI compliance, we require a monitoring solution that allows us to basically track what a developer/engineer does on a system from the point where an SSH session is established until the session is terminated.

Ideally, we’d like to see:

  • Loggin in
  • Any commands used in the SSH session
  • Any commands/code executed with irb or rails console
  • These logs send to Cloudwatch
  • Inability to disable this monitoring

I was originally thinking about a simple shell overwrite for the above commands to simply track every command going on, and rely on the shell history to see what has been happening, but that obviously doesn’t pass the "tamper proof" requirement, as anyone with SSH access would be able to bypass that.

I’m thinking more about some OS level monitoring to either watch the processes directly we know that will be used for working with the PCI sensitive information, or just monitor all tty trafic/interaction.

What I’m looking for is best-practises, reading material or recommendations on what’s the accepted/recommended way for setting up a system like this.

Could I have handled this PC interaction better?

I started up a play by post game on roll20 for a group of friends. A co-worker, and friend of another player, had asked to join in. Let’s call him P1, or Player 1. I said sure, we got the game going after some slow start up.

The party is meeting for the first time in a tavern. They get the adventure hook and agree to work together. P1 is playing a gnome wizard. My wife is playing a human paladin. She thought it would be funny, since her paladin isn’t the brightest of the bunch, to pick up the gnome and get them on the road. P1 responds by wanting to not be picked up. I ask both for a strength roll. P1 loses. So I ask him what his response is to being picked up. His response was to quit and leave our discord server we were using for ooc talk.

While I don’t miss someone who would bail so quickly, I do wonder if I could have done something better. I’d like to learn from this to avoid such a situation in the future. Should I have stopped my wife before she even tried to pick up P1? Was it wrong to let the dice decide who won the conflict of being picked up?

Interaction of Intellect Devourer’s actions with the Protection from Evil and Good

How do Intellect Devourer’s actions interact with the “Protection from Evil and Good”? Am I right that:

  1. if “Body Thief” was not successfully used and the target creature is already under spell, than:
    1. “Claws” attack has disadvantage on attack rolls,
    2. if ID uses “Devour Intellect” does the target have an advantage on Intelligence saving throw (looks like it’s not stated directly in the spell’s description, there is just said about this only if the target is already “charmed, frightened, or possessed”) when ID uses this attack for the first time? For the next time, if previous failed?
    3. ID cannot use “Body Thief” at all.
  2. if “Body Thief” has already been used successfully and the target creature was not under the spell (which is a consequence of the previous statement, otherwise it cannot be), than:
    1. ID’s attacks (on the first target) have no meaning because the target’s brain is magically consumed and ID is in the target’s skull,
    2. casting “Protection from Evil and Good” on the target with ID inside with 100% chance drives the ID out.

Am I right? Please, pay attention to the 1.2 statement.

Actually, this question is not a duplicate of this: Protection from Evil and Good and Intellect Devourer because there was asked only if the Protection from Evil and Good can drive the intellect devourer out of the body as is stated in the monster description while in the spell description it is stated that it can affect only the creature (not body).

Wildshape (3.5) interaction with craven & rend?

So, a 15th level druid (with other classes added) wildshapes in to a legendary ape.

He possesses the following feats/abilities:

Craven You take a -2 penalty on saving throws against fear effects. However, when making a sneak attack, you deal an extra 1 point of damage per character level.

Sudden Strike (Ex): Whenever a target is denied a Dexterity bonus to its AC (whether the target actually has a Dexterity bonus or not), you deal an extra 1d6 points of damage with the attack. You can’t use sudden strike when flanking an opponent unless that opponent is denied its Dexterity bonus to AC.

Rend (Ex): If a legendary ape hits a single target with both claws, it latches onto the opponent’s body and tears the flesh. This attack deals 2d8+15 points of damage.

My question is: if said druid wildshaped attacks and hits with all of his attacks does he apply the Craven damage to the rend – technically the claws are in the target and he rips them out – during this last phase – no to hit roll is needed and certainly dexterity is not a factor – but is it irrelevant? Or does it only apply if the target had previously had no Dex bonus (for whatever reason).

Many thanks.

Also – Is the answer any different if he had flanking instead of sudden strike?

Planar Ally and Planar Binding interaction

Let’s say I’m a cleric of Mystra, and I need her help, so I cast Planar Ally:

You beseech an otherworldly entity for aid. The being must be known to you: a god, a primordial, a demon prince, or some other being of cosmic power. That entity sends a celestial, an elemental, or a fiend loyal to it to aid you, making the creature appear in an unoccupied space within range. When the creature appears, it is under no compulsion to behave in any particular way. You can ask the creature to perform a service in exchange for payment, but it isn’t obliged to do so. The requested task could range from simple (fly us across the chasm, or help us fight a battle) to complex (spy on our enemies, or protect us during our foray into the dungeon). You must be able to communicate with the creature to bargain for its services. Payment can take a variety of forms

My godess sends a Deva with siverfire wings or something like that to help me with a task, and I ask the angel to just stay still and quiet for 1 hour. Then, I start casting Planar Binding:

With this spell, you attempt to bind a celestial, an elemental, a fey, or a fiend to your service. The creature must be within range for the entire casting of the spell. At the completion of the casting, the target must make a Charisma saving throw. On a failed save, it is bound to serve you for the duration. If the creature was summoned or created by another spell, that spell’s duration is extended to match the duration of this spell. A bound creature must follow your instructions to the best of its ability.

Would I be able to control the angel against my godess’ will without paying the cost of the planar ally? What happens if I cast the binding at 9th level, would I get a messenger of Mystra at my service for one year, or only until the angel compleats its first task?