Does poking yourself with a needle with the intend to do damage require the Attack action, or can it be done as a (free) object interaction?

Does poking yourself with a needle hard enough to cause damage require the Attack action, or can it be done as a free object interaction?

This task is certainly no more involved than opening a door, which is the example of an object interaction in the PHB. Also, having your player do an Attack roll for such a trivial thing feels ridiculous. However, this would provide an easy way to sustain your rage when you cannot attack or are not attacked.

How to map interaction events to game actions

When I port between Desktop games and Mobile games, I find I always make a kludge out of the interaction events.

I typically end up hard-coding event handling for mobile, and event handling for the desktop in completely separate systems.

On mobile, I need to track multiple touches.

On desktop, I only have a single mouse pointer.

But on desktop, there is a concept of “hovering” above something with a mouse. There is no such thing on mobile. Or pressing a modifier key like SHIFT or CTRL while clicking a button or pressing a key.

I want to design an API that I can use on both mobile and desktop that is able to translate an interaction (by user) to an action in my game world.

Are there any design patterns that I can follow, or some abstract model I can use for this? How do people successfully marry the desktop and mobile port of a game?

So in the same code-base, maybe assign Alt+Left-Click to a certain game function, but on mobile have that done via a gesture.

On Desktop, I currently use SDL2’s SDL_Event. On Apple, is use UIEvent, and on Android I use NDK’s AInputEvent.

Can you drink poisoned ale as an object interaction?

Inspired by the question “What is the cheapest way to damage myself and trigger the effects of the Fade Away feat?” I am now wondering whether you can drink a flagon of poisoned ale as an object interaction.

The list of things you can do with your object interaction includes:

  • drink all the ale in a flagon

There are also poisons which activate when ingested such as the Assassin’s Blood (Ingested) Poison which states:

A creature subjected to this poison must make a DC 10 Constitution saving throw. On a failed save, it takes 6 (1d12) poison damage and is poisoned for 24 hours. On a successful save, the creature takes half damage and isn’t poisoned.

The section on ingested poisons states:

A creature must swallow an entire dose of ingested poison to suffer its effects. The dose can be delivered in food or a liquid. You may decide that a partial dose has a reduced effect, such as allowing advantage on the saving throw or dealing only half damage on a failed save.

I am wondering if there are rules that I’ve missed somewhere detailing poisoning things like this. Are there rules that clarify further whether you can drink poisoned ale as an object interaction, thus dealing damage to yourself?


Two reasons you may want to do this:
To damage yourself in order to activate the Fade Away feat.
To damage yourself in order to prevent Barbarian Rage from ending.

Can you drink poisoned ale as an object interaction?

Inspired by the question “What is the cheapest way to damage myself and trigger the effects of the Fade Away feat?” I am now wondering whether you can drink a flagon of poisoned ale as an object interaction.

The list of things you can do with your object interaction includes:

  • drink all the ale in a flagon

There are also poisons which activate when ingested such as the Assassin’s Blood (Ingested) Poison which states:

A creature subjected to this poison must make a DC 10 Constitution saving throw. On a failed save, it takes 6 (1d12) poison damage and is poisoned for 24 hours. On a successful save, the creature takes half damage and isn’t poisoned.

The section on ingested poisons states:

A creature must swallow an entire dose of ingested poison to suffer its effects. The dose can be delivered in food or a liquid. You may decide that a partial dose has a reduced effect, such as allowing advantage on the saving throw or dealing only half damage on a failed save.

I am wondering if there are rules that I’ve missed somewhere detailing poisoning things like this. Are there rules that clarify further whether you can drink poisoned ale as an object interaction, thus dealing damage to yourself?


Two reasons you may want to do this:
To damage yourself in order to activate the Fade Away feat.
To damage yourself in order to prevent Barbarian Rage from ending.

Can you drink poisoned ale as an object interaction?

Inspired by the question “What is the cheapest way to damage myself and trigger the effects of the Fade Away feat?” I am now wondering whether you can drink a flagon of poisoned ale as an object interaction.

The list of things you can do with your object interaction includes:

  • drink all the ale in a flagon

There are also poisons which activate when ingested such as the Assassin’s Blood (Ingested) Poison which states:

A creature subjected to this poison must make a DC 10 Constitution saving throw. On a failed save, it takes 6 (1d12) poison damage and is poisoned for 24 hours. On a successful save, the creature takes half damage and isn’t poisoned.

The section on ingested poisons states:

A creature must swallow an entire dose of ingested poison to suffer its effects. The dose can be delivered in food or a liquid. You may decide that a partial dose has a reduced effect, such as allowing advantage on the saving throw or dealing only half damage on a failed save.

I am wondering if there are rules that I’ve missed somewhere detailing poisoning things like this. Are there rules that clarify further whether you can drink poisoned ale as an object interaction, thus dealing damage to yourself?


Two reasons you may want to do this:
To damage yourself in order to activate the Fade Away feat.
To damage yourself in order to prevent Barbarian Rage from ending.

Can you drink poisoned ale as an object interaction?

Inspired by the question “What is the cheapest way to damage myself and trigger the effects of the Fade Away feat?” I am now wondering whether you can drink a flagon of poisoned ale as an object interaction.

The list of things you can do with your object interaction includes:

  • drink all the ale in a flagon

There are also poisons which activate when ingested such as the Assassin’s Blood (Ingested) Poison which states:

A creature subjected to this poison must make a DC 10 Constitution saving throw. On a failed save, it takes 6 (1d12) poison damage and is poisoned for 24 hours. On a successful save, the creature takes half damage and isn’t poisoned.

The section on ingested poisons states:

A creature must swallow an entire dose of ingested poison to suffer its effects. The dose can be delivered in food or a liquid. You may decide that a partial dose has a reduced effect, such as allowing advantage on the saving throw or dealing only half damage on a failed save.

I am wondering if there are rules that I’ve missed somewhere detailing poisoning things like this. Are there rules that clarify further whether you can drink poisoned ale as an object interaction, thus dealing damage to yourself?


Two reasons you may want to do this:
To damage yourself in order to activate the Fade Away feat.
To damage yourself in order to prevent Barbarian Rage from ending.

By RAW can you use free object interaction while taking the “Use an Object” action?

There is a drinking contest between a Dwarf and a Halfling to see who can drink flagons of ale the fastest. Normally one would assume the Dwarf would have an advantage at drinking, but unbeknown to them the Halfling is a Thief.

From the rules for Interacting With Objects Around You

Here are a few examples of the sorts of thing you can do in tandem with your movement and action:

  • drink all the ale in a flagon

From the rules for the Use an Object action:

You normally interact with an object while doing something else, such as when you draw a sword as part of an attack. When an object requires your action for its use, you take the Use an Object action. This action is also useful when you want to interact with more than one object on your turn.

Can someone taking the Use an Object action to drink 2 flagons of ale in a single action?

Can a Thief take Use an Object, then use Fast Hands to Use an Object again, then move 0ft, drinking 5 flagons of ale in a single turn?

In the quote above I have italicised a sentence, does this limit you to 1 object interaction per turn for free, or is this an explanation why someone would ever use this when they can interact with objects for free?

Note: I know that using action surge you could drink even more flagons of ale in a turn, this isn’t an optimisation question, the ale drinking is just an example. If you want to present a more powerful drinking champion then go ahead, after the question is answered 🙂

Also note: I am interested in the official rules. This means a RAW reading to the best of your ability, supported by RAI if you want. If you want to provide some houserules about interacting with objects please do so after addressing RAW/RAI.

Magical Lineage/Bloodline Arcana interaction

Magical Lineage says:

Benefit: Pick one spell when you choose this trait. When you apply metamagic feats to this spell that add at least 1 level to the spell, treat its actual level as 1 lower for determining the spell’s final adjusted level.

Arcane Bloodline’s Bloodline Arcana says:

Whenever you apply a metamagic feat to a spell that increases the slot used by at least one level, increase the spell’s DC by +1. This bonus does not stack with itself and does not apply to spells modified by the Heighten Spell feat.

If I apply “+1 spell level” metamagic (such as Extend Spell) to the spell chosen with Magical Lineage, does the DC of the spell increase, even though the final adjusted level of the spell remains the same as that of the base spell?

Magical Lineage/Bloodline Arcana interaction

Magical Lineage says:

Benefit: Pick one spell when you choose this trait. When you apply metamagic feats to this spell that add at least 1 level to the spell, treat its actual level as 1 lower for determining the spell’s final adjusted level.

Arcane Bloodline’s Bloodline Arcana says:

Whenever you apply a metamagic feat to a spell that increases the slot used by at least one level, increase the spell’s DC by +1. This bonus does not stack with itself and does not apply to spells modified by the Heighten Spell feat.

If I apply “+1 spell level” metamagic (such as Extend Spell) to the spell chosen with Magical Lineage, does the DC of the spell increase, even though the final adjusted level of the spell remains the same as that of the base spell?

Interaction between casting spells and the Attack action

Say I have a spell like flame arrows, lightning arrow or absorb elements, these spells are cast before making an attack, yet deal damage when an attack hits.
In such a case flame arrows would deal 1d6 fire damage, lightning arrow 4d8 lighting damage, or absorb elements dealing 1d6 of the absorbed elemental damage on the turn after absorb elements has been used as a reaction, from a melee attack.

When the attack charged with the spell hits, does this count as a spell for other mechanical purposes?

For example, if I had the Elemental Adept feat for fire or lightning and make an attack charged with one of these spells; say I then roll a 1 on the damage die made for the attack, if Elemental Adept applies this damage roll now counts as a 2 and undercuts resistance to its element.

I’m personally unsure as this is a bit of an edge case where it’s unclear whether ongoing spells cast historically confer their status of being a spell when taking the attack action.

Furthermore, do magic damage rolls made due to magic items count?