Does reading the Book of Exalted Deeds prevent casting non-upcast 5th-level spells into a Ring of Spell Storing?

The Ring of Spell Storing states (emphasis mine):

This ring stores spells cast into it, holding them until the attuned wearer uses them. The ring can store up to 5 levels worth of spells at a time. When found, it contains 1d6 − 1 levels of stored spells chosen by the GM.

Any creature can cast a spell of 1st through 5th level into the ring by touching the ring as the spell is cast. The spell has no effect, other than to be stored in the ring. If the ring can’t hold the spell, the spell is expended without effect. The level of the slot used to cast the spell determines how much space it uses.

While wearing this ring, you can cast any spell stored in it. The spell uses the slot level, spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the original caster, but is otherwise treated as if you cast the spell. The spell cast from the ring is no longer stored in it, freeing up space.

The Book of Exalted Deeds states:

[…] Once you’ve read and studied the book, any spell slot you expend to cast a cleric or paladin spell counts as a spell slot of one level higher. […]

Thus, any 5th-level spell cast using a 5th-level spell slot would count as using a 6th-level spell slot, which cannot be stored into a Ring of Spell Storing. Is this correct? Is there some rule I’ve missed or way around this besides ending the benefits from the Book?

Can a character with darkvision see into Hunger of Hadar?

Can a character with darkvision see into Hunger of Hadar? This assumes the character is not inside the spells area, and therefore not blinded.

This has come up a few times on this stackexchange, but never really answered.

The hunger of Hadar spell (PHB, p. 251) creates a black void of darkness, which cannot be penetrated by light. This means that no one can see in […]

is stated in this question, without any rules to back it up.

I’m not even going to go into the debate about whether darkvision can see through hunger of hadar

From this question

Therefore I think a seperate question is warranted.

Can a character move a creature into an empty space that would require it to squeeze?

Page 192 of the Player’s Handbook has rules for squeezing:

A creature can squeeze through a space that is large enough for a creature one size smaller than it. Thus, a Large creature can squeeze through a passage that’s only 5 feet wide. While squeezing through a space, a creature must spend 1 extra foot for every foot it moves there, and it has disadvantage on attack rolls and Dexterity saving throws. Attack rolls against the creature have advantage while it’s in the smaller space.

The Crusher feat from Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything allows a character to move a creature it hits with an attack that deals bludgeoning damage 5 feet to an unoccupied space:

[…] Once per turn, when you hit a creature with an attack that deals bludgeoning damage, you can move it 5 feet to an unoccupied space, provided the target is no more than one size larger than you. […]

Could a character move a creature it hits 5 feet to a space that the creature could otherwise only occupy by squeezing, and thus inflict upon that creature all the disadvantages that entails?

How to convert a Dataset into an indexed dataset / association-of-associations given a column header?

Given a dataset as such

Input

If "letter" is the header that is chosen, how do I convert it into an indexed dataset / association-of-associations?

i.e. How do I define f such that f[dataset_,columnHeader_] produces the following?

enter image description here

Please note GroupBy is close but fails as you are unable to use Part to work with the result to extract column data. eg:

data = {<|"letter" -> "a", "foo" -> 1, "bar" -> 2|>, <|"letter" -> "b", "foo" -> 3, "bar" -> 4|>, <|"letter" -> "c", "foo" -> 5, "bar" -> 6|>}; dataDS = Dataset[data]; dataDSg= GroupBy[dataDS, Key["letter"]]; dataDSg[All, "foo"] (* <- produces an error *) 

Where as data in the format of an association-of-association works fine

data2 = <|"a" -> <|"foo" -> 1, "bar" -> 2|>, "b" -> <|"foo" -> 3, "bar" -> 4|>, "c" -> <|"foo" -> 5, "bar" -> 6|>|>; data2DS = data2 // Dataset; data2DS [All, "foo"] (* <- returns a dataset with 1,3,5 *) 

Postgres Combine Summed Values from 2 Queries / Tables into Single Row

Say I had the following 2 queries, summing values from separate tables.

I would like the sum of recorded time

SELECT      SUM(minutes) as recorded_minutes,     SUM(hours) as recorded_hours FROM recorded_time WHERE     project_id = 1 

To be combined with the sum of budgeted time in a single row

SELECT      SUM(minutes) as budgeted_minutes,     SUM(hours) as budgeted_hours FROM budgeted_time WHERE     project_id = 1 

Is it possible to do this in a single query?

If you multiclass into two spell casting classes, what level of spells can you choose?

If you multiclassed into two different spell casting classes, would the level of spells you are allowed to choose depend on your total level of spell slots or the highest you could have from the specific class? I always though it was the former but Matt Mercer disagrees. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=100wR825ImI&list=PLjJ7eKdrLY350toi0TdYGri-puOdyYCZH&index=27&t=0s

For example, if you were a wizard 3 cleric 2, would you be able to have level 1 or 2 wizard spells, and level 1 cleric spells, or up to level 3 of both.

How to Convert the complex notation into x, y-coordinates?

Convert the complex notation into x, y-coordinates; see also Accumulate and ListLinePlot.
enter image description here

I try to use the table to list all the summation value.( I suppose upper bounds N is 5)

plot1 = Table[{N,Sum[e^(2*Pi*I*n*Sqrt[2]),{n,1,N}]},{N,1,5}]; ListLinePlot[plot1]; 

But I just got an empty axis.
I think I need to convert the complex notation, I don’t know how to convert it.
Could you give me some suggestions?
Thank you!

What’s the best way to incorporate MTG into D&D?

I started playing AD&D when it came out in the seventies. I have all of the 1st edition Core books including Deities & Demigods with Melnibonéan and Cthulhu mythos. I have about 100 Modules as well as some Gamma World and Star Frontiers. I started playing Magic the Gathering in 1993 and have about 15,000 cards. There are a lot of creatures as well as characters that I would like to incorporate into some D&D dungeons, but not exactly sure how to make the transition from Magic’s Attack/Defense to D&D’s AC/HP or specific DAM. Any suggestions where to start, other than just doing a comparison from a MTG creature/character to something from D&D?

How should I handle a Poltergeist throwing a PC into another?

I wanted to include a Poltergeist in one of my encounters but I’m not entirely sure how to handle one thing in its stat block.

The Poltergeist can use its Telekinetic Thrust ability to toss a creature up to 30 feet, and that creature takes 1d6 damage per 10 feet moved if it hits a "hard surface or heavy object". It also says it can hurl objects at creatures and they take 2d4 damage on hit. The text is below:

Telekinetic Thrust. The poltergeist targets a creature or unattended object within 30 feet of it. A creature must be Medium or smaller to be affected by this magic, and an object can weigh up to 150 pounds.

If the target is a creature, the poltergeist makes a Charisma check contested by the target’s Strength check. If the poltergeist wins the contest, the poltergeist hurls the target up to 30 feet in any direction, including upward. If the target then comes into contact with a hard surface or heavy object, the target takes 1d6 damage per 10 feet moved.

If the target is an object that isn’t being worn or carried, the poltergeist hurls it up to 30 feet in any direction. The poltergeist can use the object as a ranged weapon, attacking one creature along the object’s path (+4 to hit) and dealing 5 (2d4) bludgeoning damage on a hit.

The Monster Manual reads that the Poltergeist is more driven by rage than anything else, and I was planning on playing it as blindly attacking the party by flinging objects at them or pushing them away. That said, it seems at least possible that it could throw one PC into another. How should I rule this? Should only the tossed creature take damage? The PC that was hit? Both?