Why does a character get Fate points from invocation only at the end of a scene in Fate Core?

This answer to "What happens to the fate point after a character invokes an aspect?" shows that in DFRPG (per Your Story, p. 106):

if you’re invoking an aspect on another PC or on a NPC to gain an advantage over them, that character will receive the fate point you spent, either at the end of the exchange (in conflict, see page 197) or at the end of the scene (outside of conflict).

But in Fate Core (p. 81):

if someone pays a fate point to invoke an aspect attached to your character, you gain their fate point at the end of the scene.

Why did Evil Hat change invocation so that Fate points are given out only at the end of a scene?

Would expanding the Beguiling Influence invocation in this way cause any problems?

One of the warlock’s Eldritch Invocations, Beguilling Influence, bugs me. The full description is:

Beguiling Influence
You gain proficiency in the Deception and Persuasion skills.

This is fine for a warlock who doesn’t already have proficiency with those two skills, but it’s a bit weak for someone who already has one of them, and entirely useless for someone who already has both of them.

I was wondering whether it might help to get some more mileage out of this invocation if I were to change it to this:

Beguiling Influence
You gain proficiency in the Deception and Persuasion skills. If you are already proficient in either of those skills, you instead gain expertise with that skill, which means your proficiency bonus is doubled for any ability check you make with it, unless it is already benefiting from a feature, such as Expertise, that doubles your proficiency bonus.

The intention is that it wouldn’t be any different for a warlock who wasn’t already proficient, but for a character who was already quite deceptive and/or persuasive, this invocation would enhance their abilities even further.

I added the clause about it not stacking with Expertise (wording borrowed from the Prodigy feat) so that it couldn’t be exploited by a warlock/bard or some other combination.

My question is, does this seem like a good, clean change that would add to the game, or are there either balance issues that would make this problematic, either in terms of balance or going against the design of what invocations are for, or otherwise would it make far less impact than I’m expecting?

Could you explain the meaning of warlock invocation number next to its grade?

I am rolling a warlock in my current campaign and we started at level 3. For my invocations, I have picked walk unseen and fell flight. I was told I could not do that by my DM since he told me my level wasn’t enough. However, when I referred back to my Complete Arcane, it mentioned:

A least invocation has a level equivalent of 1st or 2nd; a lesser, 3rd or 4th; a greater, 5th or 6th; and a dark invocation has a level equivalent of 6th or higher (maximum 9th).

So I automatically assumed that at level 1 and 2, I have access to least and 3 and 4, I have access to lesser, turns out not.

When I refered back to Complete Arcane for the invocations I picked, it said:

Fell Flight: Lesser; 3rd

and

Walk Unseen: Lesser; 2nd

I am really confused about which level can I pick these two invocations? I would appreciate it if you could explain how the warlock level corresponds to the invocation grade and the number next to it.

Does the Voice of the Chain Master invocation allow me to see through my familiar’s senses without using an action?

After reading this Sorlock guide and a further discussion in the comments about this topic, it’s still unclear to me if the Voice of the Chain Master invocation lifts the requirement of spending an action to perceive through the familiar’s senses.

The relevant part of the find familiar spell says:

While your familiar is within 100 feet of you, you can communicate with it telepathically. Additionally, as an action, you can see through your familiar’s eyes and hear what it hears until the start of your next turn, gaining the benefits of any special senses that the familiar has. During this time, you are deaf and blind with regard to your own senses.

The warlock’s Voice of the Chain Master eldritch invocation says, in part:

You can communicate telepathically with your familiar and perceive through your familiar’s senses as long as you are on the same plane of existence.

They invoke an explanation from Jeremy Crawford which, to me, doesn’t clarify anything at all:

Voice of the Chain Master enhances the find familiar spell, which otherwise works as written for the warlock.

To me, “enhances the find familiar spell” could either mean solely that it increases the range at which you can perceive through the familiar’s senses (or communicate telepathically), or that it both enhances the range and also removes the need to use your action to perceive through its senses. But again, this depends on how you read it.

Does Voice of the Chain Master remove the action usage requirement from find familiar? How are you arriving at that answer?

Is Entropic Warding a passive invocation and when is the effect over?

I was wondering if entropic warding is activated passively (meaning it is activated automatically upon recieving damage) or if it requires a standard action casting for it to be active just like the rest of the invocations. This is the description for the invocation:

When this invocation is activated, chaotic energies swirl about you, deflecting incoming arrows, rays, and other ranged attacks (as entropic shield). You leave no trail (as pass without trace) and cannot be tracked by scent. (You can still be detected normally by scent, just not tracked.)

From that description, I can’t tell whether it is activated passively or through standard action like the rest of warlock invocations.

Also, after succesfully deflecting an attack via entropic warding, does it need to be cast again or does the effect continue?

Does the Aspect of the Moon Eldritch Invocation effectively allow for unending Wild Shape?

Let’s assume minimum, Moon Druid 4, Pact of the Tome Warlock 3

Wild Shape works by:

You can stay in a beast shape for a number of hours equal to half your druid level (rounded down). You then revert to your normal form unless you expend another use of this feature. You can revert to your normal form earlier by using a bonus action on your turn. You automatically revert if you fall unconscious, drop to 0 hit points, or die.

With level 4 Moon Druid, the PC has 2 hours of wild shape time without expending another use. Moon subclass lets them use only a bonus action to expend a use of wild shape. And a short rest is only an hour. So I am thinking that taking a bonus action every other hour of resting would help here.

Aspect of the Moon is:

You no longer need to sleep and can’t be forced to sleep by any means. To gain the benefits of a long rest, you can spend all 8 hours doing light activity, such as reading your Book of Shadows and keeping watch.

Could the druid spend their week of down time in town wild shaped the whole time, and could the same druid stay in a tiny form like a house cat and be carried by the party to stay in wild shape indefinitely until strenuous activity or being dropped to 0 hp occur?

How do Eberron Dragonmarks and Book of Ancient Secrets Invocation interact?

I might be over-analyzing and confusing myself, but I’m not certain regarding the interaction between Dragonmark learned Ritual spells and the Book of Ancient Secrets warlock invocation.

Let’s take as an example the Mark of Hospitality subrace’s trait:

Spells of the Mark. If you have the Spellcasting or the Pact Magic class feature, the spells on the Mark of Hospitality Spells table are added to the spell list of your spellcasting class.

This list includes ritual spells like, Leomund’s tiny hut, Mordenkainen’s private sactum and hallow.

Now let’s take the Book of Ancient Secrets invocation:

You can now inscribe magical rituals in your Book of Shadows.[…] You can also cast a warlock spell you know as a ritual if it has the ritual tag.

On your adventures, you can add other ritual spells to your Book of Shadows. When you find such a spell, you can add it to the book if the spell’s level is equal to or less than half your warlock level (rounded up) and if you can spare the time to transcribe the spell. For each level of the spell, the transcription process takes 2 hours and costs 50 gp for the inks needed to inscribe it.

In order to ritual-cast these spells (added to my list by the Dragonmark) as non-prepared spells, but rather as ritual spells from my Book of Shadows, which of the following mechanism is appropriate, per RAW (and/or RAI):

  1. Do they count as warlock spells (by being added to my spell list as per the spells of the mark trait), thus I can cast them without preparation since they have the ritual tag (as per the Book of Ancient Secrets Invocation?)
  2. Do I magically learn them (as per the spells of the mark trait) but I have to spent time to transcribe the spell in the Book of Shadows, although I don’t have a physical written form of the spell?
  3. It does not satisfy either mechanism, and the only way to cast these spells is to prepare them as warlock spells, until I find them in written form and can transcribe them in the Book of Ancient Secrets?

Is One with Shadows eldritch invocation possible after certain bonus/free actions?

I’m currently playing a Warlock/ Rogue multiclass character and I’m curious about the limitations of the One With Shadows invocation.

One with Shadows

Prerequisite: 5th level

When you are in an area of dim light or darkness, you can use your action to become invisible until you move or take an action or a reaction.

The question is:

Is it possible to take a movement, either a regular move or a cunning action and then use your action to become invisible (assuming the other conditions are met?)

Certainly, movement (or any other bonus action) after becoming invisible is not allowed (Because bonus actions are actions) but it’s unclear exactly what’s allowed in a turn before using your official action to become invisible.

To me, all the ‘cunning action’ bonus actions would seem to be permitted, as long as I’m allowed a full action after any of them.

Cunning Action

Starting at 2nd level, your quick thinking and agility allow you to move and act quickly. You can take a bonus action on each of your turns in combat. This action can be used only to take the Dash, Disengage, or Hide action.

So it seems to me you could do any of the following before taking an action to become invisible:

  • Dash
  • Disengage & Move
  • Move and hide

Is this correct, or am I missing something in the action economy and/or order of actions, bonus actions, and movement?

Could a Warlock use the One with Shadows eldritch invocation to remain invisible during a long rest/sleep?

The warlock’s One with Shadows eldritch invocation presents an interesting opportunity: it gives you invisibility without requiring concentration. Specifically (PHB, p. 111):

One with Shadows

Prerequisite: 5th level

When you are in an area of dim light or darkness, you can use your action to become invisible until you move or take an action or a reaction.

Unlike the invisibility spell, this would not necessarily end if the warlock became unconscious. However, the wording that says that this spell ends if you “move or take an action or a reaction” seems to imply that this invisibility is usually intended to last for a very short duration.

But it occurred to me that outside of combat, people often don’t do much that technically requires an action, especially if they are at rest. And at other times, it has been indicated that “moving” (for the purpose of magical triggers) refers to moving in the sense of spending movement to change your location on a 2D grid (not becoming prone, or standing up from prone).

So I was wondering: could a warlock use an action to Hide1, then use the One with Shadows invocation to become invisible, then simply lie down and go to sleep for 8 hours (for a long rest), while remaining invisible (and likely hidden)?

Put another way: is there some action, reaction, or move required during a long rest?


1 I included the part about Hiding because according to the rules as written, an unhidden creature that is invisible is still apparent to creatures around it (it can’t be seen, but they know where it is). So I wanted to include the hiding part to avoid that argument. And I did so beforehand, because using the Hide action while invisible would break the invisibility.