Does a magic item giving +3 to spell save DC break bounded accuracy?

In Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything p.134, there is a magic item: Rhythm Maker’s Drum. It gives bonus to spell attack rolls and spell saving throw DCs of the user depending on rarity: uncommon +1, rare +2, very rare +3.

Even though the same +X for a magic weapon is normal, and some weapons have specfic extra effects, it seems a dodgy for spells, because that is +X for every spell attack roll, with all their different extra effects covered. But then +3 save DC for "save or suck" spell effects, like 1st level Ray of Sickness or 4th level Polymorph, just seems way out there at any character level.

Question: Am I overreacting, is there something I am not seeing? Or is this drum, and any similar item, just something which a balance-concerned DM should not allow anywhere near their table, or maybe limit it to +1 version and making that very rare or something?


Reminder: I’m not asking for opinions. An answer like "it’s fine" or "it’s broken" must be backed up by facts (other items, rules quotes, sage advice…).

Add a counter beside menu item label

I’m using the following code to add a panel to the admin menu screen, so the users are able to add a Cart link to their menus:

function my_add_meta_box() {     add_meta_box( 'custom-meta-box', __( 'Cart' ), 'my_nav_menu_item_link_meta_box', 'nav-menus', 'side', 'default' ); } add_action( 'admin_init', 'my_add_meta_box' );  function my_nav_menu_item_link_meta_box() {     global $  _nav_menu_placeholder, $  nav_menu_selected_id;     $  _nav_menu_placeholder = 0 > $  _nav_menu_placeholder ? $  _nav_menu_placeholder - 1 : -1;     ?>     <div id="posttype-cart" class="posttypediv">         <div id="tabs-panel-cart" class="tabs-panel tabs-panel-active">             <ul id="cart-checklist" class="categorychecklist form-no-clear">                 <li>                     <label class="menu-item-title">                         <input type="checkbox" class="menu-item-checkbox" name="menu-item[<?php echo (int) $  _nav_menu_placeholder; ?>][menu-item-object-id]" value="-1"> <?php esc_html_e( 'Cart' ); ?>                     </label>                     <input type="hidden" class="menu-item-type" name="menu-item[<?php echo (int) $  _nav_menu_placeholder; ?>][menu-item-type]" value="post_type">                     <input type="hidden" class="menu-item-object" name="menu-item[<?php echo (int) $  _nav_menu_placeholder; ?>][menu-item-object]" value="page">                     <input type="hidden" class="menu-item-object-id" name="menu-item[<?php echo (int) $  _nav_menu_placeholder; ?>][menu-item-object-id]" value="<?php echo get_option( 'cart_page_id' ); ?>">                     <input type="hidden" class="menu-item-title" name="menu-item[<?php echo (int) $  _nav_menu_placeholder; ?>][menu-item-title]" value="<?php esc_html_e( 'Cart' ); ?>">                 </li>             </ul>         </div>         <p class="button-controls">             <span class="add-to-menu">                 <input type="submit" <?php disabled( $  nav_menu_selected_id, 0 ); ?> class="button-secondary submit-add-to-menu right" value="<?php esc_attr_e( 'Add to Menu' ); ?>" name="add-post-type-menu-item" id="submit-posttype-cart">                 <span class="spinner"></span>             </span>         </p>     </div>     <?php } 

My question is, is it possible to dynamically add a counter that shows the number of items in cart beside the Cart menu item label in the frontend? If so, how? I think that the wp_get_nav_menu_items filter might be useful for this, but how can I identify the Cart menu item in there to be able to modify its label in the frontend on the fly?

function my_get_nav_menu_items( $  items ) {     foreach ( $  items as $  item ) {         if ( is_cart_menu_item( $  item ) ) {             // add a counter beside the Cart menu item label             }     }     return items; } add_filter( 'wp_get_nav_menu_items', 'my_get_nav_menu_items', 20 ); 

5e: Artificer: Does infused magic item count against maximum number of infusions?

I would assume the answer is ‘no’ but I wanted to check.

It feels very odd to be able to replicate (up to) 4 magic items at level 2, but only ever be able to use two of them at a time at that level, because it just saves you a bit of money early on, Or, for example, if you replicate a bag of holding, you can only ever have one other infusion active.

I have seen a few people claim that the replicate magic item infusion does not count against the standard 2 max infusions (at level 2). Just that you are limited to having only 1 replica of your chosen magic item at any one time. The claim is that (TCOE p12) the reference to an ‘infusion ending on a bag of holding’ is only applied if you attempt to make a new bag of holding, but I wanted to ask what other’s thought

I like this second option better, as it means you can play more with your enhancement infusions and so that if you ever want to change your other infusions, you don’t have to constantly pick up every item that pops out of your bag of holding (since it would be the oldest infusion every other time, you would have to re-create the infusion and put everything back into the bag)

Replace or Update a Table Row – based on the presence of a matching row item

Unfortunately I know next to nothing about php coding that contains some sql code. The examples I have seen online do not seem to match the same syntax that I inherited with this code, which is making this task confusing for me.

I have a database table called "effort" that contains two columns:

Column 1 = ad  Column 2 = theEffort 


 This line of code below works, and it will populate the table with the proper values for both the "ad" and "theEffort" 

$  sql = "INSERT INTO effort SET ad='$  ad', theEffort='$  theEffort'"; 


 But I do not want the table to grow over time and contain redundant rows pertaining to the same ad. Each "ad" in this table should be unique. But each "ad" could have 5 different effort values, e.g., "theEffort" can be "easy", "medium", "difficult", "impossible".

The "ad" is 13 digit number, i.e. SFAD_000001234

Does anybody know how to modify my code above using similar syntax so that it would first check to see if the "ad" exists in the database table called "effort". And if so, instead of entering a new row it would update "theEffort" to the new value. And if the "ad" did not exist in any table row within the "effort" database then it would execute the INSERT INTO function, i.e., insert both the "ad" and "theEffort" as a new table row.

Thank you in advance, -Jeff

DND 5E – Monk build help and touch mechanics – Also some item questions

first post/question here.

Right now I have a Level 13 Way of the Open Hand Monk (he hits 14 in the next long rest). And I am considering to multi-class after hitting level 17. Sacrificing the capstone and the +5 movement.

I currently have 20 DEX/WIS as a Variant Human. So my AC is 20, I have Bracers of Defense being made so when I attune to that I will have AC 22.

I do get my final unarmed die, my last proficiency bonus and my Quivering Palm when I hit 17, so I am thinking at this point is safest to multi-class.

My decision to do this is dependent on whether if the following setup works.

I wanted to take 2 levels in Fighter and 1 level in Cleric or just 3 Levels in Fighter with Rune Knight Archetype.

Fighter Level 2

Fighting Style: Mariner – This is mostly for the +1 AC for AC 23 with the bracers

Second Wind: Meh, can be useful, but this is just an added bonus.

Action Surge: Biggest reason I want Level 2 Fighter. Having a second action on a boss fight can be big, and with Quivering Palm, ending it in the same round on something that needs to die fast can be crucial. Or having 2 Quivering Palms in 3 turns.

IF I go Level 3 Fighter

Rune Knight – Fire Rune and Stone Rune would be my runes of choice.

Fire Rune does not cost a bonus action to invoke and can be invoked on a successful attack. It’s straight up 2d6 fire damage, but if it fails on a STR save, it is also shackled for 1 min and keeps getting hit with 2d6 until it finally saves.

Stone Rune can be invoked as a reaction on a target that ends his turn within 30 feet from me. It has to save on a WIS throw or become charmed for 1 min, leaving it incapacitated until it saves.

Giant Might – Also learned at 3rd level Rune Knight, for 1 min: become large, Advantage on STR saves/checks, extra 1d6 per turn on my unarmed/weapon strike (I also run Contact Poison when I can, can be 1d4/2d4/2d6 depending on potency added to Giant Might). This can be done as many times as my proficiency score. So at Level 17 Monk, 6 times before a long rest.

The Level 1 Cleric option

Inflict Wounds or Guiding Bolt – 3d10 or 4d6 with advantage on next attack… Since I am a Monk, I am confident I can make Inflict Wounds hit, especially since I have Stunning Strike. Guiding Bolt would be nice for advantage, but I have 2 other melees with me that we get advantage on enemies often, also knocking to the prone and Stunning Strike helps with advantage.

Shield of Faith – +2 to AC for 10 mins on a bonus action… With 20 WIS/DEX, +2 AC from Bracers of Defense, +1 AC from Mariner Fighting style, and Shield of Faith, I am looking at 25 AC. This will be one of my choices for a spell slot.

Cantrips for Cleric is kinda meh for me, I really just want the two Level 1 spell slots for the above. But I would go with Toll of the Dead and whatever else I decide on.

THE QUESTIONS

How does Inflict Wounds work? When I use a spell slot to do this and I go for the hit, does the hit use my Monk/Proficiency modifiers?

Does it count as an Attack Action? (I am new to Spells, as this is my first character in DnD 5E, with 2+ years in the making).

If it does hit, and is counted as an Attack Action, can I still use my bonus action to burn a Ki point and use Flurry of Blows after using Inflict Wounds?

How can I get a stronger Monk Weapon? I paid 6k Gold to get my bracers, but haven’t had much opportunity to get a strong weapon from any where in the game, so I had to pay for the bracers to be crafted…

Additional Info

Party make up is 1 Wizard, 1 Sorcerer (I think?), 1 Cleric (recent addition), Monk (Me) and a Ranger (when he shows up).

Feat: Lucky Weapon: Reg silvered quarter staff

16th Level Feat: Thinking Sentinel or Tough, since I only have 122 HP at Level 13 atm.

I have saved the party from dying with CC, high movement and high AC on more than one occasion. I want the new cleric to focus healing on the Wizard/Sorcerer/Ranger since they have lower AC than I do and I tend to disengage to assist when they are overwhelmed with something else that I am not already fighting. I was thinking of multi-classing into Ranger, but I don’t see a lot of good things from what I have read so far.

Our leveling system is based on Time Played and not EXP from kills, so more than likely we will hit Level 20.

Only have 3 levels to spare since I am going Level 17 WOTOH Monk. Any other suggestions I will consider.

Is there a spell or item that can detect Lycanthropes while they are in their human form?

Since purchasing the Troll Skull Tavern in Waterdeep, Ichabod the Inscrutable has run afoul of the Shard Shunner wererat gang. He believes their leader to be none other than the Fellowship of Innkeeper’s guildmaster, Mister Fairkettle.

Obviously, Ichabod can’t just run to the Watch, some of them are likely on Fairkettle’s payroll! What magical means are available to him that would help him identify and prove who the wererats are?

Ichabod has access to any published, core (non-UA) item or spell that is not an artifact or 9th level.

Is there a spell or item that can detect Lycanthropes while they are in their human form?


This question is purely hypothetical. Any resemblance to characters, living or dead, actual or fictional, is purely coincidental and is in no way intended to be a spoiler.

Does this magic item require that you already have the ability to use the feature that it modifies?

Last night the party was adventuring in Curse of Strahd.
In the previous session they had acquired the module-specific magic item

This item can be attuned to by a good creature. In last night’s session an NPC was able to attune to the item, unlocking its powers (emphasis mine):

Augury. You can use an action to cast an augury spell from the icon, with no material components required. Once used, this property can’t be used again until the next dawn.

Bane of the Undead. You can use the icon as a holy symbol while using the Turn Undead or Turn the Unholy feature. If you do so, increase the save DC by 2.

Cure Wounds. While holding the icon, you can take an action to heal one creature that you can see within 30 feet of you. The target regains 3d8 + 3 hit points, unless it is an undead, a construct, or a fiend. Once used, this property can’t be used again until the next dawn.

If I am reading this item correctly, anyone that can take an action can use Augury or Cure Wounds feature. The power is written in the format, ‘if you have an action, you use the action and the item grants you this ability’, even if you could not previously cast an augury or cure wounds, or even if you did not have Spellcasting ability.

However, it appears to me that what is granted by the Bane of the Undead feature is not the ability to Turn Undead, but rather a modification of that ability (+2 DC, use this as a holy symbol), to creatures that already have that feature. That is, in this sense "can use" and "can take" are granting you the ability, but "while using" requires that you already have the ability to do so. (This was important since the NPC in question did not inherently have the Turn Undead feature).

Am I interpreting this language correctly?

A good answer will show a similar example in a less ambiguous case. While this question is specifically about the 5e Curse of Strahd, I am open to an answer showing how that particular item ‘is supposed to work’ in a previous version of the module.

Difference between masterwork tools and skill boost item?

I have a player who wants to buy masterwork tools as opposed to buying magic items that boost his skills.

The reason being, masterwork tools grant a +2 bonus to a skill and cost 50gp.

Magic items that grant bonuses to skills cost (bonus) squared x 100, meaning a +2 magic item costs 400gp.

So i guess my question is…. what is the difference between a masterwork tool and a magic item that grants the same bonus? Are there certain skills you cannot have tools for? Was that the intent?

Can an artificer/wizard make a homonculus heart into a spell-storing item?

The Homonculus Servant infusion requires a specific component:

Item: A gem or crystal worth at least 100 gp

Later, it goes on to say

The item you infuse serves as the creature’s heart, around which the creature’s body instantly forms.

Okay, while gemstones are assumed to be just valuables, what is a crystal? The PHB lists the following forms for an arcane focus:

Arcane Focus: Crystal, Orb, Rod, Staff, Wand

Admittedly, the crystal has a listed cost of 10gp, but it’s reasonable a fancier one could be made to fulfill the requirement.

Moving on, the Artificer’s Spell-Storing Item feature lists as its possible targets

one simple or martial weapon or one item that you can use as a spellcasting focus,

An artificer must use a tool they are proficient with or an item they have infused as a spellcasting focus – this means that a finished homonculus can be turned into a spell-storing item, but it’s rather unclear if it can then touch itself to cast the spells stored within itself.

… but, if you pick up one level of wizard (or the magic initiate: wizard feat, perhaps? Actually, no, that deserves a question of its own), you can use the crystal as a spellcasting focus, since the feature does not specify it must be an artificer focus.

Thus the plan. At the end of a long rest, touch your expensive crystal focus, imbue it with your desired spell, then infuse the focus to be the heart of your homonculus, which it is rather difficult to argue isn’t touching its own heart at all times, letting it cast the spells within the item even by the strictest of RAW readings.

Is there a reason this wouldn’t work?