What is defined as ‘worn’? Does an amulet or ring have to be on my neck or finger specifically or do I just have to be carrying it somewhere on my body or even in my backpack? For instance, if I had a Clockwork Amulet on my belt, does that constitute as me ‘wearing’ it so I could use it?
The entry for a roll of 13 or 14 on the Wild Magic Surge table is:
You cast confusion centered on yourself. (PHB, emphasis mine)
Confusion is a 4th level concentration spell. The rules for concentration state that:
If a spell must be maintained with concentration, that fact appears in its Duration entry, and the spell specifies how long you can concentrate on it. You can end concentration at any time (no action required). (PHB)
The intent of the entry on the Wild Magic table seems to be for everyone nearby, including the caster, to be hit by confusion, essentially a less-bad version of casting Fireball centered on yourself. However, since the table doesn’t specify anything special about concentrating on the spell, the caster needs to maintain concentration on it, and consequentially the spell should end if they stop concentrating on it.
RAW, is there any reason someone who rolls this result on the Wild Magic Surge table couldn’t immediately drop concentration and end the spell?
The magic circuit of the altar at home is out of order. I’m going to have a meeting in the mage tower tomorrow. I’m going to ask for leave from my colleagues. How to repair it? It’s very urgent. Once the answer is adopted, I will reward 10 magicians with high quality. The transmission inscription is: XXX
Spear are wildly effective weapons, in small-ish Combat Groups. In particular, when used defensively, they can keep melee attackers at bay with no ability to retaliate relatively easily. You would, for example be able to hold a 5ft-wide bridge against a mass of opponents pretty easily if they weren’t willing to rush you and sacrifice themselves.
I was disappointed to find that in DnD 5e, they really aren’t very effective or interesting weapons. They don’t even have Reach.
I’m planning to come up with some ideas for a homebrew additions to them, and propose them on here, but before I do, are there any existing official ways to make a spear behave like this?
I wanted to ask the question "Is Inspiring Leader basicly a permanent HP increase for the whole party?", but apparently that question has already been asked and answered, even though it doesn’t really solve my issue.
I am a DM for a party of 5 players where one of them (the Rogue) has the Inspiring leader feat. We’re all horrible at roleplay, so I don’t require him to actually make up a speech each long rest in order to get the benefits. Because I think it’s also a bit silly that he has to say "I use inspiring leader" each long rest, I simply ruled that he automatically uses it every morning.
And this is where something very rare happened! The players wanted me to make a harsher ruling! One of them said that they should only be allowed to get the benefits after an actual speach (or at least have the +n be dependent on whether a speech was given or not, and how good it was). Some others said that it was silly that they’d get a permanent HP increase and that there should be some mechanic tied to it.
I kinda agree with them, but I don’t know how to make a better ruling. I’m also afraid to nerf it too hard, because since it’s a feat he already sacrificed two +1 ASI’s to get it.
How should I rule Inspiring Leader so that it is not a permanent HP boost, but also not nerfed too hard?
Since this there probably isn’t a RAW solution for this, I’m mainly looking for experiences from both DMs and players who have had DM’s who made a special ruling concerning this feat.
Provided that both objects have rectangular hitboxes, x and y positions and height/width. No engine is being used.
I have a website which has the post of the results of some research I do on a monthly basis. It is basically survey results.
My name does not appear in my site, and I want my website appear in Google search, when people type my name. Can I do that, and if yes, how?
I’m asking RAW, not "talk with your DM." Thank you for your help beforehand.
Pact of the Blade says "You can’t affect an artifact or sentient weapon in this way" in regards to making a magic weapon your pact weapon.
A Hexblade is a sentient magic weapon, as read in XGtE, "a force that manifests in sentient magic weapons…"
It sounds to me like you cannot turn your patron into your pact weapon, which would be very self defeating because you’re effectively making a contract with a living weapon to be able to better wield other weapons.
Am I interpreting this correctly or overthinking it?
Say Faendal the Fallen Aasimar Paladin uses his Necrotic Shroud racial ability (Charisma saving throw, an affected creature can repeat the saving throw on subsequent turns to end the effect), and a target fails the saving throw and is frightened. On his next turn, while the target is still frightened, Faendal uses Wrathful Smite, which also causes the frightened condition, on the same target and they fail the saving throw (Wisdom saving throw, an affected creature can make a Wisdom check to end the effect).
Does this mean that the target must succed on both the Charisma saving throw and the Wisdom check to end the effect on their turn? Meaning that should one of them fail, the target is still frightened?
Assuming that Witch bolt is cast at 1st level and hits the target would the target take 2d12 damage in that turn because its the beginning of the spell’s duration and
"on each of your turns for the duration, you can use your action to deal 1d12 lightning damage to the target automatically."
or does it take effect the turn after you cast it?