Does protection from good and evil kill the host of an Intellect Devourer?

The description of the Intellect Devourer in the MM and SRD says

A protection from evil and good spell cast on the body drives the intellect devourer out. … By spending 5 feet of its movement, the intellect devourer can voluntarily leave the body, teleporting to the nearest unoccupied space within 5 feet of it. The body then dies, unless its brain is restored within 1 round.

Is a character functionally dead immediately upon losing a contest of Intelligence vs an Intellect Devourer? [barring a wish spell]. It seems rather draconian for a CR2 creature, if so. [Hell, even if not so, requiring one of those two specific spells seems rough even if one is a 1st level spell, that is assuming it even helps]

Can a raging barbarian carry live rabbits to kill them, in order to keep his rage going?

One of my players, a human barbarian, came up with the idea of carrying captured rabbits, feeding them and treating them nicely, so that he can rip them apart mid-battle if he knows he will be unable to attack during the round. Does this sound balanced or does this sound like breaking the rules?

Can you kill a Tarrasque with the Open Hand monk’s Quivering Palm feature?

I see the Tarrasque has Legendary Resistance so it can pass failed saving throws. It has a list of Legendary Actions 3 times a day. I keep seeing people say to keep making it do saves to get rid of the Legendary Resistance even though it is not listed under the limited Legendary actions.

Since the Way of the Open Hand monk’s Quivering Palm technique relies on failing a Constitution save to instantly reduce the target to 0 HP, can Quivering Palm kill a Tarrasque?

Are there any melee alternatives to Power Word Kill?

The 9th Level Enchantment spell Power Word Kill outright kills any creature with less than 100 hitpoints.

I’ve had a look but I can’t see anything that would be similar via any melee action or feat. Creature of PC ability.

So my question is: Is there anything that allows a melee attack to strike down a foe to either 0 hit points (rolling death saving throws) or outright kill them using one attack?

Effects with saving throws would also answer the question.

Can a creature kill itself by dashing during a chase?

DMG p.252

During the chase, a participant can freely use the Dash action a number of times equal to 3 + its Constitution modifier. Each additional Dash action it takes during the chase requires the creature to succeed on a DC 10 Constitution check at the end of its turn or gain one level of exhaustion.

Suppose a creature was in a chase and already at Level 4 of exhaustion. It chose to continue dashing and at the end of its turn failed its constitution check.

DMG p. 252

A participant drops out of the chase if its exhaustion reaches level 5, since its speed becomes 0.

Now suppose a creature that was [allowed to Dash twice on its turn] started its turn at exhaustion level 4 and chose to Dash twice. At the end of its turn, it would be required to make two Con checks. If it failed the first check and got to Exhaustion Level 5 would this immediately remove it from the chase and thus remove the need to check again, or would a second check still be required with the possibility of death if it failed?

Note that exhaustion from chases has a different recovery mechanic than other exhaustion, in that (DMG p. 252)

A creature can remove the levels of exhaustion it gained during the chase by finishing a short or long rest.

whereas exhaustion gained by other means requires a long rest, food, and drink. Thus there is some evidence that while chases are temporarily exhausting, the exhaustion gained from them is not as serious or as lasting. Might this include the chase-induced ‘death’ as well?

Could a mouse kill a bear?

I’m planning for a Mouse Guard game that will culminate in the players facing down a bear!

The rules cover such scenarios far too briefly, only stating that you would need 20,000 mice to do so (via the War skill). This seems like far too few mice to wage war on a bear, also how would this even be done? Are the mice laying siege to the bear, or are they marching on it? Do you even use War? Could a single mouse climb the bear, insert itself into the ear, and assassinate the bear?

I realise that this is a task for the players to decide on but I want to prepare for the circumstances.

How do you kill a bear with mice? (and how can I prepare for this?)

Can a DM permanently kill a player in DnD 5e?

Currently my player is at 0 HP and doing death saves.

The DM however, has said an Ogre is holding me upside down by my legs and is going to potentially rip me in half in the next session.

Since I’m not Deadpool, I would assume this would permanently kill me and render death saves moot?

My question is, can a DM do this?

Why would the DM do this you ask? Because I’ve been playing a comical, annoying and selfish character for about 30 sessions now, so the DM and my party think it would be hilarious if I was killed off.

How to distribute XP for player kill in free-for-all arena?

I’m designing a game of some sort of battle arena, which in every session there are 4 PCs fighting each other. The whole campaign will revolve on the arena fight and amassing XP to stand at the top.

I’m not sure how the XP should be distributed when there exists different hostile (to the killed PC) parties.

For the XP being distributed, I’m using this answer.

For example:

Anne, Belle, Charlie, Dean are all fighters of same “CR”, worth 400 XP when killed each. Anne lands the killing blow and kills Dean.

How much XP should Anne receive?

In one question, an answer argue that a PC being around will receive XP, because they indirectly make the victim being wary, thus deserve the XP. However, that question ask about when the PCs in one party, but this one has 4 opposing groups.

Is there a rule can be used to address this? Or rule as intended, or anything else that can be used as guide to make a DM ruling?

Does casting Disintegrate on a polymorphed enemy still kill it after the 2018 errata?

After the 2018 errata, the disintegrate spell description now reads:

A creature targeted by this spell must make a Dexterity saving throw. On a failed save, the target takes 10d6 + 40 force damage. The target is disintegrated if this damage leaves it with 0 hit points.

If you were to polymorph an enemy into a rat and then disintegrate it, would the enemy be disintegrated or would it just return to its original form? I know that for Druids, it’s not an instant kill anymore, but is this the case for polymorph as well?