What kind of action is it to put away a shield without dropping it?

I am currently playing a sword and board slayer how likes to switch his warhammer to two-handed or back in a pinch.

However, it is not clear to me how I can do this without dropping the shield. He is currently using a heavy shield.

Case 1: Warhammer two-handed, switching to one-handed use and equiping the shield

Case 2: Warhammer and Shield in hand, switching to two-handed use while putting away the shield without dropping it

Case 1 seemed clear at first:

FAQ

Two-Handed Weapons: What kind of action is it to remove your hand from a two-handed weapon or re-grab it with both hands? Both are free actions. For example, a wizard wielding a quarterstaff can let go of the weapon with one hand as a free action, cast a spell as a standard action, and grasp the weapon again with that hand as a free action; this means the wizard is still able to make attacks of opportunity with the weapon (which requires using two hands). As with any free action, the GM may decide a reasonable limit to how many times per round you can release and re-grasp the weapon (one release and re-grasp per round is fair).

So switching from two-handed grip to one-handed grip with a one-handed weapons should also be a free action.

Ready or Drop a Shield

Strapping a shield to your arm to gain its shield bonus to your AC, or unstrapping and dropping a shield so you can use your shield hand for another purpose, requires a move action. If you have a base attack bonus of +1 or higher, you can ready or drop a shield as a free action combined with a regular move. Dropping a carried (but not worn) shield is a free action.

So if have my shield on me, say over my shoulder, I take a free action to switch my grip to one-handed, a move action to ready my shield, an I have standard action left to attack.

Is that right?

Case 2: There is no mention of putting away or stowing a shield as far as I can see. So I have to look elsewhere.

Draw or Sheathe a Weapon

Drawing a weapon so that you can use it in combat, or putting it away so that you have a free hand, requires a move action. This action also applies to weapon-like objects carried in easy reach, such as wands. If your weapon or weapon-like object is stored in a pack or otherwise out of easy reach, treat this action as retrieving a stored item.

Is a shield a weapon-like object? It would be carried in easy reach, over the shoulder or on a hook somewhere I suppose. A shield can be a weapon if using a shield bash. That would make it a move action to put the shield away, free action to switch grips, which leaves a standard action to attack.

Manipulate an Item

Moving or manipulating an item is usually a move action. This includes retrieving or putting away a stored item, picking up an item, moving a heavy object, and opening a door. Examples of this kind of action, along with whether they incur an attack of opportunity, are given in Table: Actions in Combat.

Or do I have to take a move action to unstrap (without the dropping part) and another move action to put away an item? That would mean, that I couldn’t attack. So it would be quite important to know how it’s done right. This might also mean for Case 1, that I first need to retrieve the "stored" shield with a move action, and then ready it with another mode action.

Now I looked at the quickdraw shield:

Quickdraw Shield

If you have a base attack bonus of +1 or higher, you may don or put away a quickdraw shield as a swift action combined with a regular move. If you have the Two-Weapon Fighting feat, you can draw a light or one-handed weapon with one hand and a quickdraw shield with the other in the time it would normally take you to draw one weapon. If you have the Quick Draw feat, you may don or put away a quickdraw shield as a free action.

Finally a mention of putting away a shield, no drop required. However, it talks about donning the shield which takes me to the armor and shield section.

Getting into and out of armor

Don: This column tells how long it takes a character to put the armor on. (One minute is 10 rounds.) Readying (strapping on) a shield is only a move action.

Remove: This column tells how long it takes to get the armor off. Removing a shield from the arm and dropping it is only a move action.

So donning seems to equal readying.

Does this mean, that the only way to put away a shield is to use a quickdraw shield (which might be a good idea anyway), or is there something I missed? Do I need two move actions and cannot attack in the round in which I switch from sword-and-board to two-handed?

Thanks in advance!

What kind of action is it to sheathe reload 0 ammunition?

Reload 0 means drawing and firing/throwing can be done in the same action. What happens if you have a piece of ammunition in your hand and you don’t want to attack with it or drop it? Example of how this could happen are Shuriken with the Returning rune, or Arrow Snatching, if the DM allowed you to keep the arrow instead of throwing it back. Would storing the ammunition require a normal interact action, or does its zero reload reduce that to a free action?

What kind of spells can damage unattended items?

While reading several spell entries I realized that most attack spells have "Targets 1 creature", and most area damage spells only say that "You deal X damage to creatures in the area".

Does this really mean you can only attack or damage creatures with them?

This seems absurd to me, and extremely gamist. I hope that I’m missing something or I’ll have to come up with a house rule to fix it.

Several examples of what I mean:

Can you burn a letter with Produce Flame or Burning Hands?

Can you melt a wooden door with Acid Arrow?

Can you destroy a barn with Meteor Swarm?

What kind of creatures are subject to Phantom Rogue’s Tokens of the Departed?

This might get a little fiddly, but I was curious how people would rule on this aspect of Phantom Rogue’s level 13 feature, "Tokens of the Departed"

When a life ends in your presence, you’re able to snatch a token from the departing soul, a sliver of its life essence that takes physical form: as a reaction when a creature you can see dies within 30 feet of you, you can open your free hand and cause a Tiny trinket to appear there, a soul trinket. The DM determines the trinket’s form or has you roll on the Trinkets table in the Player’s Handbook to generate it.

Do you think that the creature necessarily needs a soul to be able to use this feature? IE, would this work on undead or constructs? Flavor text uses "soul" but RAW mechanic just says "when a creature dies" and "has soul" and "does not have soul" aren’t properties of a stat-block.

Thanks for your time.

what kind of locks are applied by Azure Synapse when loading data using COPY INTO

what kind of locks are applied by Azure Synapse when loading data using COPY INTO, if we are running extract from synapse dw (say from table A) and simultaneously loading new data into a some other (say table B). Will it cause any locks, will we face slowness or any locks while extracting data from table A

Summoning a large group of the same kind of creatures [closed]

I am writing a novel and have a question regarding an incident that happens in my book. In it some very bad characters steal a very large group, say 100 head of cattle. Is that a translocation spell, they are moving them En mass from one area to another, or a group summoning? Some of the cows can be harmed in the casting. What sort of characters would those casters be? Conjurors. What is anything would be the cost of such magic?

Magic in the world is rare, and rarely used, thus far in evil. But it is there. There are druids, and healers, races must be intelligent enough to be magic users and it is viewed with suspicion by the non magic users.

I am very familiar with MMO RPGS but have not seen something like this and wonder if table top gamers may have seen or heard of this. It could be multiple magic users casting the spell that also has some elemental features too.

Thank you for reading and the help!

Nancy

What kind of license or ownership does uploading content to D&D Beyond grant WOTC?

I remember when DM’s Guild first came out there were some concerns regarding the licensing terms you agree to when uploading homebrew content. At first it seemed like you granted ownership of your IP to WOTC. It seems like they’ve since clarified that in their FAQ.

Does Wizards own any unique IP that I create in my DMs Guild publications?

Wizards does not own any of the unique IP that you create in your publications. Wizards does own the IP that they contribute, plus the DMs Guild agreement will grant Wizards and other DMs Guild authors a license to use your IP.

That said, if your work merits incorporation into canon, Wizards will contact you about purchasing your IP outright.

Although they don’t really specify what “a license to use your IP” means, I haven’t been able to find any information on how licensing works for D&D Beyond. The Terms of Service link at the bottom of the page links to Twitch’s TOS, which don’t mention D&D Beyond.

I was wondering whether there has been announcements on what kind of license is granted to WOTC when you upload homebrew content to D&D Beyond, is it similar to DM’s Guild?

How to calculate this kind of double definite integral directly

Let $ D=\left\{(x, y) \mid x^{2}+y^{2} \leq \sqrt{2}, x \geq 0, y \geq 0\right\}$ , $ \left[1+x^{2}+y^{2}\right]$ represents the largest integer not greater than $ 1+x^{2}+y^{2}$ , now I want to calculate this double integral $ \iint_{D} x y\left[1+x^{2}+y^{2}\right] d x d y$ .

reg = ImplicitRegion[x^2 + y^2 <= Sqrt[2] && x >= 0 && y >= 0, {x, y}]; Integrate[x*y*Round[1 + x^2 + y^2], {x, y} ∈ reg] 

But the result I calculated using the above method is not correct, the answer is $ \frac{3}{8}$ , what should I do to directly calculate this double integral (without using the technique of turning double integral into iterated integral)?

Constructing a monad via type synonyms of a particular kind

We can define a reader/environment monad on the simply-typed lambda calculus, using the following three equations, where $ r$ is some fixed type, $ \alpha$ is any type (I subscript some terms with their types), $ \mathbb{M}$ is the proposed monadic type modality), $ \eta$ is the unit of the monad and $ \mu:\mathbb{M} \mathbb{M}\alpha → \mathbb{M}\alpha$ is the join of the monad:

$ $ \mathbb{M} \thinspace α = r → α \hspace{1cm} ∀α$ $ $ $ \eta \, a_{\alpha} = \lambda c_{r}.\; a \hspace{2cm} ∀a_{\alpha}$ $ $ $ \mu\,b_{\mathbb{M}\mathbb{M} \alpha} = λc_{r}.\; b_{\mathbb{M}\mathbb{M}\alpha}\, c\, c \hspace{1cm} ∀b_{\mathbb{M}\mathbb{M} \alpha} $ $

Can we always construct a reader monad by type synonyms of the form $ r = x$ , for arbitrary function types $ x$ (for example, where $ x$ is $ (\beta \to t) \to t$ ), for some type $ \beta$ ?