Can the Telekinetic Feat from Tasha’s knock a creature prone?

Tasha’s makes official a new feat called Telekinetic which allows a caster, as a bonus action, to telekinetically shove one creature. It goes on to dictate you can move the creature 5 feet toward or away from you. So, is it a shove limited to only the 5 feet of movement or is it shove as defined in PHB where you can also opt to knock a creature prone?

How do I adjudicate a player trying to sweep kick an enemy’s legs to knock them down?

I’m new to D&D. I already read both the Player’s Handbook and Dungeon Master’s Guide (I’m mastering) and I would like to know how I could handle this situation:

A player wants to do a sweep kick on an enemy’s legs and knock him down. He rolls a 20 and does the damage, but what about taking the enemy down? There is no rule that covers it.

Following the rules, the player would have to do a specific action to try to push the enemy down, and there would have to be a resisted check to see if the player can actually drop the enemy, so how could I deal with that?

Knock out from a distance

Per the below rules, it looks like that a PC can only knock out a creature when in melee.

Sometimes an attacker wants to incapacitate a foe, rather than deal a killing blow. When an attacker reduces a creature to 0 hit points with a melee attack, the attacker can knock the creature out. The attacker can make this choice the instant the damage is dealt. The creature falls unconscious and is stable.

Is there something I am missing in order to be able to knock a creature from a distance (by a range weapon or a spell for instance). Or this is not doable ? If at the GM discretion : do you usually allow it ? With any specificity ?

Can a Minotaur’s Hammering Horns knock an enemy prone?

A minotaur has the ability:

Hammering Horns. Immediately after you hit a creature with a melee attack as part of the Attack action on your turn, you can use a bonus action to attempt to shove that target with your horns. The target must be no more than one size larger than you and within 5 feet of you. Unless it succeeds on a Strength saving throw against a DC equal to 8 + your proficiency bonus + your Strength modifier, you push it up to 10 feet away from you.

I am thinking this to be similar to the Shield Master feat that says

If you take the Attack action on your turn, you can use a bonus action to try to shove a creature within 5 feet of you with your shield.

I am fairly certain Jeremy Crawford has ruled that you can knock prone after an attack, which I am fine with. Would this same ruling apply to Hammering Horns??

Can massive damage knock out rather than causing instant death?

Suppose, as happened last night, a character intends to subdue rather than kill an opponent. She made a melee attack, hit, declared her intent to knock out. The damage roll was enough to reduce the opponent to zero and the remaining damage exceeded the opponent’s maximum HP.

Now we would seem to have two rules invoked:

Instant Death. Massive damage can kill you instantly. When damage reduces you to 0 hit points and there is damage remaining, you die if the remaining damage equals or exceeds your hit point maximum. (PHB p.197)

Knocking a Creature Out. When an attacker reduces a creature to 0 hit points with a melee attack, the attacker can knock the creature out. The attacker can make this choice the instant the damage is dealt. The creature falls unconscious and is stable. (PHB p.198)

So which rule takes precedence? Or is it neither?

Can Phantasmal Force knock and hold someone prone?

Phantasmal Force states:

You create a phantasmal object, creature, or other visible phenomenon of your choice that is no larger than a 10-foot cube and that is perceivable only to the target for the duration. […]

The phantasm includes sound, temperature, and other stimuli, also evident only to the creature. […]

While a target is affected by the spell, the target treats the phantasm as if it were real. The target rationalizes any illogical outcomes from interacting with the phantasm. […] An affected target is so convinced of the phantasm’s reality that it can even take damage from the illusion. A phantasm created to appear as a creature can attack the target. Similarly, a phantasm created to appear as fire, a pool of acid, or lava can burn the target. […]

So, let’s say I create phantasmal red hot chains that come out of the ground, gripping each limb and dragging him down. If the target fails its intelligence save, would it now be prone and taking 1d6 damage?

Ready actions: Can you knock someone prone?

Could you ready the action: If an enemy attacks me then, once they’ve attacked, I will attempt to knock them prone.

If so it could be used if the distance between you and an enemy was too far to cross in one move, moving to 30 feet from them. Readying this action would give you advantage on your next attack, if successful, because the target would still be prone (not having had their turn yet to stand back up).

Can a monk using Open Hand Technique knock any size category of creature prone?

The D&D 5e Player’s Handbook states:

Open Hand Technique

Starting when you choose this tradition at 3rd level, you can manipulate your enemy’s ki when you harness your own. Whenever you hit a creature with one of the attacks granted by your Flurry of Blows, you can impose one of the following effects on that target:

• It must succeed on a Dexterity saving throw or be knocked prone.

• It must make a Strength saving throw. If it fails, you can push it up to 15 feet away from you.

• It can’t take reactions until the end of your next turn.

Let me understand this correctly: a monk need only spend 1 ki point to make two unarmed strikes as a bonus action AND impose a Dex save from his opponent (regardless of size) with each of those attacks?

Let’s say a halfling monk squares off against a large creature, an ettin for example. The monk spends 1 ki point to flurry, hits the ettin with the first of these two attacks and decides to impose a Dex save. The ettin saves and then the monk attacks with the second of the two attacks, hits the ettin again, and then can impose another Dex save lest the ettin fall prone? Is this right or is there something I’m missing?

If this is indeed correct then it could potentially lead to some terribly unbalanced encounters, all beginning as early as 3rd level (when a monk gains access to this method).

Can a Sorcerer use the Silence spell and the Subtle Spell Metamagic to silently cast the Knock spell?

The knock spell has a verbal spell component and states:

[…] When you cast the spell, a loud knock, audible from as far away as 300 feet, emanates from the target object […]

I’m wondering if you can get around this loud noise by casting the silence spell, which states:

For the duration, no sound can be created within or pass through a 20-foot-radius sphere centered on a point you choose within range. Any creature or object entirely inside the sphere is immune to thunder damage, and creatures are deafened while entirely inside it. Casting a spell that includes a verbal component is impossible there.

You would ordinarily not be able to cast knock as it has a verbal component, but the Sorcerer’s Subtle Spell Metamagic states:

When you cast a spell, you can spend 1 sorcery point to cast it without any somatic or verbal components.

So could a Sorcerer cast silence and then a Subtle Spell knock? Do these all combine thus letting you cast knock without the loud noise being created, or is there some interaction or rule I’ve overlooked? Does this scenario actually work?

Can Lightning Lure be used to knock out a creature like a magical Taser?

Now, before everyone starts in on its a strength save not an attack roll, or as it has a range of 15 feet is not a melee attack: Yes I’ve taken those rules into account when asking this.

So under the rules as written this is a strict no from what I can see, and I can live with that, but here is a hypothetical situation:

A creature is fleeing past you at 15 feet, you want to use lightning lure to drag it back and subdue it, it does not take damage till 5 feet away and all other criteria are met, but the lightning lure damage causes the creature to drop below 0 HP.

The question is could the caster drop the cantrip before the lightning damage actually killed the creature?