Quick Jump + Powerful Leap

Quick Jump makes High Jump and Long Jump single actions.
Powerful Leap adds 5 feet to your Leap distance horizontally.

Do these work together? One of them talks about Leaps, the other Long Jumps, are these the same thing?
So if I have both with a Speed of 25, can I use a single action to Leap 15 feet without a check, and with an Athletics check DC (Distance-5)?

Understanding the mechanics of a satyr’s mirthful leap

I apologize if this question has been asked in this form or another, but I am still having an issue calculating how to utilize a satyr’s mirthful leap, and how it would affect the character moving forward, focusing on the math and stats. For this question, I’ll use the DndBeyond stat block’s 12 Strength as a fair basis and perfect rolls for maximum distance.

The satyr’s mirthful leap is stated as follows:

Whenever you make a long or high jump, you can roll a d8 and add the number rolled to the number of feet you cover, even when making a standing jump. This extra distance costs movement as normal.

while the calculation for long jump states:

When you make a long jump, you cover a number of feet up to your Strength score if you move at least 10 feet on foot immediately before the jump. When you make a standing long jump, you can leap only half that distance. Either way, each foot you clear on the jump costs a foot of movement.

So adding everything together as I understand it, a satyr can either clear a 20ft chasm with a 10 ft leap (12ft for strength and 8 for their ability), leaving them 5 ft extra in case something goes wrong, OR can clear a 13ft chasm ([12/2]+8) without a running start. This means the satyr has the ability to use nearly all his movement in one long jump, correct?

If that is the case, then:

  1. If your satyr had to cross a terrain during 1 round by leaping from platform to platform (say to cross a river, or avoid the many pit traps in a sealed hallway), how would the mirthful leap be applied? Without a running start, would each leap be up to 13ft? Would that only apply to the first jump? Or would the mirthful leap of the prior jump be considered a running start for the next, allowing them to jump to the next platform up to 20ft away?
  2. Would this not make modifiers like Boots of Striding (tripling jumping distance up to character speed) useless?

Dimension Leap with A Held Rope

My Bard is holding one end of a 100′ rope in his hand. The other end of the rope is in a row-boat, either tied to the boat or held by another character in the boat.

The Bard casts Dimension Leap to teleport 90′ away.

What happens to the rope? We are trying to create a tether to attach a row boat to a ship, to be able to pull the row boat to the ship.

How does the Skill Trick Extreme Leap work?

The skill trick “Extreme Leap” reads:

Extreme Leap [Movement] Your extraordinary leaping ability carries you over great distances. Prerequisite: Jump 5 ranks. Benefit: If you make a horizontal jump of at least 10 feet during your turn, you can spend a swift action to move an additional 10 feet on that turn. Complete Scoundrel, p. 86

So, if a character with a total move of 30 feet takes a move action to ty to leap over a chasm of 20 feet taking a 20 feet running start, does he…

a) …have to make a Jump check DC 10 and use the skill trick “Extreme Leap” to cover the distance over the chasm and has 10 feet of movement left on the other side.

b) …have to make a Jump check DC 20 to cover the distance and get a bonus move of 10 feet once he lands on the other side.

From the Name of the trick and the phrase “your extraodinary leaping abiltiy carries you over great distances” I always assumed the trick adds another 10 feet jumping distance, but rereading the skill I am not sure now.

Is a Mystic’s Mighty Leap affected by Jump multipliers?

The Mystic is an Unearthed Arcana Class for 5th Edition D&D. Mystics can choose Disciplines, one of which is called Brute Force. This Discipline allows the Mystic to do Mighty Leaps :

As part of your movement, you jump in any direction up to 20 feet per psi point spent.

Some effects in the game, such as the Jump spell, the Step of the Wind monk ability and the Boots of Striding and Springing magic item, allow to multiply your Jump distance.

Is Mighty Leap affected by those Jump multipliers ?

For instance, Merry the Mystic uses Mighty Leap with 2 psi points for a 40ft jump, but is also wearing Boots of Striding and Springing. Assuming Merry has at least 120ft of movement available, would the boots make him jump 120ft instead of 40ft ?

Does the Chaos Bolt spell have to target someone else if the energy would leap to a new target?

In Xanathar’s Guide to Everything (p. 151), the spell Chaos Bolt includes the following:

If you roll the same number on both d8s, the chaotic energy leaps from the target to a different creature of your choice within 30 feet of it. Make a new attack roll against the new target, and make a new damage roll, which could cause the chaotic energy to leap again.

Let’s say I cast Chaos Bolt, it hits, and I roll two of the same number on my d8s. However, the party is fighting a lone enemy, so there are no other creatures I want to target.

Can I “choose” to target no-one, since the spell description says “of your choice”, or does it happen regardless, and I just have to choose which party member takes the hit?

In summary, can I choose not to make this extra attack?

How does one determine damage when using the feat Leap Attack?

Just so nobody has to find it, the Complete Adventurer errata says that in the feat Leap Attack that the

second sentence of the Benefit paragraph should read as follows: If you cover at least 10 feet of horizontal distance with your jump, and you end your jump in a square from which you threaten your target, you deal +100% the normal bonus damage from your use of the Power Attack feat.

But does the +100% of the bonus to damage from the feat Power Attack (PH 98) via the feat Leap Attack (CAd 110) interact–due to Dungeons and Dragons 3.X‘s multiplication rules–with…

  1. the feat Power Attack adding twice the attack roll penalty’s absolute value as a bonus to damage when using a weapon two-handed?
  2. the doubling (or more) damage via a weapon with the weapon special ability valorous (Una 54-5), the feat Headlong Rush (Rac 164), or another means of multiplying damage?

That is, does the feat Leap Attack care if multiplication happens either before or after the feat’s effect is determined? Or was the feat deliberately subjected to errata to avoid interaction with the multiplication rules?

Example
A Medium creature with a base attack bonus of +6 and a Strength score of 18 uses a +1 valorous greatsword. The creature charges, satisfies the conditions for the feat Leap Attack, and uses Power Attack to the maximum he’s able.

If the creature makes a successful melee attack roll, how much damage is dealt?

Leap Motion : Leap service running, “Leap Service not connected” in Unity3D, connected in SteamVR

I’m having trouble to use Leap Motion with Unity3D on one of my machines.

Unity doesn’t see Leap Service running : Leap Service not connected

Both computers run the same version of the software: Unity 2018.2.15.f1 and Orion 3.2.1

  • The Leap Service is running fine on the PC – I tried also to start and stop it manually, it didn’t affect the results

  • I installed and re-installed the drivers below – in the SteamVR window, I see the controllers, and they do stop blinking when the hands are in front of the sensor

    • https://github.com/cbuchner1/driver_leap (original one)
    • https://github.com/SDraw/driver_leap (updated one)
  • When opening the Diagnostic Visualiser, the hands show just fine

  • I tried connecting the Leap to the headset and to different USB ports, didn’t change anything

  • When running the same project on the other PC, leap motion hands are displayed in Unity normally

Any leads?

Can a bulette ignore the rule about ending a turn in occupied space after using deadly leap?

The bulette can use it’s deadly leap ability to jump onto it’s targets and possibly knock them prone if they fail their saving throw. But having done so it will be sharing the same space as them. The rules state you can’t willingly end your turn in the same space as another creature but I can’t see a good reason why a bulette would try to move away assuming they still have movement left.