Are the spells Leomund’s Tiny Hut and Tiny Hut considered the same spell for the purposes of combining magical effects?

The Player’s Handbook contains the spell Leomund’s Tiny Hut, and the Basic Rules contains an SRD version of this spell called Tiny Hut. The descriptions of these spells are completely identical.

The rules for combining magical effects say:

The effects of different spells add together while the durations of those spells overlap. The effects of the same spell cast multiple times don’t combine, however. Instead, the most potent effect–such as the highest bonus–from those castings applies while their durations overlap, or the most recent effect applies if the castings are equally potent and their durations overlap.

Additionally, the Dungeon Master’s Guide contains a more general version of this rule for combining game effects:

Different game features can affect a target at the same time. But when two or more game features have the same name, only the effects of one of them—the most potent one—apply while the durations of the effects overlap.

These spells notably have different names, but are they considered the same spell for the purposes of applying the rules for combining magical and game effects?

This question was inspired by this quesition concerning stacking tiny huts as a countermeasure against dispel magic.

Leomund’s Tiny Hut and Conjuration

(Leomund’s) Tiny Hut says

The spell ends if you leave its area…The spell fails if its area includes a larger [then Medium] creature or more than nine creatures. Creatures and objects within the dome when you cast this spell can move through it freely. All other creatures and objects are barred from passing through it. Spells and other magical effects can’t extend through the dome or be cast through it.

Interactions between the Hut, a caster capable of conjuration (eg, Summon Monster, Find Steed, Find Familiar), and a creature conjured after the creation of the hut include:

The same person casts the hut as conjures the creature:

The caster has to remain inside the hut (or else the hut is dispelled).

Creatures may not be conjured outside the hut (since the ranged casting would count as casting "though" the hut).

Creatures may be conjured inside the hut (since reaching out to the plane from which they are summoned does not count as casting through the hut?)

Creatures may be conjured inside the hut (but will dispel the hut upon arrival if they are larger than Medium or bring the total of creatures inside to more than nine)

Creatures successfully conjured inside the hut cannot leave (since they were not present at the time of casting)

A different person casts the hut as conjures the creature:

The hut-caster has to remain inside the hut (or else the hut is dispelled), but the creature-summoner (present at the time the hut was cast) can come and go.

Creatures may be summoned to the same "side" of the hut (inside or out) as the summoner, but not the other side (if summoned inside, they could dispel the hut as above). Once summoned, creatures cannot move to the other side of the hut, even if their summoner does so.

Questions

  1. Is my understanding of all this correct?
  2. What support exists for my assumption that summoning creatures to the inside of the hut while you are inside it does not count as casting through the hut? I have looked for this but not found any explicitly. I have found a lot about the Ethereal Plane mapping to locations on the Prime, but I don’t think most things are conjured from the Ether. I have seen the distinction between spells like Dimension Door not allowing travel through the hut (because of its range) while Misty Step and Teleport do. But I haven’t found any explicit support saying that drawing a creature from another plane does not count as casting through the hut.

Related: Can Dimension Door be cast into Leomund's Tiny Hut?

Leomund's Tiny Hut and familiars

Can one enter Leomund’s Tiny Hut from below?

In a session today we were camped out in a Leomund’s tiny hut and the DM determined that since it is described as a dome, the bad guys (Wraiths, so they are incorporeal) could enter the area from below. I went with it and it was a fun encounter, but I wondered what other people think about it. I can see two arguments.

His argument: It is described as a dome. So only the semi-spherical outside prevents things from happening. A dome doesn’t (necessarily) have a floor, they can enter no problem.

My argument: The intent of the spell seems to be to prevent baddies from coming in. The rest of the wording simply talks about the “area”, not a barrier.

Has anyone thought this through or seen a ruling anywhere?

Note: Given that I’m playing a 3-foot tall gnome, we decided that on subsequent castings I’d do two. One is the normal one and the other is an inverted on with a “floor” about five feet in the air, that extends into the earth. The overlap allows for protection.

Can two wizards use Leomund’s secret chest to transport items between vast distances? [duplicate]

Related to this question. Assuming that two wizards cast Leomund’s Secret Chest on the same chest and then go in different directions could they use this chest to exchange items over vast distances? To clarify a bit.

1- Wizard A and Wizard B cast Leomund’s secret chest on the same chest.

  1. Wizard A leaves to venture into a dungeon while Wizard B stays at the city.
  2. Wizard A finds a huge hoard of gold but cannot carry it. Using
    sending to reach Wizard B he asks Wizard B to summon their chest
    every five minutes and dump it’s contents.
  3. Wizard A summons the chest and fills the empty chest with gold. Sends it to Ethereal Plane
  4. Wizard B summons the chest and empties the content before sending it to Ethereal Plane Rinse and repeat till the entire hoard is taken
    back to the city within the span of an hour.

5E DND – Leomunds Tiny Hut [duplicate]

Question regarding the official ruling of a strange occurrence in Fifth Edition Dungeons and Dragons:

Would Leomund’s Tiny hut dispell an already cast magical effect with a duration of 1 hour such as a beholder charm ray.

Fifth edition D&D Leomund’s tiny hut states :

A 10-foot-radius immobile dome of force springs into existence around and above you and remains stationary for the duration. The spell ends if you leave its area.

Nine creatures of Medium size or smaller can fit inside the dome with you. The spell fails if its area includes a larger creature or more than nine creatures. Creatures and objects within the dome when you cast this spell can move through it freely. All other creatures and objects are barred from passing through it. Spells and other magical effects can’t extend through the dome or be cast through it. The atmosphere inside the space is comfortable and dry, regardless of the weather outside.

Until the spell ends, you can command the interior to become dimly lit or dark. The dome is opaque from the outside, of any color you choose, but it is transparent from the inside.

Beholder Charm ray:

Eye Rays. The beholder shoots three of the following magical eye rays at random (reroll duplicates), choosing one to three targets it can see within 120 ft. of it:

  1. Charm Ray. The targeted creature must succeed on a DC 16 Wisdom saving throw or be charmed by the beholder for 1 hour, or until the beholder harms the creature.

Can Drawmij’s Instant Summons retrieve a lost Leomund’s Secret Chest?

Suppose that I cast leomund’s secret chest and then bind the chest itself with drawmij’s instant summons. I’ll then send it into the Ethereal Plane, and while it’s hidden, I’ll end the spell effect.

Leomund’s secret chest says that this will cause the chest to be irretrievably lost.

Finally, the question is, if I crush the sapphire after all of this, will I be able to get the chest back? Drawmij’s instant summons says the item appears in my hand regardless of physical or planar distances.

Does Leomund’s Secret Chest last only 60 days reliably, or can this timer be reset?

Leomund’s secret chest is a spell that lets the caster hide a very expensive chest in the Ethereal Plane. However, its drawback is that after 60 days, there is a chance the spell ends. If the spell ends while the chest is in the Ethereal Plane, it’s lost forever.

My question is, where does the 60 day counter start? Is it from the moment of casting, so that you need to re-cast the spell every 60 days? Or do you just need to recall the chest every 60 days to check on its contents?

Can objects with a spell effect pass through Leomund’s Tiny Hut?

So here’s the situation: I’m chilling inside a tiny hut I cast earlier, and some of the other party members are right outside. No one is in danger, and then someone does something to cause an attack by a bunch of mimics that look like trees. I open up my handy bag of caltrops, toss them into the air, and cast animate objects. My spikies of death whirl out of the hut and I laugh at the ensuing mayhem as I start to spray sawdust all over in a festive manner from my protective bubble.

Here my problem: I know that my equipment can pass through the tiny hut’s walls, but I also know spells can’t. This leads to my question:

Can my equipment that has a spell acting on it pass through the tiny hut‘s walls?

I’m not 100% sure I should have been allowed to do that.

Can creatures outside a Leomund’s Tiny Hut use ammunition that was fired from inside the hut to attack creatures inside the hut?

I’ve not seen comments on this interpretation, so what can anyone tell me about enemies picking up arrows shot out of the hut and shooting them back in (albeit at obscured creatures inside)? Do those arrows get a pass since they were inside the hut when cast?